Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 21 Jan 2008 (Monday) 17:50
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Kenko 1.5 TC

 
BSBXTi
Goldmember
BSBXTi's Avatar
1,563 posts
Joined May 2007
NJ, USA
Jan 21, 2008 17:50 |  #1

This has probably been brought up before, but I searched and couldn't find anything, so here is my question: I would like to know how well this teleconverter work with the canon 400mm 5.6. I know about the loss of autofocus and how you loose a stop of light. I'm just interested in how the image quailty holds up. There are times when I want to get a pictular bird in frame without cropping so heavily! :D

Thanks,

Brenton


Brenton Biggs
My Galleries --->
www.alluringnatureimages.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Sp00ks
Goldmember
Sp00ks's Avatar
1,654 posts
Joined Apr 2006
Raleigh, NC
Jan 21, 2008 17:55 |  #2

I don't have the 400mm 5.6 but I must say I don't care for the I/Q when attached to my 70-200 f2.8. I haven't mounted it in a year. I am picky and I don't believe mine is the Pro version but I will probably never use it again. My $.02


http://www.shutterup.n​etexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
BSBXTi
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
BSBXTi's Avatar
1,563 posts
Joined May 2007
NJ, USA
Jan 21, 2008 17:57 |  #3

Interesting! thanks Spooks!


Brenton Biggs
My Galleries --->
www.alluringnatureimages.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
kfong
Member
124 posts
Joined Jun 2003
Jan 23, 2008 01:52 |  #4

Beware that the Kenko 1.5 TC( as oppose to the 1.4 TC) MAYBE unsuitable for a FF camera.

Ken




LOG IN TO REPLY
gasrocks
Cream of the Crop
gasrocks's Avatar
13,431 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Portage, Wisconsin USA
Jan 23, 2008 05:17 |  #5

Get the 1.4x not the 1.5x - difference in IQ.


GEAR LIST
_______________

LOG IN TO REPLY
smcclelland
Goldmember
smcclelland's Avatar
2,686 posts
Joined Aug 2007
Toronto, Canada
Jan 23, 2008 08:07 |  #6

Haven't tested it on a 400 5.6 but I've mated it to my 100-400 and it still AF's nicely, hunts slightly if the light really dims. I picked up the Pro version which is supposed to have better optics than the standard, it also doesn't seem to report on either my 100-400 or 70-200. I didn't notice any significant IQ loss on my 70-200 f4 but then again I wasn't pixel peeping to extremes.


Shawn | Flickrexternal link | Blogexternal link
There used to be Canon gear here but it disappeared.

LOG IN TO REPLY
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
9,908 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Jan 23, 2008 10:11 |  #7

I have all three Kenkos: 1.4x Pro DG (black), 1.4x Pro (white), 1.5x DG (black). The "Pro" units are only very slightly better optically than the 1.5x. The 1.5x is very similar to the black Tamron 1.4x "F" model, which is also very good. IMO the 1.5x is a very good TC, and you can get them used (sometimes) at a bargain price.




LOG IN TO REPLY
badams
Senior Member
badams's Avatar
Joined Nov 2006
Southern Oklahoma
Jan 23, 2008 10:55 |  #8

I love my 1.5x, but I have the 100-400. As stated above you still get AF with it.


Everyday use: 7D2, 1.4x v3 Canon TC (sometimes the 2x v2 Canon TC), Canon 500mm f4 L IS USM; 6D, 24-105L
http://www.southernokp​hotography.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
2,975 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Union, NJ. All day baby!
Apr 24, 2008 21:51 |  #9

WIll the kenko pro 1.4 autofocus on the 400 5.6 (i assume the 1.5 will AF on the prime if it does on the 100-400)?


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
9,908 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Apr 24, 2008 21:54 |  #10

wallybud wrote in post #5398800external link
WIll the kenko pro 1.4 autofocus on the 400 5.6 (i assume the 1.5 will AF on the prime if it does on the 100-400)?

The 40D is really picky, more so than its siblings, when going beyond f5.6 (with pins taped). It's hit and miss: some get it to work, others don't. I wouldn't count on it.




LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
2,975 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Union, NJ. All day baby!
Apr 24, 2008 22:24 |  #11

so IF i consider it...I should just go for best IQ in a 1.4tc and then if its a hit keep it, if not back to amazon it goes?


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
9,908 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Apr 24, 2008 22:36 |  #12

wallybud wrote in post #5399051external link
so IF i consider it...I should just go for best IQ in a 1.4tc and then if its a hit keep it, if not back to amazon it goes?

Hard to say. I don't get AF with my 40D + 100-400 IS + 1.4x TC set up. I do get it with my 20D.




LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
2,975 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Union, NJ. All day baby!
Apr 24, 2008 22:41 |  #13

well Ive heard mixed things likeee...

a non reporting tc will do the same "damage" to the motor as taping the pins on a reporting tc. even though there seems to be no record of anything happening to a lens motor du to taping the pins(that i can find) Its just "assumed that its harmful" Id only be using it to GET THE SHOT if i need the reach....soo i assume your talking about having the pins taped on your 20d and 40d??


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
LightRules
"flat out embarrassing"
LightRules's Avatar
9,908 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Apr 24, 2008 22:43 |  #14

wallybud wrote in post #5399164external link
well Ive heard mixed things likeee...

a non reporting tc will do the same "damage" to the motor as taping the pins on a reporting tc. even though there seems to be no record of anything happening to a lens motor du to taping the pins(that i can find) Its just "assumed that its harmful" Id only be using it to GET THE SHOT if i need the reach....soo i assume your talking about having the pins taped on your 20d and 40d??

I generally keep the pins taped on my TCs. But that's just my preference.




LOG IN TO REPLY
wallybud
Taking the "Walk of Shame"
wallybud's Avatar
2,975 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Union, NJ. All day baby!
Apr 24, 2008 22:47 |  #15

ok sounds good...ill keep my fingers crossed...thanks a lot!


-Walt-
Life is good. Do What You Like. Like What You Do.
GEAR LIST
Take | In | Life Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,683 views & 0 likes for this thread
Kenko 1.5 TC
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0022 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Denton D
886 guests, 670 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016