LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


40D Focusing Screen DIY - Pics inside

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 05 Dec 2007 (Wednesday) 16:19   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
71sbeetle
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
2,383 posts
West Palm Beach, FL
[MORE/SHARE]

Quick note:
This procedure is similar on the Canon EOS 40D, Canon EOS 50D and Canon EOS 5D, and I am sure it covers all the other bodies that have user-changeable focusing screen (I've only personally done it on the 40D, 50D and 5D)

Alright, since I wanted to swap my 40D focusing screen to the Ef-D with grid lines I've been looking for a DIY to see how easy it really was, but I couldn't
find one, so I decided to make one to help out whoever else is considering it. This is a guide only, you should still read the instructions that come with
the focusing screen you are using, also do this at your own risk, I am not responsible for any damage to you or your camera equipment.
Alright first of all, bring your 40D and your newly purchased focusing screen (in that case for me the Ef-D screen):

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2047/2090009810_03965d6594_o.jpg

Then open the box for the focusing screen, this is what you should have, instructions and the focusing screen and tool:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2323/2089222287_8e81120a1a_o.jpg

Now lay your 40D down and take the body cap off, try doing that in a non dusty area. You will be looking for the little locking clip that holds the focusing
screen holder up, I circled it in red in the picture:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2119/2089222341_93dd8cfc0f_o.jpg

Put the provided tool under the clip:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2291/2089222391_be0e387c69_o.jpg

and pull up on it, the focusing screen holder will come down:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2103/2089222459_679ca51124_o.jpg

Then using the same tool, press on the blue part of the handle top open the clip and clip it on the little tab that sticks out from the focusing screen:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2242/2090010152_952646feee_o.jpg

Lift the focusing screen up and slid it out:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2225/2090010244_448c503eff_o.jpg

Then set the focusing screen you just removed in that little area made for it in the box:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2355/2090010320_eb5d445341_o.jpg

Post #1, Dec 05, 2007 16:19:06


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
2,383 posts
West Palm Beach, FL
[MORE/SHARE]

Now pick up the new focusing screen:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2209/2090010410_c54436c636_o.jpg

Put it in the focusing screen holder, basically reverse steps from removing the other one:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2266/2089222903_71a3dac8f1_o.jpg

And push the focusing screen holder back up until it clicks:

IMAGE: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2266/2089222979_17ca0f2d01_o.jpg

Replace the body cap on the camera, turn the camera ON, go to Menu, Custom Functions IV: Operation/Others, then go to C.Fn 5 and choose the appropriate
Focusing Screen (0: Ef-A, 1: Ef-D, 2: Ef-S)

That's it, you're done ! Go out and enjoy your new focusing screen !
Sorry if some of the pics are blurry, I am not used to my wife's Canon SD870IS yet

The whole thing including opening the box, taking my 40D out the Pelican case and taking pictures of the whole process took me 7 minutes, I'm guessing the swap itself should take about 90 seconds at most !

Hope that helps someone :)

Post #2, Dec 05, 2007 16:19:28


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
ChucklesKY
Senior Member
ChucklesKY's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
353 posts
Bluegrass, KY
[MORE/SHARE]

Great tutorial! I had started a thread about these focusing screens a couple of weeks ago. I was wondering exactly how it was done. Most everyone said it was easy but couldn't really explain or I couldn't really visualize. This really helps a lot! Good job!

Post #3, Dec 05, 2007 16:31:51 as a reply to 71sbeetle's post 12 minutes earlier.


Canon EOS 40D || 10-22mm EF-S || 24-70mm f/2.8L ||70-200mm f/2.8L IS || 50mm f/1.8 II || 60mm f/2.8 Macro EF-S

LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitanium
Goldmember
kaitanium's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
3,667 posts
Sacramento/San Francisco USA
[MORE/SHARE]

wut the heck, i didnt even know canon made a focusing screen

does this screen have the circle in the center to help you manually focus like the haodas? but i guess it wont matter cuz i dont have a 40d

Post #4, Dec 05, 2007 16:41:51




LOG IN TO REPLY
koalawalla
Senior Member
koalawalla's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
169 posts
Lynnwood, WA
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks for showing us this! :) I just found a defect on my focusing screen on the far upper right. Didn't even notice it till I tested my camera on a blank sheet of paper. I'll probably swap it eventually.

Post #5, Dec 05, 2007 17:59:24


Canon 40D | EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS w/ ridiculously overpriced lens hood | EF 70-200mm f/4L | EF 15mm f/2.8

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
2,383 posts
West Palm Beach, FL
[MORE/SHARE]

koalawalla wrote in post #4447357external link
Thanks for showing us this! :) I just found a defect on my focusing screen on the far upper right. Didn't even notice it till I tested my camera on a blank sheet of paper. I'll probably swap it eventually.

mine has a defect too towards the center, I took the screen back out and it looks like the coating on the screen is uneven at that spot .... I wonder if I should call Canon or the place I bought it at (Adorama) ?

Post #6, Dec 05, 2007 18:44:38


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
2,383 posts
West Palm Beach, FL
[MORE/SHARE]

kaitanium wrote in post #4446977external link
wut the heck, i didnt even know canon made a focusing screen

does this screen have the circle in the center to help you manually focus like the haodas? but i guess it wont matter cuz i dont have a 40d

No but they make the Ef-S which is for manual focusing, but is better with f/2.8 or better lenses, otherwise it will make the viewfinder quite dark

Post #7, Dec 05, 2007 18:45:38


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
2,383 posts
West Palm Beach, FL
[MORE/SHARE]

ChucklesKY wrote in post #4446908external link
Great tutorial! I had started a thread about these focusing screens a couple of weeks ago. I was wondering exactly how it was done. Most everyone said it was easy but couldn't really explain or I couldn't really visualize. This really helps a lot! Good job!

