LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


*-=Instructions=-* for HACKED firmware 300d

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 03 Jun 2004 (Thursday) 04:28   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Saber
Member
Joined Mar 2003
78 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi all.

I just bought my 300D today (love it) and have just upgraded to the latest hacked firmware.

My question is this, there are several changes from the original firmware including button changes. Does anyone have like a list of changes and how to ativiate/use them.

Thanks

Travis

Post #1, Jun 03, 2004 04:28:17




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Saber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Mar 2003
78 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

***EDIT From Another Thread*** CDS

12345Michael54321 wrote:
You can read about what it does at: http://members.rogers.​com ...20firmware%20featur​es.pdfexternal link

It can be downloaded from: http://satinfo.narod.r​u/en/download.htmlexternal link Warning - This site can be quite sluggish.

http://www.jjmb.nl ...p?Name=CustomFuncti​onsB71external link also discusses the firmware hack, possibly more completely than does the aformentioned link. The "Up/downgrading" section there explains the rather simple procedure to be followed in actually installing or removing the hack.

One can also go to http://groups.yahoo.co​mexternal link and join one of the groups which cover the firmware hack - canondigicamhacking, for example.
--
Michael



Something else I noticed.

The hacked firmware said that it changed the default button when you hit delete from cancel to OK. However mind still defaults to the cancel button and you press the delete button.

Has anyone else found this aswell.

Other then that this firmware is great. It is just like having a 10d.

Post #2, Jun 03, 2004 06:43:15




LOG IN TO REPLY
roanjohn
Goldmember
roanjohn's Avatar
Joined Dec 2003
3,791 posts
New York, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

As far as I know, here are the new changes in the new firmware.

Jump button controls FEC.

Left button toggles between 1. Single Shot 2. AI servo (non-fuctioning) and 3. AI focus.

Right button toggles metering mode (non-functioning).

MLU is activated under custom function menu and will only work on Single shot and timer mode. Use continous shooting to de-activate without going through the menu.

SET button can be customized to change "parameters" and "size" under custom function menu.

ISO 3200 is "H" following 1600.

To delete in shooting mode - Press "DELETE" and "SET" simultaneously.
To delete in playback mode - Press "DELETE", "RIGHT ARROW" and "SET" (this is unchanged from originial firmware).

I think I've pretty much covered everthing.

Ro1

BTW (there is a trick on using AI-servo on creative mode) ;-)a

Post #3, Jun 03, 2004 06:53:47




www.pbase.com/roanjohnexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Saber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Mar 2003
78 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks.

But what about all the other options in the C.fn menu.

I don't mean to be a pain. I would just really love to know.

Post #4, Jun 03, 2004 06:58:51




LOG IN TO REPLY
roanjohn
Goldmember
roanjohn's Avatar
Joined Dec 2003
3,791 posts
New York, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

As far as I know, most of them are not activated.

I only changed the "SET" button to change parameters and MLU. You can try and change some settings, it won't affect your camera :-)

Ro1

Post #5, Jun 03, 2004 07:06:13




www.pbase.com/roanjohnexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
AzzKicker
Goldmember
AzzKicker's Avatar
Joined Jul 2003
1,043 posts
Rio Grande Valley, Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I know someone who has upgraded to this new Beta firmware and the mirror lock up works for him as well as every other function except the AI servo i believe

Post #6, Jun 03, 2004 07:32:33


Ruben D. Zamora
www.rubenzamora.comexternal link
Canon 1D Mark IV, 5D, 50mm 1.2L, 24-105 F4 L, 580EX II, Genesis 200 Strobe

LOG IN TO REPLY
msvadi
Goldmember
Joined Jul 2003
1,974 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

there is a pdf file with instructions:
http://groups.yahoo.co​m ...20firmware%20featur​es.pdfexternal link

I'm not sure about that, but may be one has to be registered at yahoo 300D hacking group in order to access the file.

Post #7, Jun 03, 2004 07:34:13




LOG IN TO REPLY
arumdevil
Senior Member
arumdevil's Avatar
Joined May 2004
643 posts
UK
[MORE/SHARE]

taken from verious places:

6/1/2004 - ISO 3200 and Mirror Lockup (and more)!

And you thought Wasia was done!

