Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Macro
Thread started 02 Aug 2007 (Thursday) 11:05
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

How To Make Completely Dark Background

 
iseeihear
Member
36 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Hong Kong
Aug 02, 2007 11:05 |  #1

I read a book on Macro photography. It says to make a dark background just use a flash but I don't understand - if you shoot outdoor, how can this be archeived?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
LordV's Avatar
57,213 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Oct 2005
Worthing UK
Aug 02, 2007 11:11 |  #2

iseeihear wrote in post #3655872external link
I read a book on Macro photography. It says to make a dark background just use a flash but I don't understand - if you shoot outdoor, how can this be archeived?

If you do a flash shot with nothing within about 6" behind the subject then the light fall off is such that the picture will appear with a black background. This assumes you are using low ISO setting fastish shutter speed (1/200th) and aperture around F11 say.

brian V


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

LOG IN TO REPLY
iseeihear
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
36 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Hong Kong
Aug 02, 2007 11:21 |  #3

LordV,

Do you mind explaining a bit more?

I have a 30D, EF100mm f/2.8 macro lens and a 430EX. When I use Av mode to set to F11, isn't the the camera set the shutter automatically? How can I specify a shutter speed of 1/200 or faster?

TQ




LOG IN TO REPLY
zippy25
Goldmember
zippy25's Avatar
2,505 posts
Joined May 2007
Lower 48
Aug 02, 2007 11:23 |  #4

iseeihear wrote in post #3655968external link
LordV,

Do you mind explaining a bit more?

I have a 30D, EF100mm f/2.8 macro lens and a 430EX. When I use Av mode to set to F11, isn't the the camera set the shutter automatically? How can I specify a shutter speed of 1/200 or faster?

TQ

Try M mode, and set both there...


David
I'm quite an optimist, quite happy in life, quite smiley

Childhood is measured out by sounds and smells and sights, before the dark hour of reason grows"

LOG IN TO REPLY
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
LordV's Avatar
57,213 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Oct 2005
Worthing UK
Aug 02, 2007 13:45 |  #5

iseeihear wrote in post #3655968external link
LordV,

Do you mind explaining a bit more?

I have a 30D, EF100mm f/2.8 macro lens and a 430EX. When I use Av mode to set to F11, isn't the the camera set the shutter automatically? How can I specify a shutter speed of 1/200 or faster?

TQ

As David says above- this is with the camera in M mode- in Av or Tv modes the camera will do a normal exposure for the light but add a bit of fill flash - not what you want in this case.
Brian V.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

LOG IN TO REPLY
RacEcaR
Senior Member
RacEcaR's Avatar
266 posts
Joined May 2007
Aug 02, 2007 16:10 |  #6

LordV wrote in post #3655911external link
If you do a flash shot with nothing within about 6" behind the subject then the light fall off is such that the picture will appear with a black background. This assumes you are using low ISO setting fastish shutter speed (1/200th) and aperture around F11 say.

brian V

I am also interested in this subject

I just tied that exact combination with my 350D (indoor) and the backround is very bright. more info on this subject would be great...


"A photograph never grows old. You and I change, people change all through the months and years, but a photograph always remains the same. How nice to look at a photograph of mother or father taken many years ago. You see them as you remember them. But as people live on, they change completely. That is why I think a photograph can be kind."
-Albert Einstein

LOG IN TO REPLY
Steelydan
Member
Joined Mar 2005
Waterford City,Ireland
Aug 02, 2007 16:38 |  #7

Set Camera To M
Select Aperture to f16 - f22
Shutter Speed to 1/100 sec
Let TTL do metering

You should have a black background.Never tried this method but read it on another forum for photographing a white Lilly


Slainte
John

LOG IN TO REPLY
RacEcaR
Senior Member
RacEcaR's Avatar
266 posts
Joined May 2007
Aug 02, 2007 18:28 |  #8

Steelydan wrote in post #3657824 (external link)
Set Camera To M
Select Aperture to f16 - f22
Shutter Speed to 1/100 sec
Let TTL do metering

You should have a black background.Never tried this method but read it on another forum for photographing a white Lilly

thanks. sinse you never tried it heres the proof, I used f/18.

