LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Max Memory Card sizes for Canon 400D & 40D

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 20 Sep 2007 (Thursday) 15:16   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
canonrap
Member
Joined Jun 2007
95 posts
Wiltshire, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

Sorry if this is a silly question, but I had been led to believe that the Canon 400D could only take up to a 2GB MC. Is this true?

Also, is there a limit to what the 40D can take. There are some mammoth cards appearing on the market now:!:

Post #1, Sep 20, 2007 15:16:52


Canon 40D Digital SLR / Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6 / Canon 60mm Macro USM / Canon 100-400mmf4-5.6 L IS USM / :D
Canon G7 Compact :) Also: Canon A1 Film SLR / Tokina 24mm f2.8 / Canon 50mm f1.8 / Canon 70-210 f4 / Sigma 600mm f8 Mirror.....Long Live The A1 ;)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
MaDProFF
Goldmember
MaDProFF's Avatar
Joined May 2007
4,366 posts
East Sussex, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

cant say for 400D, but I think the 40D is 16, I use a 4 gig for sure

Post #2, Sep 20, 2007 15:25:07


Photographic Images on Brett Butlerexternal link px500external link & Flickrexternal link Some Canon Bodies , few blackish lenses, A dam heavy black one, couple dirty white ones, a 3 legged walking stick, a mono walking stick, and a bag full of rubbish :oops:
And Still Learning all walks of life, & most of all Photography.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,181 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

No it's not. Should be able to swallow a 16 GB easily, although earlier models (5D, 30D) could only format those in-camera to 8 GB. They worked OK with the card if formatted in computer IIRC.

Post #3, Sep 20, 2007 15:25:11


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
Cr4zYH3aD
Goldmember
Joined May 2007
1,024 posts
Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

4 gigs card ar faster than 8gb

Post #4, Sep 20, 2007 16:31:47


Canon EOS 7D, Tamron 17-50 F/2.8 (No VC), Sandisk Extreme IV 8GB.
Canon Rebel XTi, EF-S 18-55 Kit lens, EF 50mm f/1.8 II, SanDisk Extreme III 2gb

LOG IN TO REPLY
Familiaphoto
Goldmember
Familiaphoto's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
3,938 posts
Chicago, IL
[MORE/SHARE]

I used a 8gig in my 400D and now use that same card in my 40D.

Post #5, Sep 20, 2007 16:41:59


Paul
Blogexternal link | Gearexternal link | Galleryexternal link
Bag Reviews: Domke F-3x | More to come...

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
andrewhuxman
Cream of the Crop
andrewhuxman's Avatar
Joined May 2005
7,834 posts
Rockford Illinois
[MORE/SHARE]

I use a 12 gig extreme 111 in my 400D

Post #6, Sep 21, 2007 20:53:01


A little L goes a long way.

Canon 7D,40D, gripped,16-35MM 2.8L,24-105MM F4L,70-200MM 2.8 IS USM L,500MM F4L
www.machtwomedia.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
basroil
Cream of the Crop
basroil's Avatar
Joined Mar 2006
8,015 posts
STL/Clayton, MO| NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

all canon cameras that support fat32 will let you use 12/16gb cards, but only 1dmkIII and 40d will format them. i used a 12gb in my xt (good for 1500 RAW files) and in my mkIII (good for max of 850)

Post #7, Sep 21, 2007 21:24:07


I don't hate macs or OSX, I hate people and statements that portray them as better than anything else. Macs are A solution, not THE solution. Get a good desktop i7 with Windows 7 and come tell me that sucks for photo or video editing.
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
ANGUS
Cream of the Crop
ANGUS's Avatar
Joined Apr 2007
6,897 posts
Sydney, Australia...
[MORE/SHARE]

I can use a 8gb Sandisk Extreme III in both my 400D and 40D with no issue. Only problem with it in the 40D is it only shows 3 digits in the top info screen so for your first few hundred shots it will say [999] which can get annoying however pressing INFO brings up the remaining number of shots on the LCD screen.

Post #8, Sep 21, 2007 22:36:06


Angus
| 1D MkIV | 1D MkIII | 5D MkII | 15FE | 16-35 f2.8 L | 24-70 f2.8 L | 70-200 f2.8 IS L II | 35 f1.4 L | 135 f2 L | 300 f2.8 IS L | 580 EX II | 580 EX II |

LOG IN TO REPLY
canonrap
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Jun 2007
95 posts
Wiltshire, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

canonrap wrote in post #3972586external link
Sorry if this is a silly question, but I had been led to believe that the Canon 400D could only take up to a 2GB MC. Is this true?

