Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 23 Dec 2007 (Sunday) 11:17
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Rebel XTi shows "Busy" a LOT! HELP

 
Stinky_1
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Dec 2007

Airdrie Alberta
MORE INFO

Hello everyone,

I purchased a Rebel XTi about 2 months ago now. I am VERY happy with the pictures I have been able to get so far. I am by no means an expert photographer, but love to shoot pics anyway. So I figured this camera would be a good balance between advanced features, and noob ability.

Now, for my problem.

I am finding that when I first turn it on I am able to snap rapid shots for about 10 - 15 pictures with no problem. The whole while my "max burst shot" counter never goes off from "9". Its my understanding that if I can no longer shoot as many pics that counter will go down. And I have in fact seen it do that on more than one occasion.

For some reason though, after my first quick burst of pics I can only snap one picture, then it says "BUSY" on the screen and in the viewfinder. It stays like that for what seems like a long time. Anywhere from 30 seconds to 1 minute.

If I hold the shutter half way it will still focus the shot, but refuse to snap a pic. The "CF" light on the back is NOT blinking at all. At first I thought it was because I am using a "slower" memory card. And that its taking time to transfer my first burst to the card. But I would guess no light means no transfer.

I have tried different settings on the camera itself. Even reverted to default settings. If I shut the camera off then wait 1 minute and turn it back on I can still only shoot one pic at a time followed by a LONG "busy", then when it goes away I can shoot one more pic, followed by more busy.

I tried looking through the manual to see what it says about this, and to my surorise nothing is shown at all about it. It does not even say what the busy display shows for. So I have no where to even start guessing.

I have found that I get the error worse when I shoot in low light, or if I am using ANY lens on the closer zoom settings.

If my subject is near, and the zoom is back off as far as possible in good light, I seem to have no problems at all.

I have also tried charging the battery to full figuring it was waiting for the flash, but that does not seem to make a difference. And the flash seems to have no problem bursting for the first 20 shots, why would it take 30 seconds to charge for ever after that??

Any help is greatly appreciated. I have missed a few good shots all ready for this busy sign. And with Christmas only a few days away I would HATE to have to wait for the camera. One of the reasons I bought this was because of the speed of pics. My A610 worked great, but could not shoot as many shots as this one in a row, and was VERY slow to start up.

Dec 23, 2007 11:17



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
DDCSD
GIVIN' GOOD KARMA
DDCSD's Avatar
13,313 posts

Joined Jun 2007

South Dakota
MORE INFO

Is it happening when using on-board flash?

Dec 23, 2007 11:19

Derek
Bucketman Karma Fund
http://photography-on-the.net ...php?p=9903477#post9​903477
POTN FF L2 MadTown Birds


Full Gear List & Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
Stinky_1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Dec 2007

Airdrie Alberta
MORE INFO

yes, sorry. I should have specified. That is with the on board flash.

I suppose a good way to eliminate that as a suspect would be to throw my external flash on there and see if it still happens.

Good thinking. I will try that right away and post back in a few minutes.

Dec 23, 2007 11:23 as a reply to DDCSD's post 4 minutes earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
Stinky_1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Dec 2007

Airdrie Alberta
MORE INFO

ok, so first test......

The camera keeps shooting on and on with no problems. One thing to note, the flash is NOT keeping up with the pictures. So I shoot 3 shots in a row, only ONE of them would have the flash going. The camera does not get any feedback to say that the flash is not ready, so it just chugs along assuming that the flash is working just fine.

I would have tested more, but my CF card got full on me. So I am dumping it to the PC right now and will try "round 2" in a few more minutes.

So far though, it looks like it may be an issue with the flash.

thanks for the help so far. And hope to get more in the future.

Dec 23, 2007 11:31



LOG IN TO REPLY
jiggling_john
Senior Member
jiggling_john's Avatar
593 posts

Joined Apr 2006

Birmingham, UK
MORE INFO

im not sure your onboard flash will or is meant to keep up...

