LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Kenko 1.5 TC

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 21 Jan 2008 (Monday) 17:50   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
BSBXTi
Goldmember
BSBXTi's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,563 posts
NJ, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

This has probably been brought up before, but I searched and couldn't find anything, so here is my question: I would like to know how well this teleconverter work with the canon 400mm 5.6. I know about the loss of autofocus and how you loose a stop of light. I'm just interested in how the image quailty holds up. There are times when I want to get a pictular bird in frame without cropping so heavily! :D

Thanks,

Brenton

Post #1, Jan 21, 2008 17:50:29


Brenton Biggs
My Galleries --->
www.alluringnatureimages.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Sp00ks
Goldmember
Sp00ks's Avatar
Joined Apr 2006
1,654 posts
Raleigh, NC
[MORE/SHARE]

I don't have the 400mm 5.6 but I must say I don't care for the I/Q when attached to my 70-200 f2.8. I haven't mounted it in a year. I am picky and I don't believe mine is the Pro version but I will probably never use it again. My $.02

Post #2, Jan 21, 2008 17:55:47


http://www.shutterup.n​etexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
BSBXTi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
BSBXTi's Avatar
Joined May 2007
1,563 posts
NJ, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Interesting! thanks Spooks!

Post #3, Jan 21, 2008 17:57:43


Brenton Biggs
My Galleries --->
www.alluringnatureimages.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
kfong
Senior Member
Joined Jun 2003
124 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Beware that the Kenko 1.5 TC( as oppose to the 1.4 TC) MAYBE unsuitable for a FF camera.

Ken

Post #4, Jan 23, 2008 01:52:13




LOG IN TO REPLY
gasrocks
Cream of the Crop
gasrocks's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
13,431 posts
Portage, Wisconsin USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Get the 1.4x not the 1.5x - difference in IQ.

Post #5, Jan 23, 2008 05:17:49


GEAR LIST
_______________

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
smcclelland
Goldmember
smcclelland's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
2,686 posts
Toronto, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

Haven't tested it on a 400 5.6 but I've mated it to my 100-400 and it still AF's nicely, hunts slightly if the light really dims. I picked up the Pro version which is supposed to have better optics than the standard, it also doesn't seem to report on either my 100-400 or 70-200. I didn't notice any significant IQ loss on my 70-200 f4 but then again I wasn't pixel peeping to extremes.

Post #6, Jan 23, 2008 08:07:21


Shawn | Flickrexternal link | Blogexternal link
There used to be Canon gear here but it disappeared.

LOG IN TO REPLY
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
9,908 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have all three Kenkos: 1.4x Pro DG (black), 1.4x Pro (white), 1.5x DG (black). The "Pro" units are only very slightly better optically than the 1.5x. The 1.5x is very similar to the black Tamron 1.4x "F" model, which is also very good. IMO the 1.5x is a very good TC, and you can get them used (sometimes) at a bargain price.

Post #7, Jan 23, 2008 10:11:17




LOG IN TO REPLY
badams
Senior Member
badams's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
667 posts
Southern Oklahoma
[MORE/SHARE]

I love my 1.5x, but I have the 100-400. As stated above you still get AF with it.

Post #8, Jan 23, 2008 10:55:28


Everyday use: 7D2, 2x Canon TC or 1.5x Kenko TC, Canon 500mm f4 L IS USM; 6D, 24-105L
http://www.southernokp​hotography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
Joined Feb 2008
2,975 posts
Union, NJ. All day baby!
[MORE/SHARE]

WIll the kenko pro 1.4 autofocus on the 400 5.6 (i assume the 1.5 will AF on the prime if it does on the 100-400)?

Post #9, Apr 24, 2008 21:51:28


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
9,908 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

wallybud wrote in post #5398800external link
WIll the kenko pro 1.4 autofocus on the 400 5.6 (i assume the 1.5 will AF on the prime if it does on the 100-400)?

The 40D is really picky, more so than its siblings, when going beyond f5.6 (with pins taped). It's hit and miss: some get it to work, others don't. I wouldn't count on it.

Post #10, Apr 24, 2008 21:54:25




LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
Joined Feb 2008
2,975 posts
Union, NJ. All day baby!
[MORE/SHARE]

so IF i consider it...I should just go for best IQ in a 1.4tc and then if its a hit keep it, if not back to amazon it goes?

Post #11, Apr 24, 2008 22:24:58


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
9,908 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

wallybud wrote in post #5399051external link
so IF i consider it...I should just go for best IQ in a 1.4tc and then if its a hit keep it, if not back to amazon it goes?

Hard to say. I don't get AF with my 40D + 100-400 IS + 1.4x TC set up. I do get it with my 20D.

Post #12, Apr 24, 2008 22:36:04




LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
Joined Feb 2008
2,975 posts
Union, NJ. All day baby!
[MORE/SHARE]

well Ive heard mixed things likeee...

a non reporting tc will do the same "damage" to the motor as taping the pins on a reporting tc. even though there seems to be no record of anything happening to a lens motor du to taping the pins(that i can find) Its just "assumed that its harmful" Id only be using it to GET THE SHOT if i need the reach....soo i assume your talking about having the pins taped on your 20d and 40d??

Post #13, Apr 24, 2008 22:41:56


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
9,908 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

wallybud wrote in post #5399164external link
well Ive heard mixed things likeee...

a non reporting tc will do the same "damage" to the motor as taping the pins on a reporting tc. even though there seems to be no record of anything happening to a lens motor du to taping the pins(that i can find) Its just "assumed that its harmful" Id only be using it to GET THE SHOT if i need the reach....soo i assume your talking about having the pins taped on your 20d and 40d??

I generally keep the pins taped on my TCs. But that's just my preference.

Post #14, Apr 24, 2008 22:43:19




LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
Joined Feb 2008
2,975 posts
Union, NJ. All day baby!
[MORE/SHARE]

ok sounds good...ill keep my fingers crossed...thanks a lot!

Post #15, Apr 24, 2008 22:47:30


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,970 views & 0 likes for this thread
Kenko 1.5 TC
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00089 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
695 guests, 491 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Hurlikai

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.