Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 23rd of September 2007 (Sun)   #1
Domino

Default Costco printing 20'x30' and standard picture sizes question

I'm not a pro and don't print out much larger than 8'x10's usually... however a recent trip to Napa Valley we decided to put up large sized photos in our dining room of wine country.

Costco offers 16x20 or 20x30 for only $9.95 each... so I went for the bigger obviously. Then when we went to a few frame places we realized there aren't ANY out of the box frames that are 20x30. Is this an abnormal size? What are normal sizes then and how does it relate to cropping pictures from the XTI? Why would costco offer printing of such an abnormal size where everything would need to be custom framed?

I was originally going to print 16x20 but reazlied it would result in some rather large crops.

Thoughts comments appreciated.
Old 23rd of September 2007 (Sun)   #2
Steve Beck
Goldmember

Default Re: Costco printing 20'x30' and standard picture sizes question

20x30 is more of a mounted poster boards size print for making advterisiment signs and posters. The 16x20 is more natural 'photograph' size...
Old 23rd of September 2007 (Sun)   #3
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005

20X30 has been offered by color labs for as long as I can remember, going way back to film days. I have regularly printed 20X30 from most of my cameras and I sell alot of this size. In that context I would find that this size is a normal and it does use more the of image from my sensors than does a 16X20. In other words the 20X30 is the same aspect ratio as my cameras.

I'm not sure where you are shopping for your frames. I normally have them custom framed but in a couple of instances I have found on the shelf 20X30's at the framing area of Michael's craft stores.