LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Aftermarket flashes for S5is

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 22 Nov 2007 (Thursday) 12:27   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
jack55
Member
Joined Nov 2007
61 posts
Tacoma, WA
[MORE/SHARE]

I don't feel like paying Canons high prices for their flashes for my S5is.
Won't some aftermarket flashes work with my Canon?
$50 is a LOT better than paying $200+ :rolleyes:

Post #1, Nov 22, 2007 12:27:38


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.htmlexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,170 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Most non-dedicated hot shoe flashes will work with the S5, as long as you're willing to forego most automation, including all flash-camera interaction. I doubt you'll do much better than $100 for a dedicated non-Canon flash though, and you may find unexpected "gotchas" with the lower-priced ones of those.

Post #2, Nov 22, 2007 15:03:07


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
I_Pereira
Junior Member
Joined Nov 2007
27 posts
Aveiro, Portugal
[MORE/SHARE]

Be carefull with trigger voltages when looking for a flash, you may find this usefull

http://www.botzilla.co​m/photo/strobeVolts.ht​mlexternal link

I have an old Suntax 115M flash, I used it a couple times in my S5 but luckily I came across with this subject and stoped using before it made any damage. When I mailed the manufacturer it confirmed the trigger voltage was way beyond acceptable for this cam. Now I only use it as an external flash, using the trigger button on the flash itself (dark room, 1" exposure, and manual triggering from the angle I want:cool:)

Post #3, Nov 22, 2007 18:48:07 as a reply to Jon's post 3 hours earlier.


Ivo Pereira
http://fibus12.blogspo​t.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Nov 2007
61 posts
Tacoma, WA
[MORE/SHARE]

I_Pereira wrote in post #4367255external link
Be carefull with trigger voltages when looking for a flash, you may find this usefull

http://www.botzilla.co​m/photo/strobeVolts.ht​mlexternal link

I have an old Suntax 115M flash, I used it a couple times in my S5 but luckily I came across with this subject and stoped using before it made any damage. When I mailed the manufacturer it confirmed the trigger voltage was way beyond acceptable for this cam. Now I only use it as an external flash, using the trigger button on the flash itself (dark room, 1" exposure, and manual triggering from the angle I want:cool:)

Good info, thanks. I think I'll go the slave route until I can afford the expensive canan flashes...

Post #4, Nov 22, 2007 22:29:02


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.htmlexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Nov 2007
61 posts
Tacoma, WA
[MORE/SHARE]

Jon wrote in post #4366397external link
Most non-dedicated hot shoe flashes will work with the S5, as long as you're willing to forego most automation, including all flash-camera interaction. I doubt you'll do much better than $100 for a dedicated non-Canon flash though, and you may find unexpected "gotchas" with the lower-priced ones of those.

Some of these will work and they are all under $100
http://www.ritzcamera.​com ...4966687+4294967037+​4&Ne=3external link

And this one is only $50:
Quantaray QB-6550D Bounce Flash for Digital AF or Manual
http://www.ritzcamera.​com/product/531660967.​htmexternal link

Post #5, Nov 30, 2007 21:16:43


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.htmlexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,170 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

jack55 wrote in post #4416779external link
Some of these will work and they are all under $100
http://www.ritzcamera.​com ...4966687+4294967037+​4&Ne=3external link

And this one is only $50:
Quantaray QB-6550D Bounce Flash for Digital AF or Manual
http://www.ritzcamera.​com/product/531660967.​htmexternal link

Quantaray, however, has something less than a stellar reputation for quality. Caveat Emptor.

Post #6, Nov 30, 2007 22:34:37


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Nov 2007
61 posts
Tacoma, WA
[MORE/SHARE]

Jon wrote in post #4417196external link
Quantaray, however, has something less than a stellar reputation for quality. Caveat Emptor.

Isn't Quantaray owned by Sunpac?
Just curious...

Post #7, Nov 30, 2007 22:41:38


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.htmlexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,170 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Quantaray's Ritz Camera's house brand. The Quantaray label is slapped on items made to Ritz' specifications, possibly by Sunpak, Sigma, Tiffen, Tokina, . . . depending on who had capacity, capability and the low bid. Filters, for instance, are generally believed to be Tiffen-produced, as Canon filters are.

Post #8, Nov 30, 2007 22:54:33


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
jack55
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Nov 2007
61 posts
Tacoma, WA
[MORE/SHARE]

Jon wrote in post #4417325external link
Quantaray's Ritz Camera's house brand. The Quantaray label is slapped on items made to Ritz' specifications, possibly by Sunpak, Sigma, Tiffen, Tokina, . . . depending on who had capacity, capability and the low bid. Filters, for instance, are generally believed to be Tiffen-produced, as Canon filters are.

Okay... thanks for the info.

Post #9, Nov 30, 2007 23:12:16


Canon PowerShot S5is
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_revi​ews/canon_s5is.htmlexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
odin7
Member
Joined Mar 2008
60 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have an S5IS and an old 188A Speedlite. The 188A has a proper voltage as shown in the post mentioned above. The Speedlite is triggered by the S5IS, but I suspect it's a full power uncontrolled flash. What do I need to do to make some use of this Speedlite with S5IS? I'm not ready to make any more $$$ Canon investments yet. Thanks

Post #10, Mar 27, 2008 10:36:39




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,170 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Set the flash to Aper, set the ISO on the flash, then choose either the red or green zone. Set the camera to that aperture and a shutter speed within the X-sync range. That should give you a form of auto-flash. See, if you have it still, pp. 26-27 of the 188A manual.

Post #11, Mar 27, 2008 10:53:15


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
msowsun's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
8,423 posts
Oakville Ont. Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

You could use an older 430ez or 540ez, but only in manual. These 2 units can be found on ebay much cheaper than the newer ex units.

These flashes have variable manual output so you just set your aperture, and then vary the flash power ( 1/8, 1/4, 1/2, etc) until you get the results you want. This is OK for static or controlled subjects, but will be challenging when conditions are constantly changing. Bouncing the flash off the ceiling will give great looking results and make for a more constant exposure.

A bonus is that the flash head will zoom to match your lens, and the flash coupling distance will be displayed as well. (not sure if this will work on an S5)

I used my 430ez this way with both my 10D and 40D before I got my 580ex II.

Post #12, Mar 28, 2008 08:56:03


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / 5D Mk III / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM / EF 100mm 2.8 Macro USM / EF 24-105mm IS / EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF Extender 1.4x II /
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostreamexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
3,118 views & 0 likes for this thread
Aftermarket flashes for S5is
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00158 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
953 guests, 760 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Beatle807

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.