Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 03 Feb 2008 (Sunday) 09:18
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

mac doesn't recognize my camera

 
dicky2988
Senior Member
dicky2988's Avatar
306 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Somerset
MORE INFO

i've recently upgraded to a macbook and outed my dated windows desktop.


Everything was going fine, until i needed to upload some photos. I plug my camera in the same as i would have done with my desktop, but nothing happens. Is this a fault with the camera, the macbook. Or like windows do i need to install drivers to use the camera with the macbook?

any help would be greatly received.


Rich

Feb 03, 2008 09:18

My 500PXexternal link flickrexternal linkCanon EOS 5D Mkiii Canon 50mm F1.8 Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 II APO EX DG Macro Canon Speedlite 430EXii

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ooo
Goldmember
ooo's Avatar
1,764 posts

Joined Oct 2007

NYC
MORE INFO

I tried to plug in my camera once to my imac and it didn't read it either. Now I just pull out the memory card and use my card reader. Never tried it on my windows pc though.

Feb 03, 2008 09:20

.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Pete
Cream of the Crop
Pete's Avatar
38,607 posts

Joined Jul 2006
MORE INFO

dicky2988 wrote in post #4841829external link
i've recently upgraded to a macbook and outed my dated windows desktop.


Everything was going fine, until i needed to upload some photos. I plug my camera in the same as i would have done with my desktop, but nothing happens. Is this a fault with the camera, the macbook. Or like windows do i need to install drivers to use the camera with the macbook?

any help would be greatly received.


Rich

You'd probably need to install the Canon software. Or (easier) just get a card reader and use that instead.

Feb 03, 2008 09:22

Pete
UK SE Catch of the Day

LOG IN TO REPLY
dicky2988
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
dicky2988's Avatar
306 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Somerset
MORE INFO

okay, i will hunt out a card reader. When i used the built in card readers that my desktop had, they were much slower. Are remote card readers much quicker now? Could anyone suggest a cad reader i need? Or will any do?

Feb 03, 2008 09:27

My 500PXexternal link flickrexternal linkCanon EOS 5D Mkiii Canon 50mm F1.8 Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 II APO EX DG Macro Canon Speedlite 430EXii

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick ­ Pro
Goldmember
Nick Pro's Avatar
1,084 posts

Joined Jan 2008

South Jersey
MORE INFO

You need to turn the camera on to transfer the files to iphoto. Works amazingly for me. When you turn the camera on, iphoto will bounce up and down, asking you if you want to delete the photos after you download them.

Feb 03, 2008 09:28


LOG IN TO REPLY
dicky2988
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
dicky2988's Avatar
306 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Somerset
MORE INFO

Nope i don't get that. Turn the camera on, it says busy, no reaction from the macbook at all though

Feb 03, 2008 09:31

My 500PXexternal link flickrexternal linkCanon EOS 5D Mkiii Canon 50mm F1.8 Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 II APO EX DG Macro Canon Speedlite 430EXii

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick ­ Pro
Goldmember
Nick Pro's Avatar
1,084 posts

Joined Jan 2008

South Jersey
MORE INFO

hmmm.....I dont know. Take it in to the apple store.

Feb 03, 2008 09:49


LOG IN TO REPLY
joelcpa
Mostly Lurking
15 posts
Joined Jul 2005
MORE INFO

Check your preferences in iphoto. Under general preferences, set "Connecting Camera opens" to either iphoto or image capture. Then give it another try.

Good luck,

Joel

Feb 03, 2008 09:58 as a reply to Nick Pro's post 9 minutes earlier.

Canon 40D - 24-70mm 2.8 L, 85mm 1.2 L, 70-200mm 2.8 L

LOG IN TO REPLY
dicky2988
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
dicky2988's Avatar
306 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Somerset
MORE INFO

just got a card reader, thats all sorted okay.

But the problem now is. I think one usb port isn't working on my macbook, and i only got it two days ago!

If i plug anything in my second usb port, nothing happens at all. Any advice?

