Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 07 Dec 2007 (Friday) 06:27
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

40D & CF Cards

 
wayne_eddy
Goldmember
wayne_eddy's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
Perth, 'straya
Dec 07, 2007 06:27 |  #1

I just purchased a 40D and was wondering what would be the best CF to get?

Is the 40D CFII compatible?

Any brands ppl have had issues with?

Thanks

Wayne


wayne eddy
[I'm calibrated - are you?]
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
madferrit
Goldmember
madferrit's Avatar
1,043 posts
Joined Jan 2006
London, UK
Dec 07, 2007 06:30 |  #2

Personally I would go for a brand I can trust, rather than something non-branded. Sandisk seems to be the popular choice. But buy it from a reputable place, as there are many fakes out there on ebay.

The other thing you might want to look at is card speed. Overall answer is that any CF card will be fine for your 40D.


My Canon can.. I just need to find out how :rolleyes:

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=298914

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonydee
Goldmember
tonydee's Avatar
2,009 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Tokyo
Dec 07, 2007 10:40 |  #3

I bought a 2GB Lexar Professional 300x (45MB/sec) to start, then 4GB and 8GB IOData 133xs. In practice, using a Digital Kiss X (400D) I don't notice the difference when using the Lexar, so I just leave the 8GB in. Really, 3fps RAW ~= 30MB/sec, so that speed falls between the two cards, so it should make a little difference but I wouldn't worry about it unless you shoot sports or moving wildlife and are really worried about missing the moment. The 2GB Lexar cost as much as the 4GB IOData card. No problems at all with any of them, with 10000 pics shot on these cards. Cheers, Tony


5D and too much glass. Mamiya 645E.
http://www.picasaweb.c​om/anthonyponexternal link recent work

LOG IN TO REPLY
TeamSpeed
01010100 01010011
TeamSpeed's Avatar
27,655 posts
Gallery: 30 photos
Joined May 2002
Northern Indiana
Dec 07, 2007 10:45 |  #4

tonydee wrote in post #4457407external link
I bought a 2GB Lexar Professional 300x (45MB/sec) to start, then 4GB and 8GB IOData 133xs. In practice, using a Digital Kiss X (400D) I don't notice the difference when using the Lexar, so I just leave the 8GB in. Really, 3fps RAW ~= 30MB/sec, so that speed falls between the two cards, so it should make a little difference but I wouldn't worry about it unless you shoot sports or moving wildlife and are really worried about missing the moment. The 2GB Lexar cost as much as the 4GB IOData card. No problems at all with any of them, with 10000 pics shot on these cards. Cheers, Tony

You cannot realize the full speed of the Lexar cards, only a select set of electronics can utilize the UDMA capabilities of the Lexar, as an FYI. I am not sure what the normal speeds of the Lexars are without UDMA though, probably very, very close to that of the Sandisk.


Past Equipment | My Galleryexternal link
Resources For Sale: High ISO Denoiser Actionexternal link | Focus Genie

LOG IN TO REPLY
carianoff
Senior Member
carianoff's Avatar
611 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Detroitish, Michigan
Dec 07, 2007 10:47 as a reply to tonydee's post |  #5

SanDisk Ultra II at least. But for a little more you can get the Extreme III, which boasts better read/write speed, comes with a carrying case and has a Ducati logo on the box.


My Flickrexternal link
My Arsenal & Info

LOG IN TO REPLY
CyberPet
Hiding Under a Rock
CyberPet's Avatar
4,052 posts
Joined May 2005
Piteå, Sweden
Dec 07, 2007 11:00 |  #6

I use Sandisk Extreme III on my 30D and 40D. Not sure if there's a speed difference from the Sandisk Ultra II's, but they are starting to get hard to get hold of anyway. I have a few 4 GB's, a few 2 GB's and a few 1 GB's (totally around 40 GB, but I shoot weddings in Raw, so I need more than I use).


/Petra Hall
Click here to view my geeky gear list
I shoot as much as possible in available light... sometimes, my flash is available – Joe Buissink

LOG IN TO REPLY
::John::
Cream of the Crop
8,537 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Canberra, Australia
Dec 07, 2007 14:13 |  #7

CyberPet wrote in post #4457522external link
I use Sandisk Extreme III on my 30D and 40D. Not sure if there's a speed difference from the Sandisk Ultra II's, but they are starting to get hard to get hold of anyway. I have a few 4 GB's, a few 2 GB's and a few 1 GB's (totally around 40 GB, but I shoot weddings in Raw, so I need more than I use).


