Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 22nd of February 2008 (Fri)   #1
Propi
Member
 
Propi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 95
Default Making "full screen" the default view in Photoshop?

Is there a way to avoid pressing the F button after loading each picture? I want the "full screen" option as my default workspace view, without the need of the F button. Is that possible?
Propi is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 22nd of February 2008 (Fri)   #2
ssim
POTN Landscape & Cityscape Photographer 2005
 
ssim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: southern Alberta, Canada
Posts: 10,884
Default Re: Making "full screen" the default view in Photoshop?

You cannot actually go to the full screen mode unless you have an image loaded so I don't think that this would be possible. I tried saving a new workspace when I was at full screen, quit CS3 and restarted it. Even if I tried changing to this new workspace without an image loaded it stayed at the standard view.

I haven't been able to find a way to do this, maybe someone else can. Hitting the F key for now seems to be the option.
__________________
My life is like one big RAW file....way too much post processing needed.

Sheldon Simpson | My Gallery | My Gear updated: 20JUL12
ssim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of February 2008 (Fri)   #3
Damo77
Goldmember
 
Damo77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,072
Default Re: Making "full screen" the default view in Photoshop?

CS3 on my Mac at work remembers which mode I was last in. I've never found a way to do it on a PC, though.

(Dammit, I HATE admitting that a Mac can do something that a PC can't!!!)
__________________
Damien
Trying to build a Brisbane retouching, restoration and canvas printing business in the face of a global financial crisis
Check out my Photoshop portfolio, tutorials and articles
, and my blog: The Info Palette
Damo77 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 22nd of February 2008 (Fri)   #4
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 5,482
Default Re: Making "full screen" the default view in Photoshop?

You didn't say which version of Photoshop you're using but in CS3 you have the option of making either Standard Screen Mode (Windowed View) or Maximized Screen Mode (full screen view) your default. If I remember correctly, earlier versions of Photoshop only had threen screen modes and the fourth was added in CS3.

You set it by clicking the Change Screen Mode button on the tool bar (its the last button at the bottom) or pressing the F key. There's a little arrow on the tool that open a flyout menu from which you can select either screen mode; it then becomes "sticky" so Photoshop remembers when you reopen it.

Oddly enough the other two screen mode options, "Full Screen Mode with Menu bar" and "Full Screen Mode" are not sticky. If you select either of those and then close Photoshop, the next time you open it will start up in Maximized Screen mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Propi View Post
Is there a way to avoid pressing the F button after loading each picture? I want the "full screen" option as my default workspace view, without the need of the F button. Is that possible?
PixelMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Image quality "Fit Screen" vs Actual Pixels" canon shooter RAW, Post Processing and Printing 1 2nd of December 2007 (Sun) 19:19
"New" Discovery on new laptop's carrying Vista as default. Aaagogo RAW, Post Processing and Printing 8 3rd of May 2007 (Thu) 14:45
Why do CS2 "shadows" default to 50%? AirBrontosaurus RAW, Post Processing and Printing 1 7th of January 2007 (Sun) 14:26
Default setting of switch "show/hide photo detail" TomKa Version 1.0-1.5 discussion 1 17th of March 2004 (Wed) 16:32


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.