New in this release:
- ISO 3200
- Mirror Lock up

Changes:
- 'Left' button selects the autofocus mode:
PA-1 - ONEShot
PA-2 - AIservo (dosn't work right now)
PA-3 - AIfocusAF

- FEC is moved to JUMP button
- 'Right' button has no function assigned
- the default button in delete prompt was changed from 'Cancel' to 'OK'. So, be aware.
Now if you want to delete an image, press DEL button and then SET one. To Cancel press any other key."

You can download this latest version from http://www.cat.orc.ru/external link. Thanks Michael and Joey for the tip


CF1: SET button func. when shooting. [WORKS]
0: Default (no function)
1: Change quality
2: Change parameters
3: Menu display
4: Image replay

CF2: Shutter release w/o CF card [WORKS]
0: Possible without CF card
1: Not possible

CF3: Flash Sync speed in Av mode [WORKS]
0: Auto
1: 1/200sec (fixed)

CF4: Shutter button / AE lock button

0: AF/AE Lock
1: AE Lock/AF
2: AF/AF lock, no AE lock
3 AE/AF, no lock

CF5: AF-Assist Beam / Flash firing [NO]

0: Emits/Fires
1: Does not emit/Fires
2: Only ext. flash emits/Fires
3: Emits/does not fire

CF6: Exposure level increments: [WORKS]
0: 1/2-stop
1: 1/3 stop

CF8: RAW+JPEG rec. [WORKS]
0:RAW+Small Normal
1:RAW+Small Fine
2:RAW+Medium Normal
3: RAW+Medium Fine
4:RAW+Large Normal
5:RAW+Large Fine

CF9: Bracket. sequence/auto cancel
0: 0,-,+/enable (300D default)
1: 0,-,+/disable
2: -,0,+/enable
3: -,0,+/disable

CF10: Superimposed display
0: on
1: off

CF11: Menu button display position
0: previous(top if powered off)
1: previous
2: top

CF12: mirror lockup [WORKS]
0: disable (300D default)
1: enable

CF14: Auto reduction of fill flash - not tested yet
0: enable (300D default)
1: disable

CF15: Shutter curtain sync [NO]
0: 1st curtain sync
1: 2nd curtain sync

CF16: Safety shift in av or tv
0: disable
1: enable

CF17: Lens af stop button function
0: af stop
1: af start
2: ae lock while metering
3: af point: m->auto/auto-ctr.
4: one shot -> <- ai servo
5: IS start

How do I revert to my OEM Firmware?

PureVector on DPReview advises:

1) Reset all the CF to the original 300D settings. Note: you cannot use the Reset option in the menu, it does not affect the CF's. Below is a list of default binary values from left to right (The bottom numbers in the CF menu):

0,0,0,0,0,1,0,11,0,0,0​,0,0,0,0,0,0

2) Check to make sure the red-eye-reduction icon no longer blinks!!! If it is still blinking, you have not set all of the CF properly.

3) Flash back to 1.1.1.

Thanks Tom!


Also the " PA-2 - AIservo" function is reported not to work, but it can be made to work. you hold the shutter halfway for continuous focusing, and then when you want to shoot you very briefly let go and then press teh shutter fully in one quick action. It's not ideal but it works. I got this tip from another thread on this forum (sorry can't remember poster's name)

Post #8, Jun 03, 2004 07:49:02


Regards, arum.
"Originality is merely an illusion" M.C.Escher

5Dc[+[URL="http://www.​magiclantern.fm/forum/​index.php?topic=1010.0​"]ML-BETA4] | 50 f/1.4 USM | 24 f/2.8 | 70-210 f/4 | YN560-II >[URL="http://photograp​hy-on-the.net/forum/showpost​.php?p=15267477&postco​unt=3269"] gear list <Photosexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Digital ­ Prophet
Senior Member
Joined Apr 2004
538 posts
Houston, Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I called Canon and asked for labels. They said no. Then I asked if they would paint my 300D black. They said no. By the time I asked if they knew were I could get the case chromed the guy got testy.

Man, they call that customer service?

