Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Photo Sharing' section > Still Life, B/W & Experimental
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15th of February 2008 (Fri)   #1
julian kalmar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vienna Austria
Posts: 70
Default Gigapixel repro

Hallo, I just uploaded a new Gigapixel image of St. Peterschurch.
I made a very similar picture before but nevertheless they are very different. If you are interested in some technical details you are invited to read the Making Of
http://photoartkalmar.com/ZOOMIFY/Fr...erskirche.html
Here is the thumb for those having less time
__________________
http://photoartkalmar.com
julian kalmar is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of February 2008 (Fri)   #2
and.duncan
Member
 
and.duncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 267
Default Re: Gigapixel repro

wow.

I read the 'making of' but I'm a little confused. This would be done with lots of exposures sown together?

You mentioned it had to be taken at f/14 but that there are still parts out of focus. Are you unable to refocus between shots to ensure that each shot is in focus? That said, it all looked in focus to me anyway.

Gotta love being able to zoom in on the cracks near the ring surrounding the bird in the middle
and.duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2008 (Sat)   #3
julian kalmar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vienna Austria
Posts: 70
Default Re: Gigapixel repro

Quote:
Originally Posted by and.duncan View Post
wow.

I read the 'making of' but I'm a little confused. This would be done with lots of exposures sown together?

You mentioned it had to be taken at f/14 but that there are still parts out of focus. Are you unable to refocus between shots to ensure that each shot is in focus? That said, it all looked in focus to me anyway.

Gotta love being able to zoom in on the cracks near the ring surrounding the bird in the middle
Fore each image I took one image with the focusing point at the bottom third and one image with the focusing point at the top third and then I combined the two images.
With 300mm the depth of field is simply not enough to get the comletey image in focus no matter where you set the focusing point.
__________________
http://photoartkalmar.com
julian kalmar is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 16th of February 2008 (Sat)   #4
Amfamora
Member
 
Amfamora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 692
Default Re: Gigapixel repro

How long did it take you to complete the photos? Hour many hour shoot?
__________________
7D Gripped - 15-85mm IS - 70-200mm f4 L IS - Sigma 30mm f1.4 - Wigma 10-20mm - YN465 & YN560 Speedlites x2 - BX500Ri

My Gallery
Amfamora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of February 2008 (Sun)   #5
julian kalmar
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vienna Austria
Posts: 70
Default Re: Gigapixel repro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amfamora View Post
How long did it take you to complete the photos? Hour many hour shoot?
4 hours for taking all pictures (~500)
2 1/2 weeks for the complete picture
__________________
http://photoartkalmar.com
julian kalmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
13.4 Gigapixel camera |)\/8 The POTN Lounge 14 6th of September 2007 (Thu) 00:44
Gigapixel richedwards Nature & Landscapes 5 15th of April 2006 (Sat) 16:32
Gigapixel Image am_pitbull_terrier General Photography Talk 1 29th of January 2006 (Sun) 10:49
2.6 Gigapixel images. nomel General Photography Talk 1 26th of May 2004 (Wed) 08:28


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.