Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th of November 2007 (Sat)   #1
bphillips330
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ohio
Posts: 622
Default How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

I am trying to figure out if there is a way to "profile" my monitor to get it as accurate as possible without one of those tools. It is not in my budget right now to purchase the device that you put on the monitor to calibrate it. I have done some editing and when i send it to costco it is hit and miss what I wanted.

I know that could be as costco is not a Pro Lab but i have had very good luck with snapshots. There are some pictures i would like to blow up, and if I am going to spend that money, i want it to be as close as possible.

How do some of the Pro labs (mpix, or whatever you recommend) do on color correcting.

last question. Which calibration device is the most recommended for the least amount of money. I know that is hard to do. But on a budget, what do people recommend.

Thanks
__________________
Body : 50D and 400/xti + grip
Lenses: 50mm 1.8 II / Tamron 17-50 f 2.8 / kit len /
70-200 f2.8L IS!!!! / Canon 1.4 TC II / Sigma 70-300mm dl Macro super
Flash: 580 exII
A whole bunch of other goodies.
bphillips330 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of November 2007 (Sat)   #2
Doogiekr
Member
 
Doogiekr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Spain, for the moment.
Posts: 298
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

I am by no means an expert, but I like my Huey Pro. It really helped me to get my colors to match from screen to printer, and its only $110 or so from B and H. Im still fighting some with black and white tones, but for colors it was a drastic help.

As far as calibrating without it, I am not sure. I found mine was pretty far off before I got the Huey, so obviously I did not do a good job without it.
Doogiekr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of November 2007 (Sat)   #3
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 5,545
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

It depends on what type of monitor you have. If you have a CRT then you can use Adobe Gamma to do some very basic calibration. But since CRT are no longer being manufactured Adobe has stopped including Gamma in its most recent software packages so you'd need to get it from some other source.

If you have a LCD/TFT (flat panel) monitor then you need a calibration device since most TFT monitors only allow you to adjust brightness. Adobe Gamma does not work with LCD/TFT monitors.
PixelMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of November 2007 (Sat)   #4
bphillips330
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ohio
Posts: 622
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FedkaTheConvict View Post
It depends on what type of monitor you have. If you have a CRT then you can use Adobe Gamma to do some very basic calibration. But since CRT are no longer being manufactured Adobe has stopped including Gamma in its most recent software packages so you'd need to get it from some other source.

If you have a LCD/TFT (flat panel) monitor then you need a calibration device since most TFT monitors only allow you to adjust brightness. Adobe Gamma does not work with LCD/TFT monitors.
I have a 20" crt display. Does the calibration device save some sort of profile that will load each time the computer loads up?
__________________
Body : 50D and 400/xti + grip
Lenses: 50mm 1.8 II / Tamron 17-50 f 2.8 / kit len /
70-200 f2.8L IS!!!! / Canon 1.4 TC II / Sigma 70-300mm dl Macro super
Flash: 580 exII
A whole bunch of other goodies.
bphillips330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of November 2007 (Sat)   #5
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 5,545
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

Yes, the device will save a profile that is loaded by the operating system each time it boots up.

Now depending on the age of your monitor a calibration device might not work. Most CRT monitors have a useful life of 4-5 years and if its older it might be too out of spec to be corrected by calibration.
PixelMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of November 2007 (Sat)   #6
bphillips330
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ohio
Posts: 622
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

So if my monitor is 5 years old or so, is it not worth me trying to calibrate it. I guess it might help alittle to try and get as close as possible.
__________________
Body : 50D and 400/xti + grip
Lenses: 50mm 1.8 II / Tamron 17-50 f 2.8 / kit len /
70-200 f2.8L IS!!!! / Canon 1.4 TC II / Sigma 70-300mm dl Macro super
Flash: 580 exII
A whole bunch of other goodies.
bphillips330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of November 2007 (Sun)   #7
snowyowl13
Goldmember
 
snowyowl13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
Posts: 2,775
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FedkaTheConvict View Post
It depends on what type of monitor you have. If you have a CRT then you can use Adobe Gamma to do some very basic calibration. But since CRT are no longer being manufactured Adobe has stopped including Gamma in its most recent software packages so you'd need to get it from some other source.