Feb 03, 2008 10:57

My 500PXexternal link flickrexternal linkCanon EOS 5D Mkiii Canon 50mm F1.8 Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 II APO EX DG Macro Canon Speedlite 430EXii

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Tony-S's Avatar
9,809 posts

Joined Jan 2006

Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
MORE INFO

1. For the image capture: You need to run Image Capture, which is in your Applications folder of your hard drive, to tell your MacBook what to do when a camera is connected. This should have been defaulted to iPhoto from the factory, but it sounds as though yours has been altered in some way.

2. Plug a mouse into the working USB port to make sure it works. Then plug it into the non-working USB port. Is is still dead? If so, then try shutting down your MB and removing the battery for 10 or 15 seconds, then put it back in (unplug the computer from the AC adapter, too). If it's still not functioning, give Apple a call.

Feb 03, 2008 21:24

Gear list
"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.
Zeiss 35/2 for sale.

LOG IN TO REPLY
DocFrankenstein
Cream of the Crop
DocFrankenstein's Avatar
12,324 posts

Joined Apr 2004

where the buffalo roam
MORE INFO

Did you see the commercial? The mac is talking to the camera in japanese.

Hajimumashte

Feb 03, 2008 21:31

National Sarcasm Society. Like we need your support.

LOG IN TO REPLY
dicky2988
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
dicky2988's Avatar
306 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Somerset
MORE INFO

Tony-S wrote in post #4845457external link
1. For the image capture: You need to run Image Capture, which is in your Applications folder of your hard drive, to tell your MacBook what to do when a camera is connected. This should have been defaulted to iPhoto from the factory, but it sounds as though yours has been altered in some way.

2. Plug a mouse into the working USB port to make sure it works. Then plug it into the non-working USB port. Is is still dead? If so, then try shutting down your MB and removing the battery for 10 or 15 seconds, then put it back in (unplug the computer from the AC adapter, too). If it's still not functioning, give Apple a call.


Thankyou very much, both have worked, thankyou. Saved me having to ring aple t fix i


Thanks again, Rich

Feb 03, 2008 23:54

My 500PXexternal link flickrexternal linkCanon EOS 5D Mkiii Canon 50mm F1.8 Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 II APO EX DG Macro Canon Speedlite 430EXii

LOG IN TO REPLY
Chepoolo
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Apr 2010
MORE INFO

so far, JOELCPA was the only user that gave me an actual good solution for this issue, the rest users in this forum just kept saying that the best way to go is a card reader but they didn't really help solving the problem.

I changed the preferences on iphoto and plugged in my camera again, turned it on and it started reading the pictures, not with the default software - Image browser - I always use for downloading pictures from my EOS Rebel XT camera to my macbook, but with this other software run by Epson, which I think it comes with the drivers of my Epson printer. BUT THIS WORKED! thanks JOELCPA

Apr 29, 2010 07:31



LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Tony-S's Avatar
9,809 posts

Joined Jan 2006

Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
MORE INFO

Chepoolo wrote in post #10087945external link
so far, JOELCPA was the only user that gave me an actual good solution for this issue, the rest users in this forum just kept saying that the best way to go is a card reader but they didn't really help solving the problem.

You must have some serious reading comprehension issues if you believe that.

Nothing like dredging up a 2 year old thread for your very first post. :rolleyes:

Apr 29, 2010 08:59

Gear list
"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.
Zeiss 35/2 for sale.

LOG IN TO REPLY
JesseLambs
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Jul 2010
MORE INFO

joelcpa wrote in post #4841967external link
Check your preferences in iphoto. Under general preferences, set "Connecting Camera opens" to either iphoto or image capture. Then give it another try.

Good luck,

Joel


Thanks Joel! You helped me out big time too. If anyone plugged in their canon camera before installing canon software, or if your mac just won't recognize your canon camera, listen to this guy.

Jul 18, 2010 18:25



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

76,192 views & 0 likes for this thread
mac doesn't recognize my camera
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0014 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Olica
605 guests, 675 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015