Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 23 May 2007 (Wednesday) 19:08
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

 
Mario.
Senior Member
Avatar
624 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Lone Tree, Colorado
     
May 23, 2007 19:08 |  #1

I haven't done too much research on this, so this is a somewhat open-minded question. Has anyone used Lightroom on multiple machines?

Basically, here's the deal - I have my images mirrored on my desktop and my laptop utilizing a software sync tool. What would be necessary to be able to have the Lightroom settings/info mirrored as well? Any documentation? Thanks. :)


Mario M. | Black Macbook 2.4/ 4GB | 40D | 350D| 17-40 f/4L | 70-200 f/4L | 580EX | 430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
KAS
Goldmember
1,102 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Canada
     
May 23, 2007 20:51 |  #2

I don't really know...however, my guess would be that if you schedule Lightroom to do its backups daily you could use the backed up files on the mirrored computer. \

My logic is that, if the backup can be used to restore a deleted database, then there's no reason it couldn't be used to generate a library on another computer

just my thoughts...haven't actually tried it.


1Ds MkIII, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 16-35 f/2.8L II, EF 100mm F/2.8, EF 35 f/1.4L, EF 50 f/1.2L, EF 85 f/1.2L II)

| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images (external link)
| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
19,808 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
     
May 23, 2007 21:46 as a reply to  @ KAS's post |  #3

Move the Lightroom Database files to the same drive as your images are stored and mirrored.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
KAS
Goldmember
1,102 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Canada
     
May 23, 2007 23:08 |  #4

that's MUCH simpler....yes, I agree that would probably work


1Ds MkIII, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 16-35 f/2.8L II, EF 100mm F/2.8, EF 35 f/1.4L, EF 50 f/1.2L, EF 85 f/1.2L II)

| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images (external link)
| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
bphillips330
Senior Member
640 posts
Joined Oct 2006
Location: ohio
     
May 30, 2007 21:02 |  #5

Mario. wrote in post #3255916 (external link)
I haven't done too much research on this, so this is a somewhat open-minded question. Has anyone used Lightroom on multiple machines?

Basically, here's the deal - I have my images mirrored on my desktop and my laptop utilizing a software sync tool. What would be necessary to be able to have the Lightroom settings/info mirrored as well? Any documentation? Thanks. :)

what software do you use to do the mirror??? I have been looking for this kind of software for a while. I have used norton ghost to do backups. but to easaly access those files after backups are made is a pain. I see with lightroom that it can automaticly make backups to another drive on import. The problem is, that if you rename the files say to a shoot name, when it makes backup files, it saves original name. not the new name that you renamed the file to. any advice on this?


Canon EOS 5D Mark III | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Mario.
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
624 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Aug 2006
Location: Lone Tree, Colorado
     
May 30, 2007 21:03 |  #6

I use SyncToy and have had zero complaints with it. :)


Mario M. | Black Macbook 2.4/ 4GB | 40D | 350D| 17-40 f/4L | 70-200 f/4L | 580EX | 430EX

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,714 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is 4bosing
777 guests, 362 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.