Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #1
Saber
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 78
Default *-=Instructions=-* for HACKED firmware 300d

Hi all.

I just bought my 300D today (love it) and have just upgraded to the latest hacked firmware.

My question is this, there are several changes from the original firmware including button changes. Does anyone have like a list of changes and how to ativiate/use them.

Thanks

Travis
Saber is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #2
Saber
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 78
Default

***EDIT From Another Thread*** CDS

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12345Michael54321
You can read about what it does at: http://members.rogers.com/tanm/Wasia...20features.pdf

It can be downloaded from: http://satinfo.narod.ru/en/download.html Warning - This site can be quite sluggish.

http://www.jjmb.nl/content/content.p...omFunctionsB71 also discusses the firmware hack, possibly more completely than does the aformentioned link. The "Up/downgrading" section there explains the rather simple procedure to be followed in actually installing or removing the hack.

One can also go to http://groups.yahoo.com and join one of the groups which cover the firmware hack - canondigicamhacking, for example.
--
Michael


Something else I noticed.

The hacked firmware said that it changed the default button when you hit delete from cancel to OK. However mind still defaults to the cancel button and you press the delete button.

Has anyone else found this aswell.

Other then that this firmware is great. It is just like having a 10d.
Saber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #3
roanjohn
Goldmember
 
roanjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,791
Default

As far as I know, here are the new changes in the new firmware.

Jump button controls FEC.

Left button toggles between 1. Single Shot 2. AI servo (non-fuctioning) and 3. AI focus.

Right button toggles metering mode (non-functioning).

MLU is activated under custom function menu and will only work on Single shot and timer mode. Use continous shooting to de-activate without going through the menu.

SET button can be customized to change "parameters" and "size" under custom function menu.

ISO 3200 is "H" following 1600.

To delete in shooting mode - Press "DELETE" and "SET" simultaneously.
To delete in playback mode - Press "DELETE", "RIGHT ARROW" and "SET" (this is unchanged from originial firmware).

I think I've pretty much covered everthing.

Ro1

BTW (there is a trick on using AI-servo on creative mode)
__________________


www.pbase.com/roanjohn
roanjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #4
Saber
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 78
Default

Thanks.

But what about all the other options in the C.fn menu.

I don't mean to be a pain. I would just really love to know.
Saber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #5
roanjohn
Goldmember
 
roanjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,791
Default

As far as I know, most of them are not activated.

I only changed the "SET" button to change parameters and MLU. You can try and change some settings, it won't affect your camera

Ro1
__________________


www.pbase.com/roanjohn
roanjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #6
AzzKicker
Senior Member
 
AzzKicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Rio Grande Valley, Texas
Posts: 1,037
Default

I know someone who has upgraded to this new Beta firmware and the mirror lock up works for him as well as every other function except the AI servo i believe
__________________
Ruben D. Zamora
www.rubenzamora.com

Canon 1D Mark IV, 5D, 50mm 1.2L, 24-105 F4 L, 580EX II, Genesis 200 Strobe
AzzKicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #7
msvadi
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,974
Default

there is a pdf file with instructions:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/canond...20features.pdf

I'm not sure about that, but may be one has to be registered at yahoo 300D hacking group in order to access the file.
msvadi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #8
arumdevil
Member
 
arumdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 643
Default

taken from verious places:

Quote:
6/1/2004 - ISO 3200 and Mirror Lockup (and more)!

And you thought Wasia was done!

New in this release:
- ISO 3200
- Mirror Lock up

Changes:
- 'Left' button selects the autofocus mode:
PA-1 - ONEShot
PA-2 - AIservo (dosn't work right now)
PA-3 - AIfocusAF

- FEC is moved to JUMP button
- 'Right' button has no function assigned
- the default button in delete prompt was changed from 'Cancel' to 'OK'. So, be aware.
Now if you want to delete an image, press DEL button and then SET one. To Cancel press any other key."

You can download this latest version from http://www.cat.orc.ru/. Thanks Michael and Joey for the tip


CF1: SET button func. when shooting. [WORKS]
0: Default (no function)
1: Change quality
2: Change parameters
3: Menu display
4: Image replay

CF2: Shutter release w/o CF card [WORKS]
0: Possible without CF card
1: Not possible

CF3: Flash Sync speed in Av mode [WORKS]
0: Auto
1: 1/200sec (fixed)

CF4: Shutter button / AE lock button

0: AF/AE Lock
1: AE Lock/AF
2: AF/AF lock, no AE lock
3 AE/AF, no lock

CF5: AF-Assist Beam / Flash firing [NO]

0: Emits/Fires
1: Does not emit/Fires
2: Only ext. flash emits/Fires
3: Emits/does not fire

CF6: Exposure level increments: [WORKS]
0: 1/2-stop
1: 1/3 stop

CF8: RAW+JPEG rec. [WORKS]
0:RAW+Small Normal
1:RAW+Small Fine
2:RAW+Medium Normal
3: RAW+Medium Fine
4:RAW+Large Normal
5:RAW+Large Fine

CF9: Bracket. sequence/auto cancel
0: 0,-,+/enable (300D default)
1: 0,-,+/disable
2: -,0,+/enable
3: -,0,+/disable

CF10: Superimposed display
0: on
1: off

CF11: Menu button display position
0: previous(top if powered off)
1: previous
2: top

CF12: mirror lockup [WORKS]
0: disable (300D default)
1: enable

CF14: Auto reduction of fill flash - not tested yet
0: enable (300D default)
1: disable

CF15: Shutter curtain sync [NO]
0: 1st curtain sync
1: 2nd curtain sync

CF16: Safety shift in av or tv
0: disable
1: enable

CF17: Lens af stop button function
0: af stop
1: af start
2: ae lock while metering
3: af point: m->auto/auto-ctr.
4: one shot -> <- ai servo
5: IS start



How do I revert to my OEM Firmware?

