LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


How To Make Completely Dark Background

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Macro
Thread started 02 Aug 2007 (Thursday) 11:05   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
iseeihear
Member
Joined Aug 2007
36 posts
Hong Kong
[MORE/SHARE]

I read a book on Macro photography. It says to make a dark background just use a flash but I don't understand - if you shoot outdoor, how can this be archeived?

Post #1, Aug 02, 2007 11:05:38




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
LordV's Avatar
Joined Oct 2005
51,928 posts
Worthing UK
[MORE/SHARE]

iseeihear wrote in post #3655872external link
I read a book on Macro photography. It says to make a dark background just use a flash but I don't understand - if you shoot outdoor, how can this be archeived?

If you do a flash shot with nothing within about 6" behind the subject then the light fall off is such that the picture will appear with a black background. This assumes you are using low ISO setting fastish shutter speed (1/200th) and aperture around F11 say.

brian V

Post #2, Aug 02, 2007 11:11:21


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/external link
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/external link
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

LOG IN TO REPLY
iseeihear
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Aug 2007
36 posts
Hong Kong
[MORE/SHARE]

LordV,

Do you mind explaining a bit more?

I have a 30D, EF100mm f/2.8 macro lens and a 430EX. When I use Av mode to set to F11, isn't the the camera set the shutter automatically? How can I specify a shutter speed of 1/200 or faster?

TQ

Post #3, Aug 02, 2007 11:21:55




LOG IN TO REPLY
zippy25
Goldmember
zippy25's Avatar
Joined May 2007
2,505 posts
Lower 48
[MORE/SHARE]

iseeihear wrote in post #3655968external link
LordV,

Do you mind explaining a bit more?

I have a 30D, EF100mm f/2.8 macro lens and a 430EX. When I use Av mode to set to F11, isn't the the camera set the shutter automatically? How can I specify a shutter speed of 1/200 or faster?

TQ

Try M mode, and set both there...

Post #4, Aug 02, 2007 11:23:57


David
I'm quite an optimist, quite happy in life, quite smiley

Childhood is measured out by sounds and smells and sights, before the dark hour of reason grows"

LOG IN TO REPLY
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
LordV's Avatar
Joined Oct 2005
51,928 posts
Worthing UK
[MORE/SHARE]

iseeihear wrote in post #3655968external link
LordV,

Do you mind explaining a bit more?

I have a 30D, EF100mm f/2.8 macro lens and a 430EX. When I use Av mode to set to F11, isn't the the camera set the shutter automatically? How can I specify a shutter speed of 1/200 or faster?

TQ

As David says above- this is with the camera in M mode- in Av or Tv modes the camera will do a normal exposure for the light but add a bit of fill flash - not what you want in this case.
Brian V.

Post #5, Aug 02, 2007 13:45:59


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/external link
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/external link
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
RacEcaR
Senior Member
RacEcaR's Avatar
Joined May 2007
266 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

LordV wrote in post #3655911external link
If you do a flash shot with nothing within about 6" behind the subject then the light fall off is such that the picture will appear with a black background. This assumes you are using low ISO setting fastish shutter speed (1/200th) and aperture around F11 say.

brian V

I am also interested in this subject

I just tied that exact combination with my 350D (indoor) and the backround is very bright. more info on this subject would be great...

Post #6, Aug 02, 2007 16:10:23


"A photograph never grows old. You and I change, people change all through the months and years, but a photograph always remains the same. How nice to look at a photograph of mother or father taken many years ago. You see them as you remember them. But as people live on, they change completely. That is why I think a photograph can be kind."
-Albert Einstein

LOG IN TO REPLY
Steelydan
Senior Member
Joined Mar 2005
158 posts
Waterford City,Ireland
[MORE/SHARE]

Set Camera To M
Select Aperture to f16 - f22
Shutter Speed to 1/100 sec
Let TTL do metering

You should have a black background.Never tried this method but read it on another forum for photographing a white Lilly

Post #7, Aug 02, 2007 16:38:08


Slainte
John

LOG IN TO REPLY
RacEcaR
Senior Member
RacEcaR's Avatar
Joined May 2007
266 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Steelydan wrote in post #3657824external link
Set Camera To M
Select Aperture to f16 - f22
Shutter Speed to 1/100 sec
Let TTL do metering

