Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 17th of October 2007 (Wed)   #1
AnthonyD

Default INK JET OR SUB DYE PRINTER

Hi First off if I am posting this in the wrong place please excuse me. My question is I am just getting into photgraphy . I have an EOS 30D . I am looking for a printer . I remember reading that sub dye printers are best is this true and does Canon have a printer that will result in prints that look like and last as long as those of a sub dye ? Thank you in advance Anthony
AnthonyD is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of October 2007 (Wed)   #2
R Hardman

Default Re: INK JET OR SUB DYE PRINTER

Dye sub seems to have limited amount of media you can run through a specific brand/model where ink jets have a wider selection of media. Dye used to be what you printed if you wanted archival prints lasting decades but ink technology really has closed the gap on this. Canon used to sell dye sub but I have not seen any advertisements in over a year. I'm sure there will be more posts on this subject from more experianced printers then me. Welcome to the forums and photography!

EOS 7D, EOS 350D, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 70-200mm f/4L USM, EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 USM (Kit)

Rick's Digital Desert
R Hardman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of October 2007 (Thu)   #3
MikeMcL

Look here http://www.imagingspectrum.com/home.php

These guys sell dye subs and all the supplies.

Dye subs can print VERY nice 4x6, 5x7 etc in like 8-10 seconds. Dye subs use print packs of specific paper and a ribbon at the same rate so buying and replacing the items can be predicted to a very close "price per" margin.