Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 13 May 2004 (Thursday) 21:54
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

A70 - Indoor Pics Too Dark

 
Beretta
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined May 2004
MORE INFO

I'm new to this forum, so I don't know if this topic has been addressed?
I really like my A70 which I have had for 5 months now. Takes great pics, which I generally take at 2mb. However, most of my indoor shots are just too dark, and I have to lighten them with software. I am taking the pics in the Auto mode, and the flash is being used on each of these pics. I admit I have not tried any other mode, but can anyone help me with this issue??? I would rather not have to lighten my pics, as I lose the pics embedded info, as well as swelling the file size immensely.
HELP!!!! ?!
Thanks!

May 13, 2004 21:54



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Penguin_101_1
Goldmember
1,259 posts
Joined Feb 2004
MORE INFO
banned

If you don't want to go into manual mode:
Make sure you have a good amount of light in the room and then the pics will come out brighter.

If you do want to go into manual mode:
Go to Tv mode. You are going to make sure the flash is on and set the shutter speed at 1/60. For me that is the longest exposure I can take without it being blurry. If you do or don't have steddy hands then you can give or take the shutter speed. If you want to go even lower then I would use a tripod. Before you try this at a big event that you will always want the pictures I would pratice.


I hope this helps!

May 14, 2004 05:53



LOG IN TO REPLY
stopbath
Goldmember
1,537 posts
Joined Jul 2003
MORE INFO

Without samples of photos it's hard to tell if there is a problem and what the solution may be...

That being, AUTO on the camera should work for most instances. May not have the artistic results you desire, but you should get a properly exposed picture if one can be made by the camera.

The flash on the A70 is not powerful. It does have a limited range.
All light looses intensity as it disperses, therefore the light hitting a subject at 3 feet is much more intense than it would be if the same light hit a subject at 9 feet. To expose the subject at 9 feet, more flash output is needed. I think the maximum is 14 feet (check the manual to be sure) and that is likely at ISO 400.

If your backgrounds are dark, that is the nature of using one flash. You will need more room light, or a longer exposure to help pick up the back lighting (there is a mode for this on the a70)

If your subject itself is too dark (on auto) then the distance is too great.

There is also a chance that the flash is under performing, and needs repair (not likely but possible.)

May 14, 2004 06:12



LOG IN TO REPLY
mvrekum
Senior Member
mvrekum's Avatar
274 posts

Joined Jan 2004

Netherlands
MORE INFO

Another, easier thing you can do is set the mode to "P" and set the exposure compensation ("func." and the the first menu item) to a positive value.
Try playing arround with the values. + is brighter images, - is darker images.

And yes, a few samples would be nice. :)

Good luck,
Martin

May 17, 2004 06:00

www.martinvanrekum.comexternal link

EOS 350D :: EOS 5 :: Powershot A70
EF 24-70 L :: EF 70-200 L IS :: EF 28-105 :: EF 100/2.0 :: EF 75-300
580EX :: 420EX :: 540EZ + Transistorpack E

LOG IN TO REPLY
Beretta
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined May 2004
MORE INFO

Thanks for your tips! I'll try and post a couple of examples. Any & all advice is certainly welcome!

Beretta :o

May 23, 2004 20:53



LOG IN TO REPLY
bigggt
Hatchling
3 posts
Joined May 2004
MORE INFO

HI Beretta

I just got an A75 and would like to know how you get 2mb pics ,i have mine on th e highest setting(i think) and can only get 1.5

Sorry if this is a stupid question but this is my first digital camera

Thanx

May 29, 2004 18:46



LOG IN TO REPLY
dshah
Mostly Lurking
12 posts
Joined Jul 2003
MORE INFO
banned
SPAM PUT AWAY
This post is marked as spam.
rogersks
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Oct 2005
MORE INFO

I seem to be having the same problems.
Before, flash pictures came out just fine (I'm not concerned with color, I'm colorblind). I certainly felt that they were fine to me.
Suddenly, it seems that no matter which mode I shot in, no matter what distance from subject that I am, indoor pictures are always too dark to view.
Seems to work fine for me outdoors. Just indoors is a problem.
It is almost as if the flash and shutter are out of sync.
Any ideas?

Nov 15, 2005 19:50



LOG IN TO REPLY
megaweb
Senior Member
megaweb's Avatar
353 posts

Joined Sep 2003
MORE INFO

Use a slave flash and Manual mode on A70. It works flawlessly.

See my article at http://megaweb.clubsna​p.org/articles/a70_sla​ve/external link

Nov 15, 2005 21:22 as a reply to rogersks's post 1 hour earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

3,947 views & 0 likes for this thread
A70 - Indoor Pics Too Dark
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00079 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is MAGICAL ESKIMO
791 guests, 621 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015