Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 05 Dec 2007 (Wednesday) 16:19
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

40D Focusing Screen DIY - Pics inside

 
71sbeetle
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
2,526 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 05, 2007 16:19 |  #1

Quick note:
This procedure is similar on the Canon EOS 40D, Canon EOS 50D and Canon EOS 5D, and I am sure it covers all the other bodies that have user-changeable focusing screen (I've only personally done it on the 40D, 50D and 5D)

Alright, since I wanted to swap my 40D focusing screen to the Ef-D with grid lines I've been looking for a DIY to see how easy it really was, but I couldn't
find one, so I decided to make one to help out whoever else is considering it. This is a guide only, you should still read the instructions that come with
the focusing screen you are using, also do this at your own risk, I am not responsible for any damage to you or your camera equipment.
Alright first of all, bring your 40D and your newly purchased focusing screen (in that case for me the Ef-D screen):

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2047/2090009810_03965d6594_o.jpg

Then open the box for the focusing screen, this is what you should have, instructions and the focusing screen and tool:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2323/2089222287_8e81120a1a_o.jpg

Now lay your 40D down and take the body cap off, try doing that in a non dusty area. You will be looking for the little locking clip that holds the focusing
screen holder up, I circled it in red in the picture:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2119/2089222341_93dd8cfc0f_o.jpg

Put the provided tool under the clip:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2291/2089222391_be0e387c69_o.jpg

and pull up on it, the focusing screen holder will come down:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2103/2089222459_679ca51124_o.jpg

Then using the same tool, press on the blue part of the handle top open the clip and clip it on the little tab that sticks out from the focusing screen:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2242/2090010152_952646feee_o.jpg

Lift the focusing screen up and slid it out:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2225/2090010244_448c503eff_o.jpg

Then set the focusing screen you just removed in that little area made for it in the box:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2355/2090010320_eb5d445341_o.jpg

gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
2,526 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 05, 2007 16:19 |  #2

Now pick up the new focusing screen:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2209/2090010410_c54436c636_o.jpg

Put it in the focusing screen holder, basically reverse steps from removing the other one:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2266/2089222903_71a3dac8f1_o.jpg

And push the focusing screen holder back up until it clicks:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2266/2089222979_17ca0f2d01_o.jpg

Replace the body cap on the camera, turn the camera ON, go to Menu, Custom Functions IV: Operation/Others, then go to C.Fn 5 and choose the appropriate
Focusing Screen (0: Ef-A, 1: Ef-D, 2: Ef-S)

That's it, you're done ! Go out and enjoy your new focusing screen !
Sorry if some of the pics are blurry, I am not used to my wife's Canon SD870IS yet

The whole thing including opening the box, taking my 40D out the Pelican case and taking pictures of the whole process took me 7 minutes, I'm guessing the swap itself should take about 90 seconds at most !

Hope that helps someone :)

gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
ChucklesKY
Senior Member
ChucklesKY's Avatar
353 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Bluegrass, KY
Dec 05, 2007 16:31 as a reply to 71sbeetle's post |  #3

Great tutorial! I had started a thread about these focusing screens a couple of weeks ago. I was wondering exactly how it was done. Most everyone said it was easy but couldn't really explain or I couldn't really visualize. This really helps a lot! Good job!


Canon EOS 40D || 10-22mm EF-S || 24-70mm f/2.8L ||70-200mm f/2.8L IS || 50mm f/1.8 II || 60mm f/2.8 Macro EF-S

LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
3,718 posts
Joined Sep 2005
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
Dec 05, 2007 16:41 |  #4

wut the heck, i didnt even know canon made a focusing screen

does this screen have the circle in the center to help you manually focus like the haodas? but i guess it wont matter cuz i dont have a 40d




LOG IN TO REPLY
koalawalla
Member
koalawalla's Avatar
169 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Lynnwood, WA
Dec 05, 2007 17:59 |  #5

Thanks for showing us this! :) I just found a defect on my focusing screen on the far upper right. Didn't even notice it till I tested my camera on a blank sheet of paper. I'll probably swap it eventually.


Canon 40D | EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS w/ ridiculously overpriced lens hood | EF 70-200mm f/4L | EF 15mm f/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
2,526 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 05, 2007 18:44 |  #6

koalawalla wrote in post #4447357external link
Thanks for showing us this! :) I just found a defect on my focusing screen on the far upper right. Didn't even notice it till I tested my camera on a blank sheet of paper. I'll probably swap it eventually.

mine has a defect too towards the center, I took the screen back out and it looks like the coating on the screen is uneven at that spot .... I wonder if I should call Canon or the place I bought it at (Adorama) ?


