Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 1st of August 2007 (Wed)   #1
Silver Sandwhich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

I have the 8 megapixel Canon Powershot A630. If I ever take a picture without the flash, it comes out really grainy like a web cam and looks horrible. It also happens with the flash like when I put the camera on my tripod and use the timer to take a picture of myself.

This also happened with some pictures I took while outside in complete sunlight.
Silver Sandwhich is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of August 2007 (Wed)   #2
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,425
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Post some examples? What mode are you using the camera in?
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of August 2007 (Wed)   #3
Silver Sandwhich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Auto with Auto Flash and Red Eye Reduction.

Last edited by Silver Sandwhich : 27th of November 2012 (Tue) at 05:21. Reason: Big pic
Silver Sandwhich is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of August 2007 (Wed)   #4
jipli
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Noise usually appears because of high ISO settings, the lower the ISO the finer the picture will be and all the way along to the highest ISO which produces a lot of grain...
jipli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st of August 2007 (Wed)   #5
Silver Sandwhich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Ah, I did have it on high ISO. I just saw it made the viewfinder brighter. But I've actually put that back to auto and still get grainy pictures.

I also have it set on superfine and M3 size.
Silver Sandwhich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2007 (Thu)   #6
rpolitsr
Moderator
 
rpolitsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quito - Ecuador
Posts: 4,929
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

L Superfine will be better. You can do post processing on noise issues easily.
Low ISO helps, but only pictures in good light will be reasonably free of noise.
__________________
rafael

Canon powershot Pro1, EOS RebelXT, EF-S 18-55mm II, speedlite 420EX, basic filters set.
My photo galleries

"PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED."
rpolitsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2007 (Thu)   #7
Silver Sandwhich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Even on Auto ISO, L, and with the flash in a lit room, they still come out super grainy. It's like a really large web cam shot. I tired super fine and normal, both came out like crap.

My A40 (or something) never did this.

Last edited by Silver Sandwhich : 27th of November 2012 (Tue) at 05:22.
Silver Sandwhich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2007 (Thu)   #8
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,425
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Auto often uses the higher ISO settings to keep the shutter speed up. What was the EXIF on these? And did you do any post-processing on them? If they were underexposed, noise is more of a problem.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2007 (Thu)   #9
Silver Sandwhich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

I don't know what EXIF is, so I guess just default. I resize my pics to 800 x 600 (Wish the camera had this setting!) when I'm actually going to share them, but it really doesn't help.

Macromedia Fireworks is my image editing program of choice, but I can't find a way to un-noise the pics.

I guess auto just sucks balls.
Silver Sandwhich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2007 (Thu)   #10
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,425
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

EXIF is the shooting information - if you open the file in Zoom Broser and choose "Properties" it'll tell you the aperture, shutter speed, metering mode, ISO, lens focal length, camera, and all sorts of other useful info.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of August 2007 (Thu)   #11
Silver Sandwhich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

100-0667
Auto ISO
1/60
F2.8
AWB
3.56MB
3264X2448
Silver Sandwhich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2007 (Fri)   #12
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,425
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver Sandwhich View Post
100-0667
Auto ISO
1/60
F2.8
AWB
3.56MB
3264X2448
Which picture?
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities


Image Posting Rules
and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2007 (Fri)   #13
ddphoto
Member
 
ddphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 97
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Here are some pics taken with an A630 by my daughter, in some cases there's grain but is almost always due to low light or movement.









She's using the camera on Manual mode and adjusting ISO as needed, usually sticks in 100.
__________________
ddphoto
Canon 400D, Canon 18-55, Tamron 28-80, Tamron 70-300

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dd_photo/
ddphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2007 (Fri)   #14
Silver Sandwhich
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon View Post
Which picture?
Sorry, the one in post 7.

It angers me that grain comes standard with this thing. I thought I was buying a really good camera...
Silver Sandwhich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of August 2007 (Fri)   #15
RadAL
Cream of the Crop
 
RadAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spanish Fort, AL
Posts: 9,633
Default Re: A630: Constant Grainy Pictures

on the post with pictures, aside from the first picture (which was taken almost at night and probably handheld without flash...), the other pictures don't look grainy? Don't expect handheld awesome dark pictures (unless you have a super steady hand and take off review time or have a tripod).... without some stability to the camera.

Also, how good do you think you are with cameras? newbie, amateur, semi proffessional, etc?
__________________
Equipment: Canon PowerShot A650IS (semi retired) and Canon Powershot G10 (primary) and Rebel XT 350D w/18-55mm kit lens and Quanterey 18-200mm-- www.youtube.com/alexander1485 (has links to some of my pictures on the main page)
RadAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got the A630 - a few pictures Olegis Small Compact Digitals by Canon 9 22nd of December 2007 (Sat) 15:55
One More Questions With Pictures-Grainy pictures on S2 ashmicek Small Compact Digitals by Canon 15 19th of December 2006 (Tue) 12:03
Will a constant f4 zoom work for indoor pictures? col4bin Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 15 24th of March 2006 (Fri) 06:53
Grainy pictures jameslightfoot Small Compact Digitals by Canon 4 6th of October 2003 (Mon) 07:55
Grainy pictures jameslightfoot Small Compact Digitals by Canon 0 4th of October 2003 (Sat) 19:12


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.