Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 8th of June 2007 (Fri)   #1
garindan

Default Camera settings for my light tent?

Hi all,

I am new to shooting with a light tent. I have two tents - one a 50cm and one a 120cm.

I am only using the 50cm tent right now to shoot pictures of some action figure toys. I am having some mixed results! Some are coming out well and others not, but anything that has multiple planes is causing me issue. I am also shooting stock pictures of boxed items (and other flat plane things) which all seem to come out fine without issue.

So what am I doing wrong

Here is the current layout:

I have the light tent illuminated by two lamps. Both lamps have three natural daylight fluorescent 5000K bulbs in them. Each lamp is positioned directly at the side of the light tent facing each other like I have tried to show below.

-> [ ] <-
----^----
Camera

The Camera is on a tripod for stability, is set to custom White Balance (using the palm of my hand as the reference - as suggested by someone in another thread), set to AV at f18 and i use the timer to take the photo so as to avoid jog. I am not using flash, but have a canon 580 if needed.

So what do the pictures look like? The 'white' tent background tends to either come out tinted blue or too grey. The depth of field and sharpness is OK with items about 4inches tall, but when I move the camera a little further away or zoom out for larger items the photos are too dark and have a greater blue hue to them and are not so well detailed.

Has anyone any pointers to what I am doing wrong or might have some other suggestions?

Any help would be much appreicated.

Best wishes,
Andrew

Last edited by garindan : 8th of June 2007 (Fri) at 04:56.
garindan is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member