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
2,526 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 05, 2007 18:45 |  #7

kaitanium wrote in post #4446977external link
wut the heck, i didnt even know canon made a focusing screen

does this screen have the circle in the center to help you manually focus like the haodas? but i guess it wont matter cuz i dont have a 40d

No but they make the Ef-S which is for manual focusing, but is better with f/2.8 or better lenses, otherwise it will make the viewfinder quite dark


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
2,526 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 05, 2007 18:47 |  #8

ChucklesKY wrote in post #4446908external link
Great tutorial! I had started a thread about these focusing screens a couple of weeks ago. I was wondering exactly how it was done. Most everyone said it was easy but couldn't really explain or I couldn't really visualize. This really helps a lot! Good job!

Yup remember seeing your thread and this is why I made the DIY, I had ordered my screen I think the day before you posted it, and then I remember seeing your thread and I thought, hey, I am not the only one out there that would like an idea of what's involved before buying one, so I decided I'd make a DIY when I installed mine and here it is :)


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
tampaphotogal
Member
tampaphotogal's Avatar
154 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Florida
Dec 05, 2007 21:10 |  #9

is the screen with the grid lines any brighter than the original one? just wondering if I should try one or pay more for the katz eye brighter one.


5D, 40D and some L glass.

LOG IN TO REPLY
carianoff
Senior Member
carianoff's Avatar
611 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Detroitish, Michigan
Dec 05, 2007 21:13 as a reply to tampaphotogal's post |  #10

I want a katz one with a focus ring, but i really think I'm going to have someone do it. I just don't have the guts.


My Flickrexternal link
My Arsenal & Info

LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
2,526 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Las Vegas, NV
Dec 05, 2007 21:16 as a reply to carianoff's post |  #11

don't think it's brighter but I know it will not mess up the metering like the katz eye does, oh and it is so easy to swap it's not even funny lol


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
Feedback:
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark_Cohran
Cream of the Crop
Mark_Cohran's Avatar
15,556 posts
Joined Jul 2002
Portland, Oregon
Dec 05, 2007 21:20 |  #12

71sbeetle wrote in post #4448365external link
don't think it's brighter but I know it will not mess up the metering like the katz eye does, oh and it is so easy to swap it's not even funny lol

Yep, under a minute even if you're not very fast. :) I put the Ef-S in mine a few weeks ago. I have the grid screen too, which I'll pop in as needed. The grid stays in my 5D.

Mark


Mark
-----
Some primes, some zooms, some Ls, some bodies and they all play nice together.
Thirty-five years of shooting and still learning.
My Tumblr Siteexternal link (NSFW)

LOG IN TO REPLY
ChucklesKY
Senior Member
ChucklesKY's Avatar
353 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Bluegrass, KY
Dec 05, 2007 21:28 as a reply to Mark_Cohran's post |  #13

The Katz Eye screens look pretty sweet. But unfortunately they have all different kinds of varied exposure compensation to use based on different compositions. For this reason there is no way I would get one. With the Canon OEM focusing screens all you do is change the Custom Function and the exposure value change is all automatic. No manual setup or thinking. I don't like thinking. It makes my brain sweat!


Canon EOS 40D || 10-22mm EF-S || 24-70mm f/2.8L ||70-200mm f/2.8L IS || 50mm f/1.8 II || 60mm f/2.8 Macro EF-S

LOG IN TO REPLY
kcbrown
Cream of the Crop
kcbrown's Avatar
5,384 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Silicon Valley
Dec 05, 2007 21:31 |  #14

I have the Katz Eye screen, but without the split prism. I haven't noticed much in the way of metering issues with it. Mine's got their "OptiBrite" treatment. I got it because I wanted more precision than the standard Canon screen without sacrificing brightness and I wanted a "rule of thirds" grid.

The screen works quite nicely in my experience. I use the Ef-A setting in the camera.

Note that I haven't done any formal testing of the metering accuracy.

About the only real downside of the screen is that it's rather expensive. The Canon screens are about $35 apiece. Unless you really want the specific features of the Katz Eye, you're probably better off sticking with the Canon screens.


"There are some things that money can't buy, but they aren't Ls and aren't worth having" -- Shooter-boy
Canon: 2 x 7D, Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 OS, 55-250 IS, Sigma 8-16, 24-105L, Sigma 50/1.4, other assorted primes, and a 430EX.
Nikon: D750, D600, 24-85 VR, 50 f/1.8G, 85 f/1.8G, Tamron 24-70 VC, Tamron 70-300 VC.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Mark0159's Avatar
12,535 posts
Gallery: 16 photos
Joined Mar 2003
Hamilton, New Zealand
Dec 05, 2007 23:57 |  #15

that's really cool

thanks for doing it. I have the 40D and been thinking about doing the same thing at some point. I was wondering how it was done.

I just have one question, do the focus points still show up?



Mark

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

62,515 views & 0 likes for this thread
40D Focusing Screen DIY - Pics inside
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00207 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is senina
781 guests, 556 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016