Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 24 Nov 2007 (Saturday) 15:10
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

camera keeps saying BUSY

 
polkadot87
Mostly Lurking
polkadot87's Avatar
11 posts

Joined Nov 2007

south florida
MORE INFO

I'm not sure which category this problem falls under so I'll just explain it here.
I use the Canon xti 400D with a Tamron 17-50 lens and whenever I use it indoors, which I usually do, I always have the problem of it not taking pictures continuously. I take one picture with it, using the flash, and then once I press the shutter button again, it won't take the picture and will say BUSY on the screen. After about 10 seconds it will take another one. This is extremely annoying and happens each time. What is wrong?

I was thinking maybe its loading the flash and that's why it takes so long to take another picture? Does this mean I should get an external flash? Also I should note that if I take one picture then change the settings right after that, I can take another picture right away.

Any help or suggestions would be really appreciated thank you so much! If I didn't explain something clear enough or if you need more info please let me know.

Nov 24, 2007 15:10

my general photography...
www.violettte.devianta​rt.comexternal link
my hamster photography...
http://polkadots87.liv​ejournal.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
S.Horton
wait/error: If you smell something three times, then it is you.
S.Horton's Avatar
17,898 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Lehigh Valley, PA
MORE INFO

Is your CF card slow (old), damaged or very nearly full?

Nov 24, 2007 15:12

Sam - TF Says Ishmael
http://midnightblue.sm​ugmug.comexternal link 
Want your title changed?Dream On!external link

:cool:

LOG IN TO REPLY
gofer
Goldmember
1,548 posts
Joined Oct 2007

UK
MORE INFO

Yup, it's the flash re-charging

Nov 24, 2007 15:14 as a reply to S.Horton's post 1 minute earlier.

Steve.

Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
number ­ six
"After 40 years still not housebroken, I still piddle on the carpet"
number six's Avatar
8,865 posts

Joined May 2007

SF Bay Area
MORE INFO

An external flash will recharge faster, but unless you get one with an external battery pack there will still be a delay required between repeat shots.

-js

Nov 24, 2007 15:19

"Be seeing you."
50D - 17-55 f/2.8 IS - 18-55 IS - 28-105 II USM - 60 f/2.8 macro - 70-200 f/4 L - Sigma flash
I do not piddle on the carpet!

LOG IN TO REPLY
gasrocks
Cream of the Crop
gasrocks's Avatar
13,431 posts

Joined Mar 2005

Portage, Wisconsin USA
MORE INFO

Try it w/o the flash and see how fast it goes.

Nov 24, 2007 15:44

GEAR LIST
_______________

LOG IN TO REPLY
dave ­ kadolph
"Fix the cigarette lighter"
dave kadolph's Avatar
6,137 posts
GALLERY: 1 photo

Joined Mar 2007

West Michigan--166.33 miles to the Cook County courthouse
MORE INFO

Just took some famly photos at Thanksgiving with a 430 EX and that drops recycle time on an XTI to around 1/2 to 1 second with fully charged batteries.

Hope this helps

Nov 24, 2007 16:00 as a reply to gasrocks's post 16 minutes earlier.

Middle age is when you can finally afford the things that a young man could truly enjoy.
Tools of the trade

LOG IN TO REPLY
polkadot87
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
polkadot87's Avatar
11 posts

Joined Nov 2007

south florida
MORE INFO

Thank you for the responses!
First of all, my card isn't near full when this happens and I thought I got a pretty good card so it can't be that. I tried taking pics without the flash and it works continuously. When I turn the flash on, it does let me take a bunch of shots in a row at first but after a while it slows down and always says Busy. So now that I know its the flash, there's really no way around it is there as I see getting an external just doesn't help much. oh well =(

Nov 24, 2007 16:27 as a reply to dave kadolph's post 27 minutes earlier.

my general photography...
www.violettte.devianta​rt.comexternal link
my hamster photography...
http://polkadots87.liv​ejournal.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
49,146 posts

