Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
Thread started 22 Nov 2007 (Thursday) 12:27
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Aftermarket flashes for S5is

 
jack55
Member
61 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
     
Nov 22, 2007 12:27 |  #1

I don't feel like paying Canons high prices for their flashes for my S5is.
Won't some aftermarket flashes work with my Canon?
$50 is a LOT better than paying $200+ :rolleyes:


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.html (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Nov 22, 2007 15:03 |  #2

Most non-dedicated hot shoe flashes will work with the S5, as long as you're willing to forego most automation, including all flash-camera interaction. I doubt you'll do much better than $100 for a dedicated non-Canon flash though, and you may find unexpected "gotchas" with the lower-priced ones of those.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
I_Pereira
Member
32 posts
Likes: 22
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
     
Nov 22, 2007 18:48 as a reply to  @ Jon's post |  #3

Be carefull with trigger voltages when looking for a flash, you may find this usefull

http://www.botzilla.co​m/photo/strobeVolts.ht​ml (external link)

I have an old Suntax 115M flash, I used it a couple times in my S5 but luckily I came across with this subject and stoped using before it made any damage. When I mailed the manufacturer it confirmed the trigger voltage was way beyond acceptable for this cam. Now I only use it as an external flash, using the trigger button on the flash itself (dark room, 1" exposure, and manual triggering from the angle I want:cool:)


Ivo Pereira
http://fibus12.blogspo​t.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
61 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
     
Nov 22, 2007 22:29 |  #4

I_Pereira wrote in post #4367255 (external link)
Be carefull with trigger voltages when looking for a flash, you may find this usefull

http://www.botzilla.co​m/photo/strobeVolts.ht​ml (external link)

I have an old Suntax 115M flash, I used it a couple times in my S5 but luckily I came across with this subject and stoped using before it made any damage. When I mailed the manufacturer it confirmed the trigger voltage was way beyond acceptable for this cam. Now I only use it as an external flash, using the trigger button on the flash itself (dark room, 1" exposure, and manual triggering from the angle I want:cool:)

Good info, thanks. I think I'll go the slave route until I can afford the expensive canan flashes...


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.html (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
61 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
     
Nov 30, 2007 21:16 |  #5

Jon wrote in post #4366397 (external link)
Most non-dedicated hot shoe flashes will work with the S5, as long as you're willing to forego most automation, including all flash-camera interaction. I doubt you'll do much better than $100 for a dedicated non-Canon flash though, and you may find unexpected "gotchas" with the lower-priced ones of those.

Some of these will work and they are all under $100
http://www.ritzcamera.​com …4966687+4294967​037+4&Ne=3 (external link)

And this one is only $50:
Quantaray QB-6550D Bounce Flash for Digital AF or Manual
http://www.ritzcamera.​com/product/531660967.​htm (external link)


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.html (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Nov 30, 2007 22:34 |  #6

jack55 wrote in post #4416779 (external link)
Some of these will work and they are all under $100
http://www.ritzcamera.​com …4966687+4294967​037+4&Ne=3 (external link)

And this one is only $50:
Quantaray QB-6550D Bounce Flash for Digital AF or Manual
http://www.ritzcamera.​com/product/531660967.​htm (external link)

Quantaray, however, has something less than a stellar reputation for quality. Caveat Emptor.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
61 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
     
Nov 30, 2007 22:41 |  #7

Jon wrote in post #4417196 (external link)
Quantaray, however, has something less than a stellar reputation for quality. Caveat Emptor.

Isn't Quantaray owned by Sunpac?
Just curious...


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.html (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Nov 30, 2007 22:54 |  #8

Quantaray's Ritz Camera's house brand. The Quantaray label is slapped on items made to Ritz' specifications, possibly by Sunpak, Sigma, Tiffen, Tokina, . . . depending on who had capacity, capability and the low bid. Filters, for instance, are generally believed to be Tiffen-produced, as Canon filters are.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
61 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
     
Nov 30, 2007 23:12 |  #9

Jon wrote in post #4417325 (external link)
Quantaray's Ritz Camera's house brand. The Quantaray label is slapped on items made to Ritz' specifications, possibly by Sunpak, Sigma, Tiffen, Tokina, . . . depending on who had capacity, capability and the low bid. Filters, for instance, are generally believed to be Tiffen-produced, as Canon filters are.

Okay... thanks for the info.


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.html (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
odin7
Member
60 posts
Joined Mar 2008
     
Mar 27, 2008 10:36 |  #10

I have an S5IS and an old 188A Speedlite. The 188A has a proper voltage as shown in the post mentioned above. The Speedlite is triggered by the S5IS, but I suspect it's a full power uncontrolled flash. What do I need to do to make some use of this Speedlite with S5IS? I'm not ready to make any more $$$ Canon investments yet. Thanks




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
69,628 posts
Likes: 218
Joined Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
     
Mar 27, 2008 10:53 |  #11

Set the flash to Aper, set the ISO on the flash, then choose either the red or green zone. Set the camera to that aperture and a shutter speed within the X-sync range. That should give you a form of auto-flash. See, if you have it still, pp. 26-27 of the 188A manual.


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,203 posts
Gallery: 14 photos
Best ofs: 1
Likes: 226
Joined Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
     
Mar 28, 2008 08:56 |  #12

You could use an older 430ez or 540ez, but only in manual. These 2 units can be found on ebay much cheaper than the newer ex units.

These flashes have variable manual output so you just set your aperture, and then vary the flash power ( 1/8, 1/4, 1/2, etc) until you get the results you want. This is OK for static or controlled subjects, but will be challenging when conditions are constantly changing. Bouncing the flash off the ceiling will give great looking results and make for a more constant exposure.

A bonus is that the flash head will zoom to match your lens, and the flash coupling distance will be displayed as well. (not sure if this will work on an S5)

I used my 430ez this way with both my 10D and 40D before I got my 580ex II.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 80D / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm USM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / 5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,079 views & 0 likes for this thread
Aftermarket flashes for S5is
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is insurfr
674 guests, 341 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.