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://img517.imagesha​ck.us/img517/5895/blac​kniggaia8.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'

"A photograph never grows old. You and I change, people change all through the months and years, but a photograph always remains the same. How nice to look at a photograph of mother or father taken many years ago. You see them as you remember them. But as people live on, they change completely. That is why I think a photograph can be kind."
-Albert Einstein

LOG IN TO REPLY
DavidPhoto
Senior Member
774 posts
Joined Mar 2007
MA, USA
Aug 02, 2007 18:35 |  #9

A little explanation: with flash, the flash power is controlled by your aperture while ISO+shutter speed control ambient light. So if you use a low ISO and a high shutter speed the ambient light will be minimized and hopefully black.
It was far from pitch dark when these were taken.

IMAGE: http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1331/933224589_e4331b11df.jpg

IMAGE: http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1046/935181345_8512bdeb96.jpg



LOG IN TO REPLY
Jostel
Senior Member
Jostel's Avatar
874 posts
Joined Jan 2007
South-Central PA
Aug 02, 2007 19:39 as a reply to DavidPhoto's post |  #10

Here is my shot.

It was taken with my Minolta gear. A Minolta Maxim film camera and a Minolta 70-210 Lens. This was shot about 7 years ago.
I have no clue what settings I used, but I remember I was about 10' from the Peace Rose. It was bout 2pm on a warm, sunny afternoon.
When I received the pictures back from the lab, I was blown away!!! I had no idea how I shot this photo, in bright daylight, and yet it had no light in the back ground!!! well, maybe not entirely true, as the scan shows the stem, leaves, and thorns somewhat...
At that time, I thought this shot was the cats-a**, let me tell you!!!!
It still hangs on my wall, above my computer, cuz it really was the first 'real' photograph I ever took!!! and I must add, it was what inspired me to keep going..

(Mind you, this is a scan, as yes, this was originally on film!!!!! and lord only knows where the negative is!!!!)(oh yeah, no fill flash. I would never have dreamed of using a flash in the daytime!! sheesh!!!!!)

IMAGE: http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r213/joanfstel/PeaceRose.jpg

My name is Joan. Just Joan. :D
If you do not stand behind our Military~~ PLEASE feel free to stand in front of them..

50D; 30D; Digital Rebel;
70-200 L ; 75-300 IS USM; 10-22; 50mm; Quantaray 28-90 ; 420EX; kenko tube, Tamron SPAF90mm Macro

LOG IN TO REPLY
wayne_eddy
Goldmember
wayne_eddy's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
Perth, 'straya
Aug 03, 2007 09:56 |  #11

from experience you need to use a small aperture and a fast shutter speed and lots of light on the subject.

@ max ss of 200 with a pop up flash that can be hard to achive but with a hot shoue flash you can do it, just experiment with it.

I was using this technique a lot a few years ago, but grew to understand the merit of good bokeh and now try to get some good creamy bground instead.


wayne eddy
[I'm calibrated - are you?]
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
mkuriger
Goldmember
mkuriger's Avatar
1,105 posts
Joined May 2007
Valencia, California
Aug 03, 2007 10:02 |  #12

as long as your flash is set to full power, it should completely overpower all ambient light until the background appears black.


Michael Kuriger
My Myspaceexternal link
ikekuriger@gmail.com
Canon 5D Mark II | Canon 30D | Canon 17-55mm F2.8 IS | Canon 70-200mm F4L | Canon 24-70mm F2.8L

LOG IN TO REPLY
iseeihear
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
36 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Hong Kong
Aug 04, 2007 12:37 |  #13

Thanks all.

With your help, I was able to make my very 1st marco with completely dark background!:D

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,643 views & 0 likes for this thread
How To Make Completely Dark Background
FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Macro


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00082 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is irdaze
862 guests, 527 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016