Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > The Business of Photography
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 7th of March 2008 (Fri)   #1
shell

Default Anyone work with SharpShooter Imaging?

Got an email about a local Globetrotters game they need photogs for and I have no experience with this company. Any help would be great.
shell is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 7th of March 2008 (Fri)   #2
sapearl
emailed Tim some prozac

Default Re: Anyone work with SharpShooter Imaging?

Sorry, don't have any experience with these folks. Things to think of though:

1. Who retains copyright to the images?
2. Do they have full publication rights?
3. Are you paid a royalty each time the shot is used (I doubt it) or do you get a flat fee?
4. Can you use the images for your own personal use or exhibit?
5. Do they require the full resolution image?
6. How much time do they expect you to invest in the shoot?
7. Regarding time, will you be just shooting or are their meetings to attend?
8. Will you be expected to PP your own shots?

Some of these firms can offer exciting experiences and great access. But many don't pay much in return. You may be paid what seems like a nice flat fee for shooting, but might be expected to be on-call or equally tied up. Ask lots of questions; read the fine print.

Funny they don't have their own pro shooters to do the job. That would give them consistency, reliability and a regular product. Lack of a staff implies to me they don't want to invest much money in their photographic efforts. Remember, Google is your friend - ask around on the web .
sapearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of March 2008 (Fri)   #3
shell