Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd of May 2007 (Wed)   #1
Mario.
Member
 
Mario.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lone Tree, Colorado
Posts: 624
Default Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

I haven't done too much research on this, so this is a somewhat open-minded question. Has anyone used Lightroom on multiple machines?

Basically, here's the deal - I have my images mirrored on my desktop and my laptop utilizing a software sync tool. What would be necessary to be able to have the Lightroom settings/info mirrored as well? Any documentation? Thanks.
__________________
Mario M. | Black Macbook 2.4/ 4GB | 40D | 350D| 17-40 f/4L | 70-200 f/4L | 580EX | 430EX
Mario. is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of May 2007 (Wed)   #2
KAS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Canada
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

I don't really know...however, my guess would be that if you schedule Lightroom to do its backups daily you could use the backed up files on the mirrored computer. \

My logic is that, if the backup can be used to restore a deleted database, then there's no reason it couldn't be used to generate a library on another computer

just my thoughts...haven't actually tried it.
__________________
1Ds MkIII, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 16-35 f/2.8L II, EF 100mm F/2.8, EF 35 f/1.4L, EF 50 f/1.2L, EF 85 f/1.2L II)

| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images
| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images Blog
KAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of May 2007 (Wed)   #3
In2Photos
Archive Keeper
 
In2Photos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
Posts: 19,808
Default Re: Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

Move the Lightroom Database files to the same drive as your images are stored and mirrored.
__________________
Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

In2Photos is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 24th of May 2007 (Thu)   #4
KAS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Canada
Posts: 1,102
Default Re: Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

that's MUCH simpler....yes, I agree that would probably work
__________________
1Ds MkIII, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 16-35 f/2.8L II, EF 100mm F/2.8, EF 35 f/1.4L, EF 50 f/1.2L, EF 85 f/1.2L II)

| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images
| Niagara Weddings & Portraits - Afterglow Images Blog
KAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of May 2007 (Wed)   #5
bphillips330
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ohio
Posts: 622
Default Re: Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mario. View Post
I haven't done too much research on this, so this is a somewhat open-minded question. Has anyone used Lightroom on multiple machines?

Basically, here's the deal - I have my images mirrored on my desktop and my laptop utilizing a software sync tool. What would be necessary to be able to have the Lightroom settings/info mirrored as well? Any documentation? Thanks.

what software do you use to do the mirror I have been looking for this kind of software for a while. I have used norton ghost to do backups. but to easaly access those files after backups are made is a pain. I see with lightroom that it can automaticly make backups to another drive on import. The problem is, that if you rename the files say to a shoot name, when it makes backup files, it saves original name. not the new name that you renamed the file to. any advice on this?
__________________
Body : 50D and 400/xti + grip
Lenses: 50mm 1.8 II / Tamron 17-50 f 2.8 / kit len /
70-200 f2.8L IS!!!! / Canon 1.4 TC II / Sigma 70-300mm dl Macro super
Flash: 580 exII
A whole bunch of other goodies.
bphillips330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of May 2007 (Wed)   #6
Mario.
Member
 
Mario.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lone Tree, Colorado
Posts: 624
Default Re: Lightroom DB on Multiple Computers

I use SyncToy and have had zero complaints with it.
__________________
Mario M. | Black Macbook 2.4/ 4GB | 40D | 350D| 17-40 f/4L | 70-200 f/4L | 580EX | 430EX
Mario. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Lightroom on Multiple Computers? JoeW RAW, Post Processing and Printing 10 28th of November 2007 (Wed) 10:10
lightroom changes to multiple pictures azpix RAW, Post Processing and Printing 4 19th of June 2007 (Tue) 06:27
Lightroom Library Question for Multiple Users and... In2Photos RAW, Post Processing and Printing 25 8th of March 2007 (Thu) 19:19
Nifty LR trick if you use multiple computers argash RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 26th of February 2007 (Mon) 03:53
Multiple versions of same RAW in Lightroom keheha RAW, Post Processing and Printing 10 7th of February 2007 (Wed) 17:07


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.