Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #1
mikaelrules
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

I haven't used my 40D for a week or two and now when I turn it on and try to do anything, the small LCD just says "buSY" on it. The camera Auto Focuses fine but I am unable to take any pictures or even review the pictures I have taken. Am I missing anything here? =/

I've tried removing the battery including the tiny back up one yet the problem still exists.

Last edited by mikaelrules : 30th of October 2007 (Tue) at 02:58.
mikaelrules is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #2
M24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 234
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Do you mean the LCD on the top of the body?

Have you removed all batteries, including the date battery? If not, please do that, cycle the power switch and shutter switch a few times and then let the camera sit for half an hour or so. After that, put the batteries back in and start over. If you still have the same problem, you need to get a replacement.

I'm curious what brought this issue on. Did you make any changes of lenses or other accessories? The reason I ask is that I'm on my second 40D, which started Err 99-ing and it is back for service now. I'm awaiting word on what the problem is. It would be really great if we could figure out if there is some combination of accessories that the 40Ds just don't like. I know that isn't a happy thought, but I am beginning to wonder.

Best,

Michael
__________________
40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...
M24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #3
mikaelrules
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Yup, I mean the LCD on top of the body. Right now the camera is sitting without any batteries and I'm going to try again later tonight to see how it goes.

I did not touch the camera from the time I last used it to the time this error started showing up. All I did was take out the CF card a few days ago to copy pictures. The lens on the camera is still the one I was using when the camera was working fine. (24-70L, if it matters).

I hope I don't have to send this back to Canon because I'm leaving for Tokyo tomorrow and might have to take the 350D instead.
mikaelrules is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #4
M24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 234
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Small world, I was in Tokyo with my 350D back in March/April of this year. If you are in Shinjuku, you've got to check out the Canon Digital Center there, it's caddy-corned across the street from the Hilton.

I have heard that some people have had to leave their cameras sit overnight with all batteries removed to clear them. Too bad you have to leave tomorrow. That is a really weird error. I take it that the error continues with a CF card in place. That's the only thing I can think of. Please keep us posted. I'm really wondering about the 40D, way too many issues around the world with this camera.

Even if your 40D isn't working, why not take it with you? If you are in Tokyo, Canon will work on your camera there while you wait. Their service was incredible when I was there. Don't worry if you don't speak Japanese, there will be someone there to help you.

Good luck,

Michael
__________________
40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...

Last edited by M24 : 30th of October 2007 (Tue) at 03:31. Reason: typos
M24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #5
LotsToLearn
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 2,290
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Try another card if you have one. Could be corrupt and the body could be stuck reading it.
LotsToLearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #6
twofruitz
Member
 
twofruitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 840
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

It will also do this if there is/was a problem with the USB connection?
__________________
Gear List
twofruitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #7
mikaelrules
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Well, I just put the batteries back in and still got the same result. Same goes for trying another CF card. I've never used the camera's USB connection, but I just tried plugging it in and... nothing happened. The computer did not detect anything and the camera remained in its "stuck" state. I guess my camera's off to canon when I get to Tokyo then.
mikaelrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of October 2007 (Tue)   #8
M24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 234
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Please let us know what happens when you return from tokyo.

Also, when I was at the Canon Digital Center in Shinjuku, they had just about every model laid out on a table for consumers to play with. Back then in March, I got to play with a 1D MK III and was blown away. Perhaps you will get to handle a 1Ds MK III?

I am looking forward to hearing more on your story.

Best,

Michael
__________________
40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...
M24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of October 2007 (Wed)   #9
mikaelrules
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Well, I just got back from the Canon service center here in Tokyo and they said it would take 10 days for them to get it fixed. Unfortunately, I'm not going to be here that long so I guess I'm just going to get the camera fixed when I return to the Philippines on Sunday.
mikaelrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st of October 2007 (Wed)   #10
M24
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 234
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Ten days!!! Wow!

Did they tell you what is wrong with it

I hope they gave you some info.

Also, did you get to play with anything new while there?

I'm jealous, if I could, I'd be on a plane to Tokyo today, I love it there!!!

Best,

Michael
__________________
40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...
M24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of December 2007 (Sat)   #11
Aliengreen
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Hi guys, I'm having the very same problem on my 40D, and I think its a CF card problem, although I use a fast Extreme III 2.0G Sandisk card. Maybe this happens when you delete your old data with a PC instead of the camera? Or maybe when you have all the sharpening functions turned on? But why the unusually long delay between shots when you have the highly-touted DIGIC III processor inside your camera? I'm with M24 on this, I wish Canon gave us some info....
Aliengreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of December 2007 (Sat)   #12
led hed
Senior Member
 
led hed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Apsley, On. CAN.
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

my 40D and 30D both still show 'busy' AFTER all pics are finished downloading to the pc, i just turn camera off and disconnect cord with no problems.

i saw a thread like this a week aog.
__________________
Rob - "a photographer is a painter, in a hurry!"
Canon 7D ~ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS MKII ~ Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS ~ Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon 430EX ~ Canon EF 2.0X III Telephoto Extender ~ Canon SX230 HS
led hed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of December 2007 (Sun)   #13
phocalphobe
Member
 
phocalphobe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: kapolei, hawaii
Posts: 903
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

are you able to get into the menu?

if so, maybe resetting all options to default might do the trick.

and, failing that how 'bout installing or re-installing (if possible) newest firmware?
__________________
i'm a canon gear junkie..........i..... need....help............in buying me more canon gear.

Gear List
phocalphobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of December 2007 (Sun)   #14
led hed
Senior Member
 
led hed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Apsley, On. CAN.
Posts: 1,929
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

Quote:
Originally Posted by phocalphobe View Post
are you able to get into the menu?

if so, maybe resetting all options to default might do the trick.

and, failing that how 'bout installing or re-installing (if possible) newest firmware?
me? i'm able to still access all functions, so i'm not concerned at this point.
__________________
Rob - "a photographer is a painter, in a hurry!"
Canon 7D ~ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS MKII ~ Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS ~ Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon 430EX ~ Canon EF 2.0X III Telephoto Extender ~ Canon SX230 HS
led hed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of December 2007 (Sun)   #15
Aliengreen
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

phocalphobe, were you asking me? I checked my firmware, its an older version (v1.3), but seems the new one posted by Canon is fraught with problems too (v1.5). I'll try resetting to defaults and see what happens. My problem started when I started shooting in low light and the batteries of the hotshoe flash gave out. Maybe it tripped something...

Last edited by Aliengreen : 23rd of December 2007 (Sun) at 05:05. Reason: additional info
Aliengreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alien Bees "Busy Bee" Package!!! StealthLude Small Flash and Studio Lighting 15 1st of April 2014 (Tue) 13:14
Camera saying "busy"---XTI users dianas Canon EOS Digital Cameras 18 14th of July 2007 (Sat) 17:14
"BUSY" message flashing on LCD when plugged in via USB verty Canon EOS Digital Cameras 13 7th of November 2006 (Tue) 03:03


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.