Similar - Sandisk Extreme III 3 x 4Gb. Ultra II 2 x 2Gb, 2 x 1Gb and a couple of 512Mb cards used on the 40D and the 5D. Only ever had one card failure and the pictures were recovered through some free software found via POTN. Card was reformatted and has never failed since (touches wood).




LOG IN TO REPLY
andrewhuxman
Cream of the Crop
andrewhuxman's Avatar
8,171 posts
Joined May 2005
Rockford Illinois
Dec 07, 2007 14:16 |  #8

Sandisk Extreme III 12 GB and your good to go.Even though I have plenty of 2 GB which are not large enough at all.


A little L goes a long way.

Canon 7D2, 7D, 40D, gripped,16-35MM 2.8L,24-105MM F4L,70-200MM 2.8 IS USM L,500MM F4L
www.machtwomedia.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
toasted1
Hatchling
toasted1's Avatar
7 posts
Joined Dec 2007
Dec 07, 2007 14:54 |  #9

IMHO Kingston rules in the service department... They are having a sale on the website... just picked up a 133x 16gb for my New Zealand trip... Watch out with using a micro drive cf card with the live view... it will overheat the card and destroy it... btw live view rocks, try using the picture zoom button, it digitally zooms 10x to allow manual focus... i can get super sharp exposures...




LOG IN TO REPLY
rnsmomma
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Mar 2009
Apr 13, 2009 20:23 |  #10

does it matter if the card is a 233x for my 40D?




LOG IN TO REPLY
roastpuff
Member
roastpuff's Avatar
143 posts
Joined Jul 2008
Apr 13, 2009 20:36 |  #11

rnsmomma wrote in post #7724136external link
does it matter if the card is a 233x for my 40D?

It would depend on what you were doing. If you're planning to do a lot of high-speed burst shots (sports events, similar etc) then yes it would probably matter. If it's mostly portraits or something less fast-paced it wouldn't matter as much thanks to the fairly good buffer on the 40D.

I found that since getting my 5D2 I'm less worried about speed thanks to my huge buffer even when shooting full-size RAW files. However, on my friend's old 5D Classic I would bump into the buffer limit when shooting fencing bouts and have to wait for the buffer to clear into the card - this was on a Sandisk Ultra II.

On my XSi, the buffer would take a long time to clear when shooting RAW burst mode, and when I got Sandisk Extreme III SDHC cards it helped a lot as it was writing a lot faster compared to the regular Kingston Class 6 SDHC cards.




LOG IN TO REPLY
griptape
Goldmember
2,037 posts
Joined Feb 2007
Home
Apr 13, 2009 20:49 |  #12

rnsmomma wrote in post #7724136external link
does it matter if the card is a 233x for my 40D?

The buffer will flush a little faster, so you'll be able to get a few more shots out of burst mode before the fps slows down, and it will transfer to your computer much quicker through a card reader. Whether those benefits are worth the extra cost is up to you (it is to me, I still have a few slower 16GB and 8GB cards, but a the transfer speed to my PC leads me to using one of my 266x 8GB cards most of the time).




LOG IN TO REPLY
wayne_eddy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
wayne_eddy's Avatar
Joined Jun 2006
Perth, 'straya
Apr 14, 2009 04:49 |  #13

Now I'm up for a new CF card in time for my trip to Japan in a few weeks.

Some electronic devices will not recognise large storage cards.

Is there a max limit for the size (in GIG) the 40D will take?

thanks,

Wayne.


wayne eddy
[I'm calibrated - are you?]
Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
low ­ orbit
Goldmember
low orbit's Avatar
1,730 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Christchurch, NZ
Apr 14, 2009 05:17 |  #14

You're better off IMO to have several smaller cards than one large one Wayne. That way if a card fails (doesn't happen often but it happens) then you won't lose all your shots. For a 40D I'd go 8 gig and maybe a few 4's?

Cheers.


Shoot as if it were film

Find my photographs here - updated June 2014external link
GKPE Chatter

LOG IN TO REPLY
CanonDad
Member
CanonDad's Avatar
39 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Apr 14, 2009 05:24 |  #15

Yep, dont go for too much more than 4GB.
For the file sizes of a 40D you'd get enough shots on 4GB to keep you happy. Any more and risk losign ALOT of shots.


: My Gear :
.external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

10,878 views & 0 likes for this thread
40D & CF Cards
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00112 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Cal46
735 guests, 606 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015