If you have a LCD/TFT (flat panel) monitor then you need a calibration device since most TFT monitors only allow you to adjust brightness. Adobe Gamma does not work with LCD/TFT monitors.
I wasn't aware of this. I suppose then that I should uninstall Adobe Gamma and just use Naturalcolour (Samsung's program supplied with the monitor) to calibrate my monitor. i can't really afford Spyder right now.
__________________
Dan
Canon 7D, Canon 50D, Canon 20D:18-55mm EF-S, 75-300mm EF, Sigma F4-5.6 DG Macro 70-300mm APO, Canon 100-400 mm F4.5-F5.6 L IS USM
http://snowyowl.smugmug.com/Nature
snowyowl13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of November 2007 (Sun)   #8
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
 
Lowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
Posts: 12,834
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

Most calibration devices sit neglected for long periods (in my case it's 3 weeks between calibrations). Why not ask around locally? Someone must have one you can borrow!

Thats probably one useful reason for joining a local photo group.

While the manufacturer would probably tell you that its not allowed according to the licence, they are never going to a) find out OR b) bother to do anything about it if they do.

Richard
Lowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of November 2007 (Sun)   #9
snowyowl13
Goldmember
 
snowyowl13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
Posts: 2,775
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

Good thought. Well worth follow-up.
__________________
Dan
Canon 7D, Canon 50D, Canon 20D:18-55mm EF-S, 75-300mm EF, Sigma F4-5.6 DG Macro 70-300mm APO, Canon 100-400 mm F4.5-F5.6 L IS USM
http://snowyowl.smugmug.com/Nature
snowyowl13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of November 2007 (Sun)   #10
sandro9mm
Senior Member
 
sandro9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Italy, Milan
Posts: 1,718
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

hi sorry for the off-topic, do laptop computers need calibration?
__________________
Photography Tips - Learn photography now!
Famous photographers - Video Interviews, photos, biography
My gear
sandro9mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of November 2007 (Sun)   #11
sandro9mm
Senior Member
 
sandro9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Italy, Milan
Posts: 1,718
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

OP check this website: http://www.normankoren.com/makingfin...html#TestPrint

this is technique of calibrating without tools looks pretty good
__________________
Photography Tips - Learn photography now!
Famous photographers - Video Interviews, photos, biography
My gear
sandro9mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of November 2007 (Sun)   #12
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,967
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

To the OP,

I can feel for you! Before I got a "device" I went through this, because I was just setting up my new laptop and at the time was trying to do things on-the-fly.

Fortunately, I had both a good photo printer and a nearby store (Walgreens) that has a good printer, the Fuji Frontier, so: I made two or three rounds of: print a set of photos on my printer and print the same set at Walgreens, plus put them out on the Web, then make adjustments to my monitor, repeat the process...

Of course, the time and printing costs add up to asking yourself "why didn't I just get the dang calibration set?" but when you're just getting started you do what you must!

I printed pics out on my own printer as well as Walgreens 'cause I wanted to make sure that I was getting the same results from each as well as "good enough" on the Web.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of November 2007 (Mon)   #13
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,854
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandro9mm View Post
hi sorry for the off-topic, do laptop computers need calibration?
Yes, off course.
Even calibrated, laptop screens will be marginal mostly.
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of November 2007 (Mon)   #14
snowyowl13
Goldmember
 
snowyowl13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada
Posts: 2,775
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowyowl13 View Post
I wasn't aware of this. I suppose then that I should uninstall Adobe Gamma and just use Naturalcolour (Samsung's program supplied with the monitor) to calibrate my monitor. i can't really afford Spyder right now.
Nobody answered this. Should I uninstall Adobe Gamma or does it matter?
__________________
Dan
Canon 7D, Canon 50D, Canon 20D:18-55mm EF-S, 75-300mm EF, Sigma F4-5.6 DG Macro 70-300mm APO, Canon 100-400 mm F4.5-F5.6 L IS USM
http://snowyowl.smugmug.com/Nature
snowyowl13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of November 2007 (Mon)   #15
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 5,545
Default Re: How do I calibrate monitor without a calibration tool?

At mininum you should remove it from your Startup folder so it doesn't lauch by default at every reboot.


Quote:
Originally Posted by snowyowl13 View Post
Nobody answered this. Should I uninstall Adobe Gamma or does it matter?
PixelMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I calibrate my monitor? Please help! scrapbookworker RAW, Post Processing and Printing 8 13th of October 2007 (Sat) 21:08
Monitor calibration, calibration profiles and off site printing danpass RAW, Post Processing and Printing 7 6th of August 2007 (Mon) 07:24
Trying to calibrate my monitor. Need Help! BrianAZ RAW, Post Processing and Printing 6 19th of May 2007 (Sat) 12:18
How to- Calibrate Monitor ? Ricko of Fla RAW, Post Processing and Printing 5 3rd of December 2005 (Sat) 15:08
how do i calibrate my monitor? Conor Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 15th of October 2003 (Wed) 08:20


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.