Joined Aug 2006

Deep in the heart of Texas
MORE INFO

polkadot87 wrote in post #4377234external link
Thank you for the responses!
First of all, my card isn't near full when this happens and I thought I got a pretty good card so it can't be that. I tried taking pics without the flash and it works continuously. When I turn the flash on, it does let me take a bunch of shots in a row at first but after a while it slows down and always says Busy. So now that I know its the flash, there's really no way around it is there as I see getting an external just doesn't help much. oh well =(

Check out page 54 of the manual. Both the "busy" and the flash stopping after several shots in a row behavior are described. Simply, it takes time to recharge and busy is displayed, and if many pics are taken in a row the flash stops to keep it from overheating.

Nov 24, 2007 16:53

Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I used to hate math but then I realised decimals have a point.
.
::Flickr:: (external link)
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
polkadot87
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
polkadot87's Avatar
11 posts

Joined Nov 2007

south florida
MORE INFO

That really sucks.. I wonder if its the same with all cameras like Nikons and all?

Nov 24, 2007 16:59 as a reply to gjl711's post 5 minutes earlier.

my general photography...
www.violettte.devianta​rt.comexternal link
my hamster photography...
http://polkadots87.liv​ejournal.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
68,895 posts

Joined Jun 2004

Bethesda, MD USA
MORE INFO

If it isn't it should be. As described, the flash needs to recharge; if a built-in flash firing at full power recharges quickly, the camera's devoting too much of its battery and internals to the flash; plus you run increased risk of overheating the flash from repeated rapid-fire shots.

Nov 24, 2007 17:02

Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
polkadot87
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
polkadot87's Avatar
11 posts

Joined Nov 2007

south florida
MORE INFO

hmm... I'll start experimenting more without the flash. See what I can do with just using the artificial lights in my room... the more watts the better!

Nov 24, 2007 17:11 as a reply to Jon's post 9 minutes earlier.

my general photography...
www.violettte.devianta​rt.comexternal link
my hamster photography...
http://polkadots87.liv​ejournal.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
xarqi
Cream of the Crop
xarqi's Avatar
10,435 posts

Joined Oct 2005

Aotearoa/New Zealand
MORE INFO

Hmmmmm.

Using Av mode? Getting fuzzy backgrounds in your pictures? The delay could be the time it is taking the camera to expose the background in the dim available light - it works this way with flash in Av mode unless you override it (using some nasty, awkward, counterintuitive custom function buried in a menu somewhere).

Maybe not, but worth mentioning, I thought.

Nov 24, 2007 17:51



LOG IN TO REPLY
polkadot87
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
polkadot87's Avatar
11 posts

Joined Nov 2007

south florida
MORE INFO

I wasn't in Av mode but I do get fuzzy backgrounds and thats actually something I want since I'm doing portraits. I have 6 light bulbs in my room going, it almost looks like the sun in there!

Nov 24, 2007 17:58 as a reply to xarqi's post 7 minutes earlier.

my general photography...
www.violettte.devianta​rt.comexternal link
my hamster photography...
http://polkadots87.liv​ejournal.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
Hermeto's Avatar
6,674 posts

Joined Oct 2005

Toronto, Canada
MORE INFO
banned

How about the Drive mode?
Make sure that you didn’t accidentally put it to Self-timer..

Nov 24, 2007 18:10

What we see depends mainly on what we look for.

LOG IN TO REPLY
xarqi
Cream of the Crop
xarqi's Avatar
10,435 posts

Joined Oct 2005

Aotearoa/New Zealand
MORE INFO

polkadot87 wrote in post #4377608external link
I wasn't in Av mode but I do get fuzzy backgrounds and thats actually something I want since I'm doing portraits. I have 6 light bulbs in my room going, it almost looks like the sun in there!

Cool. Scratch one shaky theory then. Flash recharge time and cool off look to be the cause then, and an external flash the solution, at least partly.

Nov 24, 2007 18:12



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

17,313 views & 0 likes for this thread
camera keeps saying BUSY
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00119 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Harvest Moon
602 guests, 439 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015