Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #1
dianas
Member
 
dianas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 175
Default How to photograph through fence at zoo?

I'm going back to the zoo but most of the animals are behind chain link fences. Haven't tried this yet, but will it be possible to use my 70-300 lens and zoom past the links to get a clear shot of the animals?

Any suggestions on how to blur our the fence links? Thanks
__________________
Diana
dianas is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #2
Mike McCusker
Member
 
Mike McCusker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Smyrna, De
Posts: 650
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Zoom to 300 and shoot wide open.
__________________
20D with grip, 50D,Canon 50mm 1.8II,Canon 18-55,Canon EF 24-105mm IS, Canon 70-200 2,8L, Canon EFS 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM, Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6, 580EX, 430EX, ST-E2

No one goes through life undefeated!
Mike McCusker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #3
ryant35
Goldmember
 
ryant35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 4,323
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

400mm & wide open aperture.

ryant35 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #4
ryant35
Goldmember
 
ryant35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 4,323
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

My second shot is manual focus through a 1" spaced fence.

There usually isn't a problem focusing through a standard chain link fence, but the smaller animals have the smaller fence and it can be troublesome.

I be sure to focus to infinity before you try to shoot through the fence it will help keep your camera from finding & focusing on the fence itself.
ryant35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #5
dianas
Member
 
dianas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 175
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Here's a newbie question. When Focusing to infinity, is that the same as using A-Dep? I have a Rebel XTi. Thanks
__________________
Diana
dianas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #6
ryant35
Goldmember
 
ryant35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 4,323
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

no it's pointing your camera at something far away, like the sky and focusing.

Your gonna want to shoot in Av with your lowest aperture setting, and adjust ISO accordingly to keep your pictures sharp.
ryant35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #7
dianas
Member
 
dianas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 175
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Thanks. I also figured out where the infinity symbol is on the lens. Appreciate it

**Oh, cute monkey shot btw!
__________________
Diana
dianas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #8
prime
Member
 
prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 71
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

As long as you are at f/5.6 or less and the animal is not right up against the fence, it shouldn't be a problem.

In this picture I was about 2 feet away from the fence and the eagle was only 7 feet away (f/5.6).

__________________
Flickr

Gear: Canon Digital Rebel XTi + kit lens, 50mm f/1.8, 75-300mm Mark I, kenko tubes
prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #9
20droger
Cream of the Crop
 
20droger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a semi-civilized small town in southeastern Arizona.
Posts: 13,972
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Hmmm.... Looks like the American Bored eagle.

Good shot, though.

I like the zen monkey in post 3. Can almost hear it going "ooooommmmmm...."
20droger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #10
prime
Member
 
prime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 71
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20droger View Post
Hmmm.... Looks like the American Bored eagle.

Good shot, though.

I like the zen monkey in post 3. Can almost hear it going "ooooommmmmm...."
Being caged up in a zoo most of the time is bound to get boring eventually.
__________________
Flickr

Gear: Canon Digital Rebel XTi + kit lens, 50mm f/1.8, 75-300mm Mark I, kenko tubes
prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #11
BigBadBrain
a Zen kind of thing
 
BigBadBrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kent, Washington
Posts: 81
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20droger View Post
Hmmm.... Looks like the American Bored eagle.

Good shot, though.

I like the zen monkey in post 3. Can almost hear it going "ooooommmmmm...."

Zen is as Zen does... I believe that this partiular primate needs to release some inner tention before finding inner peace!

I've had mixed results with shooting through fence and netting. A lot has to do with the light to start with - bright sunlight makes it tough to get the aperture open enough in some cases I've found. I need to practice more for sure before I get it right. Pretty much hosed though if you have small distance between the screen/fence/netting and the animal.
__________________
Brian ---- The day I have nothing new to learn - bury me!

EOS 350D, BG-E3, EF 28-135mm IS, EF 200mm 2.8L, EF 100-400 f4.5-5.6L IS, 1.4x II, 430EX, Manfotto 3011 w 488RC2 midi ballhead, Kenko tubes, Canon i9000, Lowpro Slingshot 200
BigBadBrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #12
ryant35
Goldmember
 
ryant35's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Lake Forest, CA
Posts: 4,323
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadBrain View Post
Zen is as Zen does... I believe that this partiular primate needs to release some inner tention before finding inner peace!

I've had mixed results with shooting through fence and netting. A lot has to do with the light to start with - bright sunlight makes it tough to get the aperture open enough in some cases I've found. I need to practice more for sure before I get it right. Pretty much hosed though if you have small distance between the screen/fence/netting and the animal.
It would have to be pretty bright to max out your camera at 1/8000sec at f/5.6 & iso 100 in Av mode.

ryant35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th of July 2007 (Fri)   #13
howzitboy
Goldmember
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2,947
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?


just shoot wide opened and no fence shows up. But, make sure u are on manual focus or you'll get nice shot of fence.
howzitboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of July 2007 (Sat)   #14
Wilt
Cream of the Crop
 
Wilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 32,776
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBadBrain View Post
I've had mixed results with shooting through fence and netting. A lot has to do with the light to start with - bright sunlight makes it tough to get the aperture open enough in some cases I've found. I need to practice more for sure before I get it right. Pretty much hosed though if you have small distance between the screen/fence/netting and the animal.
continuing on the point that ryant35 raised...

ISO 100 setting means having f/16 1/100 combination in sun, per the Sunny 16 rule of thumb. To change from 1/100 to 1/6400 is -6 f/stops less light (1/100...1/200... 1/400... 1/800... 1/1600... 1/3200... 1/6400.) To offset that shutter speed reduction in light you need to open up the lens aperture +6 f/stops...to f/2 (f/16...f/11...f/8...f/5.6...f/4...f/2.8...f2)

...so you see in bright sun there really is not a situation of being limited in the aperture you can use to limit DOF
__________________
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention
Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.php

Last edited by Wilt : 14th of July 2007 (Sat) at 09:07.
Wilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of July 2007 (Sat)   #15
Pete
Moderator
Prime Mover
 
Pete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 38,607
Default Re: How to photograph through fence at zoo?

Shot through chain link


In addition to what's been said above, the best way if getting rid of the fence is to get as close as you can to it. If possible, take the lens hood off and jam the lens right up against the fence. Get it in the right place and the fence will be unnoticable, even at full crop.
__________________
Pete
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you Photograph your vacations or vacation to photograph? Chrisedge The POTN Lounge 22 11th of November 2008 (Tue) 06:03
Zoo animals @ Auckland Zoo KenMac Wildlife 2 17th of December 2007 (Mon) 13:53
On the Fence PhilHannah Wildlife 1 7th of May 2007 (Mon) 05:23
No, It's Not A fence? TByrne Nature & Landscapes 3 12th of January 2007 (Fri) 12:13


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.