Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 16th of May 2007 (Wed)   #1
katiebelle

Default S3 Macro And Super Macro producing dark images

Hi guys,

I am new to both my Canon S3IS and these boards. I have had my S3IS since before Christmas and I love it. I have taken some of the most beautiful and detailed pictures of my children and other things with this awsome camera. The problem I am having is I like to take the close up pictures of wildlife, bugs and things that eally show the awsome detail. I know my camera is capable of taking those shots because I have seen these types of pictures other people have taken. I am sure my problem is related to my extreme lack of knowledge of all teh bells and whistles my camera has. I have no idea how to work most of these and pretty much I am lost. I have figured out that to take those really close shots I should use the Macro or Super Macro mode. However when I use these my pictures are coming out really dark.

I went on a fieldtrip with my son yesterday and took pictures of the butterflies at the butterfly garden and I was very disapointed when I got home and they aren't what I had hoped they woul be. I would greatly appreciate it if some of you more experienced with this camera would please tell me what I am doing wrong. Here are 2 of the pics that turned out dark. Please tell me what you think.
Stacey

katiebelle is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 16th of May 2007 (Wed)   #2
DirePenguin

Default Re: S3 Macro And Super Macro producing dark images

Hmmm....

Are these pics taken outdoors in bright sunshine? I doubt it, your shutter speed seems way to low for sunlight....

According to the Exif, you were using manual mode and even using your flash....