Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Accessories & Storage
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 7th of December 2007 (Fri)   #1
Rrdstarr

Default Homemade panoramic

My next door neighbor works as a photographer for Thrifty Foods here in Victoria and asked if I was interested in making him a homemade panoramic head for his tripod. Well being a machinist I couldn't resist!

I am a aviation machinist by trade to qualify that this wasn't botched together!

This is my first attempt:
It seems to fit a variety of cameras. Tried taking a pic with my wife's camera, but couldn't get an acceptable one...so I took my camera off and took a pic of her camera mounted on my panoramic! LOL!

Not sure if I should think of making these for profit or not? They are light weight but I placed a 10# block of steel on the arm and it held it without problems! I have roller bearings between the mounting plates and have detent stops every 20 degrees to look the head in place. T-slot track so it is infinitely adjustable!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg panoc.jpg (46.8 KB, 197 views)
Old 8th of December 2007 (Sat)   #2
scot079
Goldmember

Default Re: Homemade panoramic

Cool, but isn't it just like a 3D or pan/tilt head? Also, it looks like it may crumble under a heavy camera/lens combo.

scot079 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of December 2007 (Sat)   #3
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"

Quote:
Originally Posted by scot079 View Post
Cool, but isn't it just like a 3D or pan/tilt head? Also, it looks like it may crumble under a heavy camera/lens combo.
http://www.edb.utexas.edu/teachnet/QTVR/NodalPoint.htm

Info regarding "nodal point" .. different than just panning around in a circle to make a panoramic image.