Yup remember seeing your thread and this is why I made the DIY, I had ordered my screen I think the day before you posted it, and then I remember seeing your thread and I thought, hey, I am not the only one out there that would like an idea of what's involved before buying one, so I decided I'd make a DIY when I installed mine and here it is :)

Post #8, Dec 05, 2007 18:47:59


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
tampaphotogal
Senior Member
tampaphotogal's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
154 posts
Florida
[MORE/SHARE]

is the screen with the grid lines any brighter than the original one? just wondering if I should try one or pay more for the katz eye brighter one.

Post #9, Dec 05, 2007 21:10:30


5D, 40D and some L glass.

LOG IN TO REPLY
carianoff
Senior Member
carianoff's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
611 posts
Detroitish, Michigan
[MORE/SHARE]

I want a katz one with a focus ring, but i really think I'm going to have someone do it. I just don't have the guts.

Post #10, Dec 05, 2007 21:13:46 as a reply to tampaphotogal's post 3 minutes earlier.


My Flickrexternal link
My Arsenal & Info

LOG IN TO REPLY
71sbeetle
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
71sbeetle's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
2,383 posts
West Palm Beach, FL
[MORE/SHARE]

don't think it's brighter but I know it will not mess up the metering like the katz eye does, oh and it is so easy to swap it's not even funny lol

Post #11, Dec 05, 2007 21:16:53 as a reply to carianoff's post 3 minutes earlier.


gareymartin.comexternal link
flickrexternal link
gear list | CPS.
eBayexternal link | POTN
VWVortexexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Mark_Cohran
Cream of the Crop
Mark_Cohran's Avatar
Joined Jul 2002
15,545 posts
Portland, Oregon
[MORE/SHARE]

71sbeetle wrote in post #4448365external link
don't think it's brighter but I know it will not mess up the metering like the katz eye does, oh and it is so easy to swap it's not even funny lol

Yep, under a minute even if you're not very fast. :) I put the Ef-S in mine a few weeks ago. I have the grid screen too, which I'll pop in as needed. The grid stays in my 5D.

Mark

Post #12, Dec 05, 2007 21:20:21


Mark
-----
Some primes, some zooms, some Ls, some bodies and they all play nice together.
Thirty-five years of shooting and still learning.
My G&N Blogexternal link (NSFW)- My Complete Gear Listexternal link - Mac-Photo Websiteexternal link - My Tumblr Siteexternal link (NSFW)
G&N FORUM EARLY ACCESS & IMAGE POSTING RULES

LOG IN TO REPLY
ChucklesKY
Senior Member
ChucklesKY's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
353 posts
Bluegrass, KY
[MORE/SHARE]

The Katz Eye screens look pretty sweet. But unfortunately they have all different kinds of varied exposure compensation to use based on different compositions. For this reason there is no way I would get one. With the Canon OEM focusing screens all you do is change the Custom Function and the exposure value change is all automatic. No manual setup or thinking. I don't like thinking. It makes my brain sweat!

Post #13, Dec 05, 2007 21:28:37 as a reply to Mark_Cohran's post 8 minutes earlier.


Canon EOS 40D || 10-22mm EF-S || 24-70mm f/2.8L ||70-200mm f/2.8L IS || 50mm f/1.8 II || 60mm f/2.8 Macro EF-S

LOG IN TO REPLY
kcbrown
Cream of the Crop
kcbrown's Avatar
Joined Mar 2007
5,335 posts
Silicon Valley
[MORE/SHARE]

I have the Katz Eye screen, but without the split prism. I haven't noticed much in the way of metering issues with it. Mine's got their "OptiBrite" treatment. I got it because I wanted more precision than the standard Canon screen without sacrificing brightness and I wanted a "rule of thirds" grid.

The screen works quite nicely in my experience. I use the Ef-A setting in the camera.

Note that I haven't done any formal testing of the metering accuracy.

About the only real downside of the screen is that it's rather expensive. The Canon screens are about $35 apiece. Unless you really want the specific features of the Katz Eye, you're probably better off sticking with the Canon screens.

Post #14, Dec 05, 2007 21:31:12


"There are some things that money can't buy, but they aren't Ls and aren't worth having" -- Shooter-boy
Canon: 2 x 7D, Sigma 17-50 f/2.8 OS, 55-250 IS, Sigma 8-16, 24-105L, Sigma 50/1.4, other assorted primes, and a 430EX.
Nikon: D750, D600, 24-85 VR, 50 f/1.8G, 85 f/1.8G, Tamron 24-70 VC, Tamron 70-300 VC.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Mark0159's Avatar
Joined Mar 2003
12,151 posts
Hamilton, New Zealand
[MORE/SHARE]

that's really cool

thanks for doing it. I have the 40D and been thinking about doing the same thing at some point. I was wondering how it was done.

I just have one question, do the focus points still show up?

Post #15, Dec 05, 2007 23:57:18



Mark

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
56,185 views & 0 likes for this thread
40D Focusing Screen DIY - Pics inside
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00086 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
762 guests, 565 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is ctx888

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.