Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 16th of September 2007 (Sun)   #1
julie249

Default Tamron vs. Canon Lenses

I have decided to upgrade from a Rebel XTi to a 40D. I am fairly new to photography, therefore, unfamiliar with lens options. I mostly take portrait, close up photography of my children. I like the background blurred out in alot of the pictures. The store I am purchasing from recommended a tamron 17-35 mm lens - he said it would let in more light than my canon 18-55 mm lens and give a crisper picture. He also said it would blurr out the background easily. I will also purchase another telephoto lens in the future - but any recommendations for now. Should I consider a canon IS lens? Thanks
julie249 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 16th of September 2007 (Sun)   #2
GTRacer

Default Re: Tamron vs. Canon Lenses

To be very honest, you should stick with the XTi since you are fairly new to photography. You can then spend the rest on some lenses.
1) 50mm f/1.8 is pretty much standard for portraiture, although some prefer the 85mm or something wider.

2) As for telephotos, the Canon 70-200 F/4L is very good, I'm unfamiliar with other tele zooms from other companies but apparently they're very good.
GTRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of September 2007 (Sun)   #3
FREEZE

I'm using a rebel xt. The lenses that are usualy on my camera are theTamron 28-75 (look around on the net you won't find many bad reviews,slower focus speed being the major complaint)and the 70-200f4. I own the kit lens and the 50mm1.8 hardly ever use them. For a budget lens that is sharp and has a constant 2.8 the tamron 28-75 is the way to go!

Freeze
FREEZE is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member