LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Software Necessary for S2 IS Video Transfer?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 09 Jun 2007 (Saturday) 18:53   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
jedipwnces
Hatchling
jedipwnces's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
2 posts
Dallas, TX
[MORE/SHARE]

So... In a fit of disorganization, I have misplaced the software that came with my Canon digital camera (I've looked it up- it's Canon Digital Camera Solution v. 24, packaged with the PowerShot S2 IS, which I bought Dec. 2006). I recently had to reinstall everything on my computer, due to bizarro HD failure, so I'm starting from scratch, trying to pull driver cds and things together. The Canon stuff is MIA... this is okay, really, because I had been using iPhoto/Adobe Elements (I'm on a Mac, OS 10.3.9) instead of ImageBrowser or whatever it was they had bundled. So I can get pictures off my camera just fine.

However, recently, someone asked me to show them the video-recording capabilities (which was silly, because I have no idea what I'm doing... this camera is smarter than I am!), and we discovered we couldn't figure out how to get videos off of the camera. iMovie doesn't import things from external devices, apparently, and iPhoto doesn't do video clips...

So, I've contacted Canon support via e-mail, but have yet to hear anything back from them (it's only been a couple of days, but I'm anxious). I'm wondering if it's possible to order replacement copies of the bundled cd, but more, if anyone knows if it's possible to transfer the videos from the camera to the computer without using the bundled software.

Any advice or insight would be appreciate. :) Thanks guys!

Post #1, Jun 09, 2007 18:53:48




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
SaNdMaN82
Senior Member
SaNdMaN82's Avatar
Joined May 2006
159 posts
Buenos Aires, Argentina
[MORE/SHARE]

well, i don't know about macs, but under windows you can access external devices such as cameras, without installing any drivers (if i'm not mistaken)

when you plug the camera, windows recognize it as an external device, and then you can browse it with ease.

the other thing you could do, is to get a card reader. I'm thinking about getting one, because some times Canons software is pretty dull... I mean, if i wanna edit a picture (resize or whatever), i can't upload it via CameraWindow. :S

i hope i've helped ;)

Post #2, Jun 09, 2007 18:59:59


Greetings,
Canon S2 IS

LOG IN TO REPLY
jedipwnces
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
jedipwnces's Avatar
Joined Jun 2007
2 posts
Dallas, TX
[MORE/SHARE]

Ooooh! Card reader... that would be good... I have some access to a PC, so I'll have to look into that option too. If I could find a memory card dock, though, that would be ideal.

Thanks!

Post #3, Jun 09, 2007 19:11:02




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
580 views & 0 likes for this thread
Software Necessary for S2 IS Video Transfer?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00101 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
781 guests, 549 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is diegovanetti

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.