Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 23 May 2007 (Wednesday) 19:08
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

 
Mario.
Senior Member
Mario.'s Avatar
624 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Lone Tree, Colorado
May 23, 2007 19:08 |  #1

I haven't done too much research on this, so this is a somewhat open-minded question. Has anyone used Lightroom on multiple machines?

Basically, here's the deal - I have my images mirrored on my desktop and my laptop utilizing a software sync tool. What would be necessary to be able to have the Lightroom settings/info mirrored as well? Any documentation? Thanks. :)


Mario M. | Black Macbook 2.4/ 4GB | 40D | 350D| 17-40 f/4L | 70-200 f/4L | 580EX | 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
KAS
Goldmember
1,102 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Niagara Region, Canada
May 23, 2007 20:51 |  #2

I don't really know...however, my guess would be that if you schedule Lightroom to do its backups daily you could use the backed up files on the mirrored computer. \

My logic is that, if the backup can be used to restore a deleted database, then there's no reason it couldn't be used to generate a library on another computer

just my thoughts...haven't actually tried it.


1Ds MkIII, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 16-35 f/2.8L II, EF 100mm F/2.8, EF 35 f/1.4L, EF 50 f/1.2L, EF 85 f/1.2L II)

| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Imagesexternal link
| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images Blogexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
19,808 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Near Charlotte, NC.
May 23, 2007 21:46 as a reply to KAS's post |  #3

Move the Lightroom Database files to the same drive as your images are stored and mirrored.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
KAS
Goldmember
1,102 posts
Joined Jun 2006
Niagara Region, Canada
May 23, 2007 23:08 |  #4

that's MUCH simpler....yes, I agree that would probably work


1Ds MkIII, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 16-35 f/2.8L II, EF 100mm F/2.8, EF 35 f/1.4L, EF 50 f/1.2L, EF 85 f/1.2L II)

| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Imagesexternal link
| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images Blogexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
bphillips330
Senior Member
633 posts
Joined Oct 2006
ohio
May 30, 2007 21:02 |  #5

Mario. wrote in post #3255916external link
I haven't done too much research on this, so this is a somewhat open-minded question. Has anyone used Lightroom on multiple machines?

Basically, here's the deal - I have my images mirrored on my desktop and my laptop utilizing a software sync tool. What would be necessary to be able to have the Lightroom settings/info mirrored as well? Any documentation? Thanks. :)

what software do you use to do the mirror??? I have been looking for this kind of software for a while. I have used norton ghost to do backups. but to easaly access those files after backups are made is a pain. I see with lightroom that it can automaticly make backups to another drive on import. The problem is, that if you rename the files say to a shoot name, when it makes backup files, it saves original name. not the new name that you renamed the file to. any advice on this?


Body : 50D and 400/xti + grip
Lenses: 50mm 1.8 II / Tamron 17-50 f 2.8 / kit len /
70-200 f2.8L IS!!!! / Canon 1.4 TC II / Sigma 70-300mm dl Macro super
Flash: 580 exII
A whole bunch of other goodies.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mario.
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Mario.'s Avatar
624 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Lone Tree, Colorado
May 30, 2007 21:03 |  #6

I use SyncToy and have had zero complaints with it. :)


Mario M. | Black Macbook 2.4/ 4GB | 40D | 350D| 17-40 f/4L | 70-200 f/4L | 580EX | 430EX

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,385 views & 0 likes for this thread
Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00196 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is Mubjo
885 guests, 577 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016