Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 30 Oct 2007 (Tuesday) 01:52
PREV/NEXT

Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"

 
mikaelrules
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Sep 2005
MORE INFO

I haven't used my 40D for a week or two and now when I turn it on and try to do anything, the small LCD just says "buSY" on it. The camera Auto Focuses fine but I am unable to take any pictures or even review the pictures I have taken. Am I missing anything here? =/

I've tried removing the battery including the tiny back up one yet the problem still exists.

Oct 30, 2007 01:52



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
M24
Member
234 posts
Joined Sep 2007

Southern California
MORE INFO

Do you mean the LCD on the top of the body?

Have you removed all batteries, including the date battery? If not, please do that, cycle the power switch and shutter switch a few times and then let the camera sit for half an hour or so. After that, put the batteries back in and start over. If you still have the same problem, you need to get a replacement.

I'm curious what brought this issue on. Did you make any changes of lenses or other accessories? The reason I ask is that I'm on my second 40D, which started Err 99-ing and it is back for service now. I'm awaiting word on what the problem is. It would be really great if we could figure out if there is some combination of accessories that the 40Ds just don't like. I know that isn't a happy thought, but I am beginning to wonder.

Best,

Michael

Oct 30, 2007 02:02

40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...

LOG IN TO REPLY
mikaelrules
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Sep 2005
MORE INFO

Yup, I mean the LCD on top of the body. Right now the camera is sitting without any batteries and I'm going to try again later tonight to see how it goes.

I did not touch the camera from the time I last used it to the time this error started showing up. All I did was take out the CF card a few days ago to copy pictures. The lens on the camera is still the one I was using when the camera was working fine. (24-70L, if it matters).

I hope I don't have to send this back to Canon because I'm leaving for Tokyo tomorrow and might have to take the 350D instead. :confused:

Oct 30, 2007 02:07 as a reply to M24's post 4 minutes earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
M24
Member
234 posts
Joined Sep 2007

Southern California
MORE INFO

Small world, I was in Tokyo with my 350D back in March/April of this year. If you are in Shinjuku, you've got to check out the Canon Digital Center there, it's caddy-corned across the street from the Hilton.

I have heard that some people have had to leave their cameras sit overnight with all batteries removed to clear them. Too bad you have to leave tomorrow. That is a really weird error. I take it that the error continues with a CF card in place. That's the only thing I can think of. Please keep us posted. I'm really wondering about the 40D, way too many issues around the world with this camera.

Even if your 40D isn't working, why not take it with you? If you are in Tokyo, Canon will work on your camera there while you wait. Their service was incredible when I was there. Don't worry if you don't speak Japanese, there will be someone there to help you.

Good luck,

Michael

Oct 30, 2007 02:29 as a reply to mikaelrules's post 22 minutes earlier.

40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...

LOG IN TO REPLY
LotsToLearn
Goldmember
2,290 posts
Joined Mar 2007

GTA, Canada
MORE INFO

Try another card if you have one. Could be corrupt and the body could be stuck reading it.

Oct 30, 2007 06:57



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
twofruitz
Senior Member
twofruitz's Avatar
840 posts

Joined Oct 2007

AUSTRALIA
MORE INFO

It will also do this if there is/was a problem with the USB connection?

Oct 30, 2007 07:14

Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
mikaelrules
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Sep 2005
MORE INFO

Well, I just put the batteries back in and still got the same result. Same goes for trying another CF card. I've never used the camera's USB connection, but I just tried plugging it in and... nothing happened. The computer did not detect anything and the camera remained in its "stuck" state. I guess my camera's off to canon when I get to Tokyo then.

Oct 30, 2007 09:51



LOG IN TO REPLY
M24
Member
234 posts
Joined Sep 2007

Southern California
MORE INFO

Please let us know what happens when you return from tokyo.

Also, when I was at the Canon Digital Center in Shinjuku, they had just about every model laid out on a table for consumers to play with. Back then in March, I got to play with a 1D MK III and was blown away. Perhaps you will get to handle a 1Ds MK III?

I am looking forward to hearing more on your story.