- Digital Prophet -

Post #9, Jun 03, 2004 13:08:51


Canon 300D, Canon 5D and some glass and some stuff.
"Your cooking makes me question my faith." - Bucky Katt

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chazs
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2002
515 posts
NW Washington
[MORE/SHARE]

I thought they already had labels made. I was going to order some.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
Byte size: ZERO | Content warning: NOT AN IMAGE

Post #10, Jun 03, 2004 13:24:25




LOG IN TO REPLY
roanjohn
Goldmember
roanjohn's Avatar
Joined Dec 2003
3,791 posts
New York, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

HACK HACK HACK!!!! That is funny!!! :D :D :D :D

I guess that 9.5 will turn into a 10 once full time AI-servo and selectable metering are incorporated :-)

Ro1

Post #11, Jun 03, 2004 13:27:43




www.pbase.com/roanjohnexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Guillermo ­ Freige
Senior Member
Guillermo Freige's Avatar
Joined Jun 2003
704 posts
La Plata, Argentina
[MORE/SHARE]

arumdevil wrote:
taken from verious places:

Also the " PA-2 - AIservo" function is reported not to work, but it can be made to work. you hold the shutter halfway for continuous focusing, and then when you want to shoot you very briefly let go and then press teh shutter fully in one quick action. It's not ideal but it works. I got this tip from another thread on this forum (sorry can't remember poster's name)

It was me!! :)

Regarding CFs, only CF 1,2,3,6 (partially), 8 and 12 works.

Post #12, Jun 03, 2004 13:46:26


Guillermo
EOS 5D MkII, 40D and 20D owner.
EF 17-40L, 24-105L IS , 70-300 IS, 24 f2.8, 35 f2, 50 f2.5 Macro, 85 f1.8.
EF-s 18-55 IS. Sigma 12-24, Tamron 17-50 Di II

LOG IN TO REPLY
Saber
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Mar 2003
78 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

msvadi wrote:
there is a pdf file with instructions:
http://groups.yahoo.co​m ...20firmware%20featur​es.pdfexternal link

I'm not sure about that, but may be one has to be registered at yahoo 300D hacking group in order to access the file.

Thanks, Just what i was looking for.

Travis

Post #13, Jun 03, 2004 15:49:31




LOG IN TO REPLY
dsze
Goldmember
dsze's Avatar
Joined May 2004
2,241 posts
On The Lake!
[MORE/SHARE]

I installed the hack last night after a week of reading about it and so far I haven't noticed any downfalls, except for the language thing, (who cares). I agree with the above, this is fun! Do you think Canon must have known upon release of the 300D that there were people like us who get off on this kind of thing? Surely they saw this coming.

-d

Post #14, Jun 04, 2004 09:57:00


-daniel
"Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away."
-Gear List-

LOG IN TO REPLY
theoldmoose
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2003
294 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I doubt it. Companies tend to be arrogant about things like this. Canon probably figured that if no one had bothered to hack any of their previous models, that the Digital Rebel would be similarly immune. What they didn't figure on was hitting the 'sweet spot' where tons of folks that were on tight budgets would buy these things, and among those folks, there would be a critical mass of hackers (1?), with sufficient motivation (lack of cash, desired to not be straight-jacketed in to the pre-selected modes that Canon thought was best for novice shooters) that would take it upon themselves to crack the thing. Couple that with an Engineering department that probably downplayed the hackability of the camera when presenting it to their Marketing staff, and you have the current situation. There has probably been some accusatory finger-pointing going on at the director/VP level internally in the company, but you and I will probably never hear of it.

Consider that Ford said something along the lines of, "No one would ever hack an engine controller", and then attempted to sue out of existence some of the first companies that featured 'chipped' modules. Now, a major provider of 'chipped' modules sponsers a NASCAR in the Nextel Cup races -- I forgot which car, although it would be supreme irony if it was a Ford.

GM took a more enlightened view of "Chippers blow up more engines, thus we have the opportunity to sell them replacements!", and rubbed their revenue-soaked hands with glee.

Chrysler may have the most enlightened viewpoint of all, in that they revived their old Mopar speed shop stuff, which caters directly to the 'tuner' crowd, and even produced a car specifically aimed at the tuner market, the Dodge SRT-4, the world's fastest under-$20K production car.

A manufacture can either:

1) Embrace it.

2) Attempt to kill it.

OR,

3) Ignore it.

It seems that Canon (for the moment) has chosen #3.

This might actually be the most preferable outcome.

Post #15, Jun 04, 2004 15:37:20




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
38,418 views & 0 likes for this thread
*-=Instructions=-* for HACKED firmware 300d
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00137 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
954 guests, 787 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is FOTOZA

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.