Also, is there a limit to what the 40D can take. There are some mammoth cards appearing on the market now:!:

Thank you all for your input. So the answer is no:!::!:

Post #9, Sep 23, 2007 12:19:09


Canon 40D Digital SLR / Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6 / Canon 60mm Macro USM / Canon 100-400mmf4-5.6 L IS USM / :D
Canon G7 Compact :) Also: Canon A1 Film SLR / Tokina 24mm f2.8 / Canon 50mm f1.8 / Canon 70-210 f4 / Sigma 600mm f8 Mirror.....Long Live The A1 ;)

LOG IN TO REPLY
murali
Hatchling
Joined Dec 2008
2 posts
[MORE/SHARE]
banned
SPAM PUT AWAY
This post is marked as spam.
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
Hermeto's Avatar
Joined Oct 2005
6,674 posts
Toronto, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]
banned

Nice to have everything in one place..
Thanks for sharing and welcome to POTN!

Post #11, Dec 06, 2008 09:00:43


What we see depends mainly on what we look for.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
condorman
Member
Joined Sep 2007
43 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I am using a 32 gig with my 50d. It has no problem formating it or using it all up. Holds 1500 raw images or 33,000 low res jpegs.

Post #12, Dec 08, 2008 15:21:02




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon ­ Foster
is it safe?
Jon Foster's Avatar
Joined Feb 2005
4,508 posts
White Lake, MI
[MORE/SHARE]

Nice list Murali, I'm getting ready to buy a 16 gig card for my 40D.

Jon.

Post #13, Feb 19, 2009 23:41:44


I shoot with a Little Canon

Check out my photos @ PBase.comexternal link & ModelMayhem.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
cskorik
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2008
842 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I wonder if that new 64gig card I just ordered will work in my 40D... it's for the 7D, but it'd be nice to know.

Post #14, Sep 01, 2010 15:25:01


My portfolioexternal link!

LOG IN TO REPLY
alpha_1976
Goldmember
alpha_1976's Avatar
Joined Nov 2009
3,927 posts
USA
[MORE/SHARE]

murali wrote in post #6824131external link
For your kind info:

Note: A SD card which follows the SD standard fully is max 2 GB.
  • Canon EOS 1000D: all SD and SDHC cards*
  • Canon EOS 300D: max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 350D: max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 400D: all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 450D: all SD and SDHC cards*
  • Canon EOS D30: max 2 GB CF
  • Canon EOS D60: max 2 GB CF
  • Canon EOS 10D: max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 20D: max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 30D: all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 40D: all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 50D: all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 5D (firmware older than 1.1.1): max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 5D (firmware 1.1.1 and later): all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 5D Mark II: all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 1D: max 2 GB CF (4 GB if preformatted as FAT16 with 64K clusters)
  • Canon EOS 1D Mark II (firmware older than 1.2.6): max 2 GB SD, max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 1D Mark II (firmware 1.2.6 and later): max 2 GB SD, all SDHC cards*, all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 1D Mark II N (firmware older than 1.1.2): max 2 GB SD, max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 1D Mark II N (firmware 1.1.2 and later): max 2 GB SD, all SDHC cards*, all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 1D Mark III: max 2 GB SD, all SDHC cards*, all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 1Ds: max 2 GB CF (max 8 GB if preformatted as FAT32)
  • Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II (firmware older than 1.1.6): max 2 GB SD, max 8 GB CF (larger than 8 GB if preformatted)
  • Canon EOS 1Ds Mark II (firmware 1.1.6 and later): max 2 GB SD, all SDHC cards*, all CF cards*
  • Canon EOS 1Ds Mark III: max 2 GB SD, all SDHC cards*, all CF cards*
* Including cards over 8 GB in size.

more at ... http://www.gronjord.co​m/daniel/faq/english.a​sp#A.1external link


I just put a 16GB card in 20D and it's working fine as a 16GB one.

Post #15, Sep 01, 2010 15:28:02


I know more about gear than I know about photography :p
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
29,613 views & 0 likes for this thread
Max Memory Card sizes for Canon 400D & 40D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00088 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
867 guests, 771 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is shwater

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.