Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 23rd of December 2007 (Sun)   #1
Stinky_1

Default Rebel XTi shows "Busy" a LOT! HELP

Hello everyone,

I purchased a Rebel XTi about 2 months ago now. I am VERY happy with the pictures I have been able to get so far. I am by no means an expert photographer, but love to shoot pics anyway. So I figured this camera would be a good balance between advanced features, and noob ability.

Now, for my problem.

I am finding that when I first turn it on I am able to snap rapid shots for about 10 - 15 pictures with no problem. The whole while my "max burst shot" counter never goes off from "9". Its my understanding that if I can no longer shoot as many pics that counter will go down. And I have in fact seen it do that on more than one occasion.

For some reason though, after my first quick burst of pics I can only snap one picture, then it says "BUSY" on the screen and in the viewfinder. It stays like that for what seems like a long time. Anywhere from 30 seconds to 1 minute.

If I hold the shutter half way it will still focus the shot, but refuse to snap a pic. The "CF" light on the back is NOT blinking at all. At first I thought it was because I am using a "slower" memory card. And that its taking time to transfer my first burst to the card. But I would guess no light means no transfer.

I have tried different settings on the camera itself. Even reverted to default settings. If I shut the camera off then wait 1 minute and turn it back on I can still only shoot one pic at a time followed by a LONG "busy", then when it goes away I can shoot one more pic, followed by more busy.