FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories
Thread started 07 Dec 2007 (Friday) 23:50   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

Rrdstarr
Joined Sep 2007
203 posts
Victoria, BC Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

My next door neighbor works as a photographer for Thrifty Foods here in Victoria and asked if I was interested in making him a homemade panoramic head for his tripod. Well being a machinist I couldn't resist!

I am a aviation machinist by trade to qualify that this wasn't botched together!:)

This is my first attempt:
It seems to fit a variety of cameras. Tried taking a pic with my wife's camera, but couldn't get an acceptable one...so I took my camera off and took a pic of her camera mounted on my panoramic! LOL!

Not sure if I should think of making these for profit or not? They are light weight but I placed a 10# block of steel on the arm and it held it without problems! I have roller bearings between the mounting plates and have detent stops every 20 degrees to look the head in place. T-slot track so it is infinitely adjustable!

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Post #1, Dec 07, 2007 23:50:35

Rick's stuff!

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
scot079
Goldmember
Joined May 2007
3,839 posts
Maryland USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Cool, but isn't it just like a 3D or pan/tilt head? Also, it looks like it may crumble under a heavy camera/lens combo.

Post #2, Dec 08, 2007 01:57:20

- Tim
www.timadkinsphoto.comexternal link
GEARandFEEDBACK

FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
Joined May 2007
57,560 posts
Probably Chasing Aircraft
[MORE/SHARE]

scot079 wrote in post #4462253external link
Cool, but isn't it just like a 3D or pan/tilt head? Also, it looks like it may crumble under a heavy camera/lens combo.

http://www.edb.utexas.​edu/teachnet/QTVR/Noda​lPoint.htmexternal link

Info regarding "nodal point" .. different than just panning around in a circle to make a panoramic image.