Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd of November 2007 (Thu)   #1
jack55
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 61
Default Aftermarket flashes for S5is

I don't feel like paying Canons high prices for their flashes for my S5is.
Won't some aftermarket flashes work with my Canon?
$50 is a LOT better than paying $200+
__________________
Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_...anon_s5is.html
jack55 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 22nd of November 2007 (Thu)   #2
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,707
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Most non-dedicated hot shoe flashes will work with the S5, as long as you're willing to forego most automation, including all flash-camera interaction. I doubt you'll do much better than $100 for a dedicated non-Canon flash though, and you may find unexpected "gotchas" with the lower-priced ones of those.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of November 2007 (Thu)   #3
I_Pereira
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Aveiro, Portugal
Posts: 27
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Be carefull with trigger voltages when looking for a flash, you may find this usefull

http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

I have an old Suntax 115M flash, I used it a couple times in my S5 but luckily I came across with this subject and stoped using before it made any damage. When I mailed the manufacturer it confirmed the trigger voltage was way beyond acceptable for this cam. Now I only use it as an external flash, using the trigger button on the flash itself (dark room, 1" exposure, and manual triggering from the angle I want)
I_Pereira is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 22nd of November 2007 (Thu)   #4
jack55
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 61
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Quote:
Originally Posted by I_Pereira View Post
Be carefull with trigger voltages when looking for a flash, you may find this usefull

http://www.botzilla.com/photo/strobeVolts.html

I have an old Suntax 115M flash, I used it a couple times in my S5 but luckily I came across with this subject and stoped using before it made any damage. When I mailed the manufacturer it confirmed the trigger voltage was way beyond acceptable for this cam. Now I only use it as an external flash, using the trigger button on the flash itself (dark room, 1" exposure, and manual triggering from the angle I want)
Good info, thanks. I think I'll go the slave route until I can afford the expensive canan flashes...
__________________
Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_...anon_s5is.html
jack55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2007 (Fri)   #5
jack55
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 61
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon View Post
Most non-dedicated hot shoe flashes will work with the S5, as long as you're willing to forego most automation, including all flash-camera interaction. I doubt you'll do much better than $100 for a dedicated non-Canon flash though, and you may find unexpected "gotchas" with the lower-priced ones of those.
Some of these will work and they are all under $100
http://www.ritzcamera.com/webapp/wcs...4967037+4&Ne=3

And this one is only $50:
Quantaray QB-6550D Bounce Flash for Digital AF or Manual
http://www.ritzcamera.com/product/531660967.htm
__________________
Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_...anon_s5is.html

Last edited by jack55 : 30th of November 2007 (Fri) at 21:41.
jack55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2007 (Fri)   #6
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,707
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Quote:
Originally Posted by jack55 View Post
Some of these will work and they are all under $100
http://www.ritzcamera.com/webapp/wcs...4967037+4&Ne=3

And this one is only $50:
Quantaray QB-6550D Bounce Flash for Digital AF or Manual
http://www.ritzcamera.com/product/531660967.htm
Quantaray, however, has something less than a stellar reputation for quality. Caveat Emptor.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2007 (Fri)   #7
jack55
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 61
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon View Post
Quantaray, however, has something less than a stellar reputation for quality. Caveat Emptor.
Isn't Quantaray owned by Sunpac?
Just curious...
__________________
Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_...anon_s5is.html
jack55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2007 (Fri)   #8
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,707
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Quantaray's Ritz Camera's house brand. The Quantaray label is slapped on items made to Ritz' specifications, possibly by Sunpak, Sigma, Tiffen, Tokina, . . . depending on who had capacity, capability and the low bid. Filters, for instance, are generally believed to be Tiffen-produced, as Canon filters are.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th of November 2007 (Fri)   #9
jack55
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 61
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon View Post
Quantaray's Ritz Camera's house brand. The Quantaray label is slapped on items made to Ritz' specifications, possibly by Sunpak, Sigma, Tiffen, Tokina, . . . depending on who had capacity, capability and the low bid. Filters, for instance, are generally believed to be Tiffen-produced, as Canon filters are.
Okay... thanks for the info.
__________________
Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_...anon_s5is.html
jack55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of March 2008 (Thu)   #10
odin7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 60
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

I have an S5IS and an old 188A Speedlite. The 188A has a proper voltage as shown in the post mentioned above. The Speedlite is triggered by the S5IS, but I suspect it's a full power uncontrolled flash. What do I need to do to make some use of this Speedlite with S5IS? I'm not ready to make any more $$$ Canon investments yet. Thanks
odin7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of March 2008 (Thu)   #11
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,707
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

Set the flash to Aper, set the ISO on the flash, then choose either the red or green zone. Set the camera to that aperture and a shutter speed within the X-sync range. That should give you a form of auto-flash. See, if you have it still, pp. 26-27 of the 188A manual.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of March 2008 (Fri)   #12
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
 
msowsun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oakville Ont. Canada
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: Aftermarket flashes for S5is

You could use an older 430ez or 540ez, but only in manual. These 2 units can be found on ebay much cheaper than the newer ex units.

These flashes have variable manual output so you just set your aperture, and then vary the flash power ( 1/8, 1/4, 1/2, etc) until you get the results you want. This is OK for static or controlled subjects, but will be challenging when conditions are constantly changing. Bouncing the flash off the ceiling will give great looking results and make for a more constant exposure.

A bonus is that the flash head will zoom to match your lens, and the flash coupling distance will be displayed as well. (not sure if this will work on an S5)

I used my 430ez this way with both my 10D and 40D before I got my 580ex II.
__________________
Mike Sowsun / S110 / G1x / SL1 / 5D Mk III / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM
___________/ EF 100mm 2.8 Macro USM / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF Extender 1.4x II /
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream

Last edited by msowsun : 28th of March 2008 (Fri) at 09:13.
msowsun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
s5is dabler Canon G-series Digital Cameras 0 10th of September 2007 (Mon) 13:51
The new S5IS..... Lunajen Small Compact Digitals by Canon 22 17th of July 2007 (Tue) 13:29
G7 vs s5is DR2COOL Small Compact Digitals by Canon 8 5th of July 2007 (Thu) 15:36
G7 vs S5IS Samm Canon G-series Digital Cameras 20 20th of June 2007 (Wed) 23:30
s5is kslm General Photography Talk 3 26th of May 2007 (Sat) 16:17


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.