Dec 23, 2007 13:48

Canon 40D :: 50mm f1.8 mk II :: 17-40mm f4 L :: EX 430 :: Canon EOS 50 :: Canon AE-1 Program :: FD 50mm f1.8 :: FD 28mm f2.8 :: FD 135mm f3.5 :: Ilford HP5 Film :: Developing kit. No website, nothing serious, I just like taking photos

LOG IN TO REPLY
smallpotatoes
Senior Member
smallpotatoes's Avatar
833 posts

Joined May 2007

Longmont, CO.
MORE INFO

Page 54 of the manual mentions that this will happen to protect your flash.

Jaci

Dec 23, 2007 14:36

Jaci

XTi, Tamron 17-50, 55-250 IS, Nifty Fifty, 430EX, Raynox DCR 150

LOG IN TO REPLY
Stinky_1
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined Dec 2007

Airdrie Alberta
MORE INFO

awsome, thank you for the help. I guess its giving it time to let the flash cool down to keep the circuitry in tact?

I will have to slow down a bit I guess.

Thanks guys.

Dec 23, 2007 16:31 as a reply to smallpotatoes's post 1 hour earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
Corejonp1
Senior Member
Corejonp1's Avatar
270 posts

Joined Dec 2007

Clifton Park, Ny
MORE INFO

I'm no camera expert, but Atleast based on my limited electronics background, The time between flashes is partly determined by the capacitors ability to recharge, also, probably to keep the light element from over heating..

Dec 23, 2007 19:41 as a reply to Stinky_1's post 3 hours earlier.

Canon Rebel XT (350D) 18-55 kit lens & 50 Mk2.

LOG IN TO REPLY
timbop
Goldmember
timbop's Avatar
2,975 posts

Joined Apr 2007

Southern New Jersey, USA
MORE INFO

get an external flash - they recycle much faster and are much stronger.

Dec 23, 2007 22:40

Current: 2x5DM3, 8mm fish, 17-40/4, 24-105/4IS, 35/2IS, 70-200/4IS, 85/1.8, 135/2, 580's and AB800's
Formerly: 7D, 300D, 5D, 5DM2, 20D, 50D, 1DM2, 17-55IS, 24-70, 28-135IS, 40/2.8, 50/1.8, 50/1.4, 70-200/2.8IS, 70-300IS, 70-200/2.8, 100 macro, 400/5.6, tammy 17-50 and 28-75, sigma 50 macro & 100-300

LOG IN TO REPLY
ALaS
Goldmember
ALaS's Avatar
2,205 posts

Joined Aug 2007
MORE INFO

the "on board" flash recycles very slow.

Dec 23, 2007 22:47

Best Regards,
-Ericson.
flickexternal linkrexternal link | Gear -Canon 1Ds Mark II, 50L & 28mm f/1.8 for SALE!

LOG IN TO REPLY
jdharris
Member
jdharris's Avatar
181 posts

Joined Sep 2007

near Nashville, TN
MORE INFO

I don't know if this will help you since you do have an external flash, but I too have noticed the BUSY issue when using the onboard flash. It has been random for me, where I could be a in a fast sequence of shots, or just took a picture a moment ago and now I am ready to take another. Either way, it is annoying, but I did find a way around it. Use the dial to change from one mode to another and then back to your original mode (Like Av to M and then back to Av). This will get you one more quick shot, but I wouldn't suggest doing this too frequently if the issue actually is with allowing the flash components to cool off so you don't overheat them.

Dec 26, 2007 09:49

Canon 5D Mk II | 40D | 35L | 50L | 85 1.8 | 135L | Lowepro Off Trail 2 | Canon 1EG | Shootsac

http://jdharrisphotogr​aphy.wordpress.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mai_lin
Senior Member
637 posts
Joined Nov 2007

Rhode Island
MORE INFO

timbop wrote in post #4560184external link
get an external flash - they recycle much faster and are much stronger.

agreed - this is why my christmas gifts included a 430ex... I can't STAND the onboard flash... it super sux :p

Dec 26, 2007 09:50

http://DeCesariPhotogr​aphy.comexternal link
Canon EOS 5Dmk II and 40D

Canon EF 20-35mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, Canon EF 28mm f/1.8 USM, Canon EF 50mm f/1.4, Canon EF 85 f/1.8 USM, Speedlite 580EX II :D
http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...Excalibur_3200_W_S_​2.htmlexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

15,792 views & 0 likes for this thread
Rebel XTi shows "Busy" a LOT! HELP
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00121 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Olica
605 guests, 676 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015