PureVector on DPReview advises:

1) Reset all the CF to the original 300D settings. Note: you cannot use the Reset option in the menu, it does not affect the CF's. Below is a list of default binary values from left to right (The bottom numbers in the CF menu):

0,0,0,0,0,1,0,11,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0

2) Check to make sure the red-eye-reduction icon no longer blinks!!! If it is still blinking, you have not set all of the CF properly.

3) Flash back to 1.1.1.

Thanks Tom!

Also the " PA-2 - AIservo" function is reported not to work, but it can be made to work. you hold the shutter halfway for continuous focusing, and then when you want to shoot you very briefly let go and then press teh shutter fully in one quick action. It's not ideal but it works. I got this tip from another thread on this forum (sorry can't remember poster's name)
__________________
Regards, arum.
"Originality is merely an illusion" M.C.Escher

5Dc[+ML-BETA4] | 50 f/1.4 USM | 24 f/2.8 | 70-210 f/4 | YN560-II > gear list < Photos
arumdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #9
Digital Prophet
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 538
Default

I called Canon and asked for labels. They said no. Then I asked if they would paint my 300D black. They said no. By the time I asked if they knew were I could get the case chromed the guy got testy.

Man, they call that customer service?

- Digital Prophet -
Digital Prophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #10
Chazs
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NW Washington
Posts: 515
Default

I thought they already had labels made. I was going to order some.

Chazs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #11
roanjohn
Goldmember
 
roanjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 3,791
Default

HACK HACK HACK!!!! That is funny!!!

I guess that 9.5 will turn into a 10 once full time AI-servo and selectable metering are incorporated

Ro1
__________________


www.pbase.com/roanjohn
roanjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #12
Guillermo Freige
Member
 
Guillermo Freige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: La Plata, Argentina
Posts: 704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arumdevil
taken from verious places:

Also the " PA-2 - AIservo" function is reported not to work, but it can be made to work. you hold the shutter halfway for continuous focusing, and then when you want to shoot you very briefly let go and then press teh shutter fully in one quick action. It's not ideal but it works. I got this tip from another thread on this forum (sorry can't remember poster's name)
It was me!!

Regarding CFs, only CF 1,2,3,6 (partially), 8 and 12 works.
__________________
Guillermo
EOS 5D MkII, 40D and 20D owner.
EF 17-40L, 24-105L IS , 70-300 IS, 24 f2.8, 35 f2, 50 f2.5 Macro, 85 f1.8.
EF-s 18-55 IS. Sigma 12-24, Tamron 17-50 Di II
Guillermo Freige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of June 2004 (Thu)   #13
Saber
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msvadi
there is a pdf file with instructions:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/canond...20features.pdf

I'm not sure about that, but may be one has to be registered at yahoo 300D hacking group in order to access the file.
Thanks, Just what i was looking for.

Travis
Saber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2004 (Fri)   #14
dsze
Goldmember
 
dsze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: On The Lake!
Posts: 2,241
Default

I installed the hack last night after a week of reading about it and so far I haven't noticed any downfalls, except for the language thing, (who cares). I agree with the above, this is fun! Do you think Canon must have known upon release of the 300D that there were people like us who get off on this kind of thing? Surely they saw this coming.

-d
__________________
-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."

-Gear List-
dsze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of June 2004 (Fri)   #15
theoldmoose
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 294
Default

I doubt it. Companies tend to be arrogant about things like this. Canon probably figured that if no one had bothered to hack any of their previous models, that the Digital Rebel would be similarly immune. What they didn't figure on was hitting the 'sweet spot' where tons of folks that were on tight budgets would buy these things, and among those folks, there would be a critical mass of hackers (1?), with sufficient motivation (lack of cash, desired to not be straight-jacketed in to the pre-selected modes that Canon thought was best for novice shooters) that would take it upon themselves to crack the thing. Couple that with an Engineering department that probably downplayed the hackability of the camera when presenting it to their Marketing staff, and you have the current situation. There has probably been some accusatory finger-pointing going on at the director/VP level internally in the company, but you and I will probably never hear of it.

Consider that Ford said something along the lines of, "No one would ever hack an engine controller", and then attempted to sue out of existence some of the first companies that featured 'chipped' modules. Now, a major provider of 'chipped' modules sponsers a NASCAR in the Nextel Cup races -- I forgot which car, although it would be supreme irony if it was a Ford.

GM took a more enlightened view of "Chippers blow up more engines, thus we have the opportunity to sell them replacements!", and rubbed their revenue-soaked hands with glee.

Chrysler may have the most enlightened viewpoint of all, in that they revived their old Mopar speed shop stuff, which caters directly to the 'tuner' crowd, and even produced a car specifically aimed at the tuner market, the Dodge SRT-4, the world's fastest under-$20K production car.

A manufacture can either:

1) Embrace it.

2) Attempt to kill it.

OR,

3) Ignore it.

It seems that Canon (for the moment) has chosen #3.

This might actually be the most preferable outcome.
theoldmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about the 300D/Digital Rebel hacked firmware FlipsidE Canon EOS Digital Cameras 4 24th of December 2006 (Sun) 13:07
How to use AF SE on 300D Hacked Firmware? csondagar Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 25th of August 2006 (Fri) 12:49
300D, hacked firmware and AI Servo thegios Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 5th of July 2005 (Tue) 00:06
300D hacked firmware?? FEC? Toogy Canon EOS Digital Cameras 11 29th of June 2005 (Wed) 07:27
Any hope for a new hacked 300D firmware release from Waisa? SENster7 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 24 7th of September 2004 (Tue) 04:24


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.