Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 1st of August 2002 (Thu)   #1
tompegbel

Default how to resize photos

This may been covered but I can't find any info, appreciate any guidance you could offer. I'm new to digital photography. I'm using the Canon S30 and downloading photos to my PC with Zoombrowser EX. Typically I've been shooting at L resolution and Normal compression so the files are large. However when I want to send them by e-mail most of the recipients would prefer a smaller attachment. How do I resize the file for a smaller photo after it's in JPEG?
tompegbel is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 1st of August 2002 (Thu)   #2
slejhamer

Default Re: how to resize photos

What photo editing software do you have? (Zoombrowser can edit, but you don't really want to use it for that)

If you don't have any editing software, try the free Irfanview viewer at www.irfanview.com. It is a small program with tremendous functionality. Install it, open your image with the viewer, and select Image - Resize/Resample. Try 640x480 at 72 dpi for the settings - this should be easy to email and resolution will be decent on a monitor. You can go smaller if necessary.

Good luck,
Old 1st of August 2002 (Thu)   #3
Mike K

Zoombrowser actually has a fairly easy to use dialoge for downsizing and compressing images for email. after selecting an image either right click then select "Send Images by Email" or find the same command under the top tool bar "Internet". After selecting the size and compression rate, it shows you a preview to assess the result and calculates the final file size. Shoot for a files size of something on the order of 100kb or so, more image detail (like leaves) results in larger JPEG files.