Best,

Michael

Oct 30, 2007 14:50 as a reply to mikaelrules's post 4 hours earlier.

40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...

LOG IN TO REPLY
mikaelrules
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
5 posts
Joined Sep 2005
MORE INFO

Well, I just got back from the Canon service center here in Tokyo and they said it would take 10 days for them to get it fixed. Unfortunately, I'm not going to be here that long so I guess I'm just going to get the camera fixed when I return to the Philippines on Sunday. :(

Oct 31, 2007 07:11 as a reply to M24's post 16 hours earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
M24
Member
234 posts
Joined Sep 2007

Southern California
MORE INFO

Ten days!!! Wow!

Did they tell you what is wrong with it  ???

I hope they gave you some info.

Also, did you get to play with anything new while there?

I'm jealous, if I could, I'd be on a plane to Tokyo today, I love it there!!!

Best,

Michael

Oct 31, 2007 13:35 as a reply to mikaelrules's post 6 hours earlier.

40D kit is sold | G10 Love it!!! | 350D w/BG-E3 | EF-S 10-22 | 70-200 2.8L | Canon 1.4x II | Tammy 28-300 VC | B+W filters | Novoflex Magicball | 50D and 5D MKII on the way...

LOG IN TO REPLY
Aliengreen
Member
31 posts
Joined Nov 2007
MORE INFO

Hi guys, I'm having the very same problem on my 40D, and I think its a CF card problem, although I use a fast Extreme III 2.0G Sandisk card. Maybe this happens when you delete your old data with a PC instead of the camera? Or maybe when you have all the sharpening functions turned on? But why the unusually long delay between shots when you have the highly-touted DIGIC III processor inside your camera? I'm with M24 on this, I wish Canon gave us some info....

Dec 22, 2007 22:28



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
led ­ hed
Goldmember
led hed's Avatar
1,929 posts

Joined Aug 2005

Apsley, On. CAN.
MORE INFO

my 40D and 30D both still show 'busy' AFTER all pics are finished downloading to the pc, i just turn camera off and disconnect cord with no problems.

i saw a thread like this a week aog.

Dec 22, 2007 22:57

Rob - "a photographer is a painter, in a hurry!"
Canon 7D ~ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS MKII ~ Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS ~ Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon 430EX ~ Canon EF 2.0X III Telephoto Extender ~ Canon SX230 HS

LOG IN TO REPLY
phocalphobe
Senior Member
phocalphobe's Avatar
903 posts

Joined Apr 2005

kapolei, hawaii
MORE INFO

are you able to get into the menu?

if so, maybe resetting all options to default might do the trick.

and, failing that how 'bout installing or re-installing (if possible) newest firmware?

Dec 22, 2007 23:31 as a reply to led hed's post 34 minutes earlier.

i'm a canon gear junkie..........i..... need....help..........​..in buying me more canon gear.:p

Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
led ­ hed
Goldmember
led hed's Avatar
1,929 posts

Joined Aug 2005

Apsley, On. CAN.
MORE INFO

phocalphobe wrote in post #4555280external link
are you able to get into the menu?

if so, maybe resetting all options to default might do the trick.

and, failing that how 'bout installing or re-installing (if possible) newest firmware?

me? i'm able to still access all functions, so i'm not concerned at this point.

Dec 22, 2007 23:52

Rob - "a photographer is a painter, in a hurry!"
Canon 7D ~ Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS MKII ~ Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS ~ Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II ~ Canon 430EX ~ Canon EF 2.0X III Telephoto Extender ~ Canon SX230 HS

LOG IN TO REPLY
Aliengreen
Member
31 posts
Joined Nov 2007
MORE INFO

phocalphobe, were you asking me? I checked my firmware, its an older version (v1.3), but seems the new one posted by Canon is fraught with problems too (v1.5). I'll try resetting to defaults and see what happens. My problem started when I started shooting in low light and the batteries of the hotshoe flash gave out. Maybe it tripped something...

Dec 23, 2007 04:02



LOG IN TO REPLY

16,801 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 40D stuck at "buSY"
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00476 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Dankerz
669 guests, 738 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014