Thread started 16 May 2007 (Wednesday) 09:13   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

katiebelle
Hatchling
Joined May 2007
4 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi guys,

I am new to both my Canon S3IS and these boards. I have had my S3IS since before Christmas and I love it. I have taken some of the most beautiful and detailed pictures of my children and other things with this awsome camera. The problem I am having is I like to take the close up pictures of wildlife, bugs and things that eally show the awsome detail. I know my camera is capable of taking those shots because I have seen these types of pictures other people have taken. I am sure my problem is related to my extreme lack of knowledge of all teh bells and whistles my camera has. I have no idea how to work most of these and pretty much I am lost. I have figured out that to take those really close shots I should use the Macro or Super Macro mode. However when I use these my pictures are coming out really dark.

I went on a fieldtrip with my son yesterday and took pictures of the butterflies at the butterfly garden and I was very disapointed when I got home and they aren't what I had hoped they woul be. I would greatly appreciate it if some of you more experienced with this camera would please tell me what I am doing wrong. Here are 2 of the pics that turned out dark. Please tell me what you think.
Stacey

IMAGE: http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u181/cshoneyman/IMG_1761.jpg

IMAGE: http://i168.photobucket.com/albums/u181/cshoneyman/IMG_1763.jpg

Post #1, May 16, 2007 09:13:19

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
DirePenguin
Joined Apr 2007
65 posts
Central Pennsylvania, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Hmmm....

Are these pics taken outdoors in bright sunshine? I doubt it, your shutter speed seems way to low for sunlight....

According to the Exif, you were using manual mode and even using your flash....