Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 27 Nov 2007 (Tuesday) 20:05
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1D Mark III Firmware 1.1.3 is here

 
winky
Member
102 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Nov 27, 2007 20:05 |  #1

the download link

http://web.canon.jp/im​aging/eos1dm3/firmware​.htmlexternal link

Take a look here on DP site also, http://forums.dpreview​.com ...orum=1032&thread=25​792609external link


1D Mark III 40D & 20D 10-22mm 16-35 2.8 Mark II 24-70 2.8 200 2.8 300 4 IS 70-200 non IS 200mm 2.8 85mm 1.2 135 2 L 1.2 Mark II Sekonic 758DR 1.4 & 2.0 Mark II Extender 50mm 1.4 EF 85mm 1.8 Canon Speedlite 580EX
Canon SpeedLite 580EXII

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
SoaringUSAEagle
Daddy Of The Crop
SoaringUSAEagle's Avatar
10,812 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Cheyenne, WY
Nov 27, 2007 20:06 |  #2

Cool, thank you.


5D3 | 35L | 50 1.4 | 85L II | 135L | 24-70L II | 70-200 2.8L IS II

LOG IN TO REPLY
datadump
Goldmember
datadump's Avatar
1,931 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Canada
Nov 27, 2007 20:26 |  #3

thx for this note - just updated now.. time to play:)


gearhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=898408

LOG IN TO REPLY
overclock
Goldmember
1,191 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Fort Worth, TX
Nov 27, 2007 20:40 |  #4

No matter what I do I can't get my 40D to take this firmware update. Oh well.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
Hermeto's Avatar
6,674 posts
Joined Oct 2005
Toronto, Canada
Nov 27, 2007 20:44 |  #5
banned

overclock wrote in post #4397490external link
No matter what I do I can't get my 40D to take this firmware update. Oh well.

Are you kidding?
Why would you update one camera with another camera firmware? ???


What we see depends mainly on what we look for.

LOG IN TO REPLY
lawmans3
Senior Member
lawmans3's Avatar
434 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Wyoming
Nov 27, 2007 20:51 as a reply to overclock's post |  #6

Thanks for the heads up on the link!:D


1Dx, 1DsMK3, 1DMK3, 100L f2.8 Macro, 85L 1.2 II, 50 L 1.2,17-40L, 24-70L, 70-200 L f2.8 IS, 100-400 L[COLOR=black], 24-105 L
, 14IIL

LOG IN TO REPLY
jdizzle
Darth Noink
jdizzle's Avatar
69,419 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Harvesting Nano crystals
Nov 27, 2007 20:59 |  #7

Coolness! Gotta do this when I get home in the morning! =)




LOG IN TO REPLY
lawmans3
Senior Member
lawmans3's Avatar
434 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Wyoming
Nov 27, 2007 21:01 as a reply to lawmans3's post |  #8

Wow, that was a big file! but it seems to have kept all my settings. Did anyone lose their settings or anything funky?


1Dx, 1DsMK3, 1DMK3, 100L f2.8 Macro, 85L 1.2 II, 50 L 1.2,17-40L, 24-70L, 70-200 L f2.8 IS, 100-400 L[COLOR=black], 24-105 L
, 14IIL

LOG IN TO REPLY
lawmans3
Senior Member
lawmans3's Avatar
434 posts
Joined Jan 2005
Wyoming
Nov 27, 2007 21:02 |  #9

overclock wrote in post #4397490external link
No matter what I do I can't get my 40D to take this firmware update. Oh well.

I don't think you are using the right tool, try a hammer. It should fit then....;)


1Dx, 1DsMK3, 1DMK3, 100L f2.8 Macro, 85L 1.2 II, 50 L 1.2,17-40L, 24-70L, 70-200 L f2.8 IS, 100-400 L[COLOR=black], 24-105 L
, 14IIL

LOG IN TO REPLY
jdizzle
Darth Noink
jdizzle's Avatar
69,419 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Harvesting Nano crystals
Nov 27, 2007 21:02 |  #10

lawmans3 wrote in post #4397606external link
Wow, that was a big file! but it seems to have kept all my settings. Did anyone lose their settings or anything funky?

I've asked this question before and from what people have said here, it keeps your settings.




LOG IN TO REPLY
jdizzle
Darth Noink
jdizzle's Avatar
69,419 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Harvesting Nano crystals
Nov 27, 2007 21:04 |  #11

RG talks about the new Firmware update here:
http://www.robgalbrait​h.com ..._page.asp?cid=7-8745-9176external link




LOG IN TO REPLY
AdamLewis
Goldmember
AdamLewis's Avatar
4,120 posts
Joined Oct 2005
San Francisco, CA
Nov 27, 2007 21:21 |  #12

Is there anyway to do this without a card reader?

EDIT: N/M. I used a laptop SD card reader to do it


flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
datadump
Goldmember
datadump's Avatar
1,931 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Canada
Nov 27, 2007 21:25 |  #13

"Improved autofocus tracking when photographing low-contrast subjects"

been trying this out a bit.. i'm getting really great results indoors in my room with my wife watching TV, telling her to move around a bit (heh heh).

the settings i found to be really good for low light is:
cfn III - 2 = FAST (all the way right)
cfn III - 3 = 0
cfn III - 4 = 1

AI SERVO, DRIVE H, Auto AF selection, iso 3200/6400, using my 50mm @ f/1.4

so as per manual pg83, for auto AF selection, point the camera so first shot is aimed at center ring of focus screen, then fire away while subject moves within the AF area.

great results. it is too bad i didnt do test shots BEFORE the upgrade from 1.1.0 heh. so i guess my results arent conclusive since i do not have a baseline. but whatever.. i love my mark3 so far.


gearhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=898408

LOG IN TO REPLY
thatkatmat
Cream of the Crop
thatkatmat's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
Seattle, don't move here, it's wet and cold
Nov 27, 2007 21:26 |  #14

So can you just load in this update or do you have to do the previous update first, then this update next?


My Flickr (external link)
Stuff
"Never rat on your friends and always keep your mouth shut." -Jimmy Conway
a9, 12-24/4G, 24-70/2.8GM, 100-400GM, 35/1.4ZA, 50L, 85LmkII...a6300, 24mm/1.8 ZA, 10-18/4,16-50PZ, 18-105PZ

LOG IN TO REPLY
jdizzle
Darth Noink
jdizzle's Avatar
69,419 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Harvesting Nano crystals
Nov 27, 2007 21:38 |  #15

thatkatmat wrote in post #4397776external link
So can you just load in this update or do you have to do the previous update first, then this update next?

I think you have to download it to your PC first than get your CF card and hook it up to the card reader and load it on the CF. Once you've done that, install your CF into the MK III. Than install the firmware and it will update it for ya.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

33,160 views & 0 likes for this thread
1D Mark III Firmware 1.1.3 is here
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00273 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is highlights
936 guests, 371 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016