Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th of February 2008 (Sat)   #1
jack Sparrow
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Warwickshire UK
Posts: 99
Default Problem with changing light

Hi all.

Yesterday i was at a butterfly farm, and i took my canon 400d.

My questionis how do you quickly change your camera setting for changing in light condition, like one shot can be over exposed and one could be under in a matter of seconds. i had my camera set to manual, and was just using the dial on the front to change shutter speed, but im just wondering how other manage to control fast light changing conditions.

regards
Jack
jack Sparrow is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 16th of February 2008 (Sat)   #2
Cody21
Member
 
Cody21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: El Cerrito, Ca.
Posts: 592
Default Re: Problem with changing light

In constant changing light situatons, it might be better to set to Aperture Priorty mode and let the camera manage the shutterspeed for you. But that might also result in underexposed situations thus requiring a faster ISO ... just a thought.
__________________
-------------------------------------------------------------

5DM3 | 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM | 70-200mm IS f/4L | 24-105 f/4L | Sigma 18-50mm f2.8 | Speedlite 430EX
Cody21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2008 (Sat)   #3
jack Sparrow
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Warwickshire UK
Posts: 99
Default Re: Problem with changing light

cheers for that, my problem is ive got stuck working in manual and dont even give the other settings a thought now, maybe i should change my chain of thought

regards
jack
jack Sparrow is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 16th of February 2008 (Sat)   #4
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
 
SkipD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
Posts: 19,319
Default Re: Problem with changing light

Jack, I also work with the camera in manual exposure mode most of the time. I often use a handheld meter in incident mode to measure the light falling on the subject and transfer that reading to the camera's settings. While I use the hand held meter for the specific measurements that I transfer to the camera, though, I use the camera's built-in meter to clue me in on possible changes of the light level from time to time. When the built-in meter shifts, I take another reading with the incident meter.

Why do I use the handheld meter? It's because the camera's built-in meter is often fooled by the color(s) or reflective characteristic(s) of the subject. An incident meter is not affected by the subject at all. You merely need to read light that is falling on the subject or light that is the same as that falling on the subject (light from the sky, for example, assuming sky light falling on your position is the same as that falling on the subject).
__________________
Skip Douglas
A few cameras and almost 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.
SkipD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of February 2008 (Sat)   #5
PhotosGuy
Moderator
 
PhotosGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S. E. Michigan
Posts: 67,346
Default Re: Problem with changing light

Quote:
like one shot can be over exposed and one could be under in a matter of seconds.
But how much time was there between changes? Pick your shots, & I'll bet there was way more time than it takes to do this: Need an exposure crutch?
__________________
FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
www.FrankCizek.com

Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
PhotosGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else having a problem changing sigs? Radtech1 Forum Talk 11 23rd of December 2007 (Sun) 01:12
Changing light bikerider Urban Life & Travel 19 11th of September 2007 (Tue) 05:24
Trouble changing a light bulb FotOz The POTN Lounge 3 25th of July 2007 (Wed) 03:02
Changing hosts - Problem Downgrading Mysql DB lost Version 1.0-1.5 discussion 15 4th of October 2006 (Wed) 16:38
Another take on the changing light JLP9639 Nature & Landscapes 15 6th of July 2006 (Thu) 22:24


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.