You should have a black background.Never tried this method but read it on another forum for photographing a white Lilly

thanks. sinse you never tried it heres the proof, I used f/18.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://img517.imagesha​ck.us/img517/5895/blac​kniggaia8.jpgexternal link
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'

Post #8, Aug 02, 2007 18:28:08


"A photograph never grows old. You and I change, people change all through the months and years, but a photograph always remains the same. How nice to look at a photograph of mother or father taken many years ago. You see them as you remember them. But as people live on, they change completely. That is why I think a photograph can be kind."
-Albert Einstein

LOG IN TO REPLY
DavidPhoto
Senior Member
Joined Mar 2007
774 posts
MA, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

A little explanation: with flash, the flash power is controlled by your aperture while ISO+shutter speed control ambient light. So if you use a low ISO and a high shutter speed the ambient light will be minimized and hopefully black.
It was far from pitch dark when these were taken.

IMAGE: http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1331/933224589_e4331b11df.jpg

IMAGE: http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1046/935181345_8512bdeb96.jpg

Post #9, Aug 02, 2007 18:35:50




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jostel
Senior Member
Jostel's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
874 posts
South-Central PA
[MORE/SHARE]

Here is my shot.

It was taken with my Minolta gear. A Minolta Maxim film camera and a Minolta 70-210 Lens. This was shot about 7 years ago.
I have no clue what settings I used, but I remember I was about 10' from the Peace Rose. It was bout 2pm on a warm, sunny afternoon.
When I received the pictures back from the lab, I was blown away!!! I had no idea how I shot this photo, in bright daylight, and yet it had no light in the back ground!!! well, maybe not entirely true, as the scan shows the stem, leaves, and thorns somewhat...
At that time, I thought this shot was the cats-a**, let me tell you!!!!
It still hangs on my wall, above my computer, cuz it really was the first 'real' photograph I ever took!!! and I must add, it was what inspired me to keep going..

(Mind you, this is a scan, as yes, this was originally on film!!!!! and lord only knows where the negative is!!!!)(oh yeah, no fill flash. I would never have dreamed of using a flash in the daytime!! sheesh!!!!!)

IMAGE: http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r213/joanfstel/PeaceRose.jpg

Post #10, Aug 02, 2007 19:39:01 as a reply to DavidPhoto's post 1 hour earlier.


My name is Joan. Just Joan. :D
If you do not stand behind our Military~~ PLEASE feel free to stand in front of them..

50D; 30D; Digital Rebel;
70-200 L ; 75-300 IS USM; 10-22; 50mm; Quantaray 28-90 ; 420EX; kenko tube, Tamron SPAF90mm Macro

LOG IN TO REPLY
wayne_eddy
Goldmember
wayne_eddy's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
1,879 posts
Perth, 'straya
[MORE/SHARE]

from experience you need to use a small aperture and a fast shutter speed and lots of light on the subject.

@ max ss of 200 with a pop up flash that can be hard to achive but with a hot shoue flash you can do it, just experiment with it.

I was using this technique a lot a few years ago, but grew to understand the merit of good bokeh and now try to get some good creamy bground instead.

Post #11, Aug 03, 2007 09:56:39


wayne eddy
[I'm calibrated - are you?]
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mkuriger
Goldmember
mkuriger's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,105 posts
Valencia, California
[MORE/SHARE]

as long as your flash is set to full power, it should completely overpower all ambient light until the background appears black.

Post #12, Aug 03, 2007 10:02:20


Michael Kuriger
My Myspaceexternal link
ikekuriger@gmail.com
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon 30D | Canon 17-55mm F2.8 IS | Canon 70-200mm F4L | Canon 24-70mm F2.8L

LOG IN TO REPLY
iseeihear
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Aug 2007
36 posts
Hong Kong
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks all.

With your help, I was able to make my very 1st marco with completely dark background!:D

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Post #13, Aug 04, 2007 12:37:00




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
3,450 views & 0 likes for this thread
How To Make Completely Dark Background
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Macro



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00138 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
967 guests, 672 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Varneeezy

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.