LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


How to turn off flash when taking Macro with Rebel XT?

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 01 Mar 2008 (Saturday) 10:47   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
nrupalp
Hatchling
Joined Mar 2008
6 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I need to take photographs when I do interior photography with 0-360 adapter for virtual tours. In order for me to take a picture which is in focus i have to take it in macro w/o the flash. Can someone please help me out on this?

Post #1, Mar 01, 2008 10:47:41




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
JeffreyG
"my bits and pieces are all hard"
JeffreyG's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
14,434 posts
Detroit, MI
[MORE/SHARE]

I assume you are using a tripod. The reason the macro icon works is that it is stopping the lens down enough for adequate depth of field.

Anytime you are stitching you really should be in M mode to keep exposure constant. Try ISO400, f/8 and adjust the shutter speed to center the meter while pointed at a wall that lacks windows. Shoot the room with those settings.

There are better ways overall to set exposure but (no offense) your current level of photographic knowledge makes these methods too difficult to explain fully.

Post #2, Mar 01, 2008 10:52:07


My personal stuff:http://www.flickr.com/​photos/jngirbach/sets/external link
Commercial sports:http://girbach.zenfoli​o.com/external link
I use a Canon 5DIII and 1DIV and a Panasonic GF-1

LOG IN TO REPLY
nrupalp
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Mar 2008
6 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

JeffreyG wrote in post #5026635external link
I assume you are using a tripod. The reason the macro icon works is that it is stopping the lens down enough for adequate depth of field.

Anytime you are stitching you really should be in M mode to keep exposure constant. Try ISO400, f/8 and adjust the shutter speed to center the meter while pointed at a wall that lacks windows. Shoot the room with those settings.

There are better ways overall to set exposure but (no offense) your current level of photographic knowledge makes these methods too difficult to explain fully.

Thanks for your reply. Yes, I am not inclined in digital photography but am trying to learn as fast as i can.
I am using tripod and the camera and the lens kit for virtual tour is mounted on it and the camera is pointed up in the middle of the room. if i shoot with your recomended settings, the flash wont go on?

Post #3, Mar 01, 2008 11:10:50




LOG IN TO REPLY
gjl711
human (barely) and bribable
gjl711's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
48,195 posts
Deep in the heart of Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

To keep the flash from popping up, do not use the green box. Setting things up manually is best, but "P" mode will work as well but yo might get variations in the pics as you pan around.

Post #4, Mar 01, 2008 11:22:41


Not sure why, but call me JJ.
I wondered why the baseball was getting bigger, then it hit me
.
::Flickr::external link
::Gear::

LOG IN TO REPLY
JeffreyG
"my bits and pieces are all hard"
JeffreyG's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
14,434 posts
Detroit, MI
[MORE/SHARE]

nrupalp wrote in post #5026710external link
Thanks for your reply. Yes, I am not inclined in digital photography but am trying to learn as fast as i can.
I am using tripod and the camera and the lens kit for virtual tour is mounted on it and the camera is pointed up in the middle of the room. if i shoot with your recomended settings, the flash wont go on?

In all of the "creative" zones (Av, Tv, M and P) the flash will only do what you tell it to do.

Green box and all of the icon modes are fully automated and the camera decides on flash. The camera is ignorant of tripod use and thus the disconnect.

Post #5, Mar 01, 2008 11:32:51


My personal stuff:http://www.flickr.com/​photos/jngirbach/sets/external link
Commercial sports:http://girbach.zenfoli​o.com/external link
I use a Canon 5DIII and 1DIV and a Panasonic GF-1

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
perfect_pixel
Senior Member
perfect_pixel's Avatar
Joined Aug 2006
450 posts
Warminster, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

You don't need macro for this lens just getting your focus correct. With an SLR it is a pain in the butt and the weight of the lens mounted on top of the SLR lens tends to backdrive it and throw the focus off (try a rubber band around the lens barrel to stop this).

The kit lens works ok with the 0-360 lens, if you are using anything else then just keep an eye on the minimum focus distance which must be around 15cm (?) or less to be able to focus on the mirror.

The simple setup is camera in AV mode, aperture at F8 and manual focus. Bracket your exposures -1,0,+1 which will give you a good chance at having one exposure which works out best for the room and windows. In AV you choose whether the flash fires or not, the user manual describes how to turn it on and off.

Honestly though the XT is not the best camera for this and you are going to spend hours focussing all the time not to mention trying to see through the viewfinder whilst the camera is pointed vertically.

The G series (e.g. G5, G6) are absolutely perfect for it and will store all of your settings (including focus) in the custom modes.

Hope this helps,


Steve

Post #6, Mar 01, 2008 11:58:26



"...Most things in life are moments of pleasure and a lifetime of embarrassment; photography is a moment of embarrassment and a lifetime of pleasure..." ~Tony Benn

LOG IN TO REPLY
nrupalp
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
Joined Mar 2008
6 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

perfect_pixel wrote in post #5026917external link
You don't need macro for this lens just getting your focus correct. With an SLR it is a pain in the butt and the weight of the lens mounted on top of the SLR lens tends to backdrive it and throw the focus off (try a rubber band around the lens barrel to stop this).

The kit lens works ok with the 0-360 lens, if you are using anything else then just keep an eye on the minimum focus distance which must be around 15cm (?) or less to be able to focus on the mirror.

The simple setup is camera in AV mode, aperture at F8 and manual focus. Bracket your exposures -1,0,+1 which will give you a good chance at having one exposure which works out best for the room and windows. In AV you choose whether the flash fires or not, the user manual describes how to turn it on and off.

Honestly though the XT is not the best camera for this and you are going to spend hours focussing all the time not to mention trying to see through the viewfinder whilst the camera is pointed vertically.

The G series (e.g. G5, G6) are absolutely perfect for it and will store all of your settings (including focus) in the custom modes.

Hope this helps,

Steve

I appreciate all the help from you guys. I think best bet for me to get a regular camera and not an SLR for ths function. I have a spare Fuji s602 which is compatible with it also and i will give that a shot, i will have to order the adapter i guess.

Post #7, Mar 01, 2008 12:54:31




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
4,116 views & 0 likes for this thread
How to turn off flash when taking Macro with Rebel XT?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00116 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1031 guests, 848 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Billzo

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.