Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 21 Jul 2007 (Saturday) 23:35
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Speedlite 430ex and AE-1

 
The ­ Fox
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Jul 21, 2007 23:35 |  #1

I just got a canon ae-1 from a friend and want to use it as a studio camera since I have an elan 7ne on the way for everything else. I have a 430ex and want to know it it will work at all. I know that I am going to have to use it in manual mode with studio lighting, but I wonder if it will get any ttl metering since it has more then just 1 contact on the hot shoe. It would be nice for things like since it is a damned good film camera. I know you don't deal with film on here too much, or even cameras this old, but I thank all who can give any help.
Nick


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
waylandcool
Senior Member
Joined Jun 2007
Far NW Suburbs of Chicago
Jul 21, 2007 23:43 |  #2

Since the flash is 30 years newer than the camera, I would strongly doubt it. My AE-1 doesn't send any metering data to my Speedlight 188A. It may fire the flash but you would get no metering info from the camera to the flash.




LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Jul 21, 2007 23:55 |  #3

Then would it hurt the flash to use it while on manual? I would imagine that it might since it is a dedicated flash for the EOS bodies.


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Aug 13, 2007 00:49 |  #4

Bump.


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
bieber
Goldmember
bieber's Avatar
1,992 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Bradenton, FL
Aug 13, 2007 00:56 |  #5

Old flashes can fry new cameras, but not the other way around. If you put the flash in M mode, the camera should set it up without any problems.


EOS 20D w/ BG-E2 grip
Nifty fifty, EF 28mm f/2.8, EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Speedlights SB-25/SB-26/580EX, Pocket Wizards and such
My Galleryexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Aug 13, 2007 00:59 |  #6

Cool, then I have a better and more powerful flash then the quantaray q 15 that I got with the camera. Thank you very much.


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
bieber
Goldmember
bieber's Avatar
1,992 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Bradenton, FL
Aug 13, 2007 01:13 |  #7

No problem. I'm just sorry I wasn't around when you first asked the question. I know there's a couple of others around here who are pretty knowledgeable about small flashes too; if a question like this goes unanswered for more than a day or so, just bump it, one of us is bound to know the answer.


EOS 20D w/ BG-E2 grip
Nifty fifty, EF 28mm f/2.8, EF 70-200mm f/4L USM
Speedlights SB-25/SB-26/580EX, Pocket Wizards and such
My Galleryexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Aug 13, 2007 01:15 |  #8

Okay, I shall do.


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Aug 14, 2007 15:12 |  #9

Something strange happened to way when I put the 430ex on the AE-1 program, I turned it on and it was set to ttl. I put it on manual then while it was still on the camera, I put it on ttl and pointed the camera at different things and it was varying the power. Does this mean that it has some ttl metering?


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
PacAce's Avatar
26,853 posts
Joined Feb 2003
ABE, PA USA
Aug 14, 2007 16:30 |  #10

The Fox wrote in post #3727422external link
Something strange happened to way when I put the 430ex on the AE-1 program, I turned it on and it was set to ttl. I put it on manual then while it was still on the camera, I put it on ttl and pointed the camera at different things and it was varying the power. Does this mean that it has some ttl metering?

Were you actually firing the flash with the camera or just pointing the camera without taking a picture? TTL only works when you take a picture, assuming the flash is compatible with the camera.

BTW, what do you mean by "varying the power"? Was it showing on the flash LCD screen?


...Leo

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,709 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Aug 14, 2007 17:58 |  #11

I point the camera at something, like lets say my computer. I advance the nonexsitent film to cock the shutter, and take a picture, the flash fires. And after further investication the flash just fire full power.


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lightstream
Yoda
14,915 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Cult of the Full Frame
Aug 16, 2007 05:28 |  #12

The Fox wrote in post #3728333external link
I point the camera at something, like lets say my computer. I advance the nonexsitent film to cock the shutter, and take a picture, the flash fires. And after further investication the flash just fire full power.


I've tested with nearly the same combination except mine is an A-1 (AE-1 with Av and a few other options).

The two additional pins are meant to work with only two other Canon dedicated speedlites for that series of cameras. It doesn't work with the 430EX and fools it into thinking it is in TTL mode. As you can see it isn't sending the correct information to the flash to quench the flash burst when enough light has been detected.

The long and short of it is that unless you use the two speedlites specified by the manual you are not going to get TTL metering. However, if you want to continue using your 430EX in 100%-manual mode, tape the two small pins, but not the big center pin.

Your best bet is to use something like the Vivitar 285HV thyristor autoflash. You don't get TTL flash, but you do get automatic flash exposure.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,841 views & 0 likes for this thread
Speedlite 430ex and AE-1
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00303 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is geoffreybaker
1153 guests, 459 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016