Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Thread started 03 Nov 2004 (Wednesday) 12:53
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

G3 LCD trouble

 
mattjs
Member
114 posts
Joined Jun 2003
Boston, MA USA
Nov 03, 2004 12:53 |  #1

So bummed right now cause it seems like the LCD on my G3 might have just quit on me. Either that or I'm just missing something. Was shooting outside at lunch and all of a sudden it just went black.

It's not the display setting cause I tried that. The interesting thing is I can just barely make out an image in shooting mode (not enough to to be usable mind you...I'm talkin just barely enough that I know the LCD's on and working). Can also just barely make out the "Canon" during startup, the histogram in the histogram replay mode, and the header in menu mode. You get the picture. It's working but barely giving me an image to work with. And "just barely" is being generous.

What the heck happened? Did it quit on me? Did I foul up a setting? Anybody else had this problem? Again, it doesn't appear to be the display setting, which is what I'd hoped I'd done right off the bat. Camera's just about a year old.

I know the LCD can feeze up in the cold, but it's only about 45-50 degrees here right now, and I only had it out for about an hour, maybe an hour when it gave out. Plus I've had it inside now for a half hour or so, and still the same. Tried changing battery, and CF cards, and no luck there either. I know it's taking pictures, cause I just took some blind shots in the office, and they came out fine. Help  ???


- Matt
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dmspicsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Brian ­ Tilley
Member
160 posts
Joined Jul 2003
Central New Hampshire
Nov 03, 2004 14:24 |  #2

My lcd died a few months ago.

Not quite the same problem you have, my lcd was completely blank; no image at all. I was also getting error messages on the digital display on the top of the camera.

I was able to get it fixed just before the warranty ended.
The paperwork returned with the camera stated that they replaced the lcd hinge.

Looks to me like a wire or connection between the camera body and the lcd failed and they replaced the whole lcd unit.

Hope your camera is still under warranty.

Good luck.




LOG IN TO REPLY
dbump
Senior Member
dbump's Avatar
755 posts
Joined Apr 2003
Denver, CO
Nov 03, 2004 19:35 |  #3

From your description, it sounds like the backlight died--at least that's what I've seen on laptop LCDs where the backlight failed. It may be as simple as the power wires going to it cracking in the hinge, as Brian described. If it's not under warranty, I know there's a thread on this forum that discusses hinge repair, and includes some images. Paying for out-of-warranty repair is another option, but it sounds pricey.


7D, G10, 17-55 f/2.8 IS, 70-200 f/2.8 IS, 100 Macro, 50 f/1.4, 430EX II
There are no wrong notes
--Thelonious Monk

LOG IN TO REPLY
mattjs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
114 posts
Joined Jun 2003
Boston, MA USA
Nov 05, 2004 12:54 |  #4

Thanks,

The backlight sounds like a possibilty. Just bad luck I guess. Unfortunately I'll have no help from the waranty so I'm gonna drop it off at Hunt's Photo here in Boston tomorrow and see what they think ($35 for an estimate to be applied to the repair cost if they do it). Really hoping for a repair in the $100 or less range. I'll post what they say/price when I hear back.

When it first went down I had visions of a new G6 for christmas 8) The more I think about it though, I'd really rather have my trusty G3. Hopefully they can fix it at a "reasonable" cost.


- Matt
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dmspicsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mattjs
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
114 posts
Joined Jun 2003
Boston, MA USA
Apr 15, 2005 07:42 |  #5

Forgot to report back on this. Canon repaired it. Replaced the whole LCD unit. Unfortunately I was out of waranty and had to pay for it. Total cost of repair: [B]$220[B]

Not cheap. And the thought did cross my mind to just get a new G6. But I really love my G3 (too much maybe :) )


- Matt
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/dmspicsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Pamela107
Senior Member
Pamela107's Avatar
320 posts
Joined Nov 2003
S.East , Michigan
Apr 15, 2005 08:32 as a reply to mattjs's post |  #6

MIne stopped working recently, I was able to fix it myself. Two bundles of wires came unplugged in the LCD.

If your up to fixing it yourself,

Unscrew the 4 screws on LCD, carefully take metal LCD cover off, (in one area it clips into place). Your will see to two of wires one has a blue plug end, theother one yellow, they both should be plugged in . One of mine was out the other almost.

Carefully untwist the wire bundles, and plug them back in.
The wires get twisted over time unplugging them.

Pamela


Canon Rebel XT
Canon 50 1.4
Canon 70-200 4L
Mamiya 645 Pro
www.exposedimages.netexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
kartguru
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined May 2005
May 17, 2005 06:20 as a reply to Pamela107's post |  #7

Hi Pamela

Can you please describe your problem. The problem with our display is that it still powers up but the image doesn't appear. If you press the settings or menu buttons they appear, even the wallpaper will appear in the background on powerup and in the menu system. Click the button to take a shot and everything happens, shutter, electronic clicks, the works, just no picture appears in playback. If the display is not used it still doesn't work however on the odd occassion the display does work, everything is fine. Go figure!

I'm tempted to investigate after your post but would appreciate it if you could explain your problem a little.

Thanks

Michael




LOG IN TO REPLY
dedalus-6
Member
dedalus-6's Avatar
117 posts
Joined Apr 2005
New Zealand
May 17, 2005 07:03 |  #8

It looks like u r not the only one having this problem,,,my G3's LCD sometime goes black when flipped out, dont know why,,and after some serious shaking and wrong -angle twisting, it became normal again,,,strange,,,,,i think some defect in the LCD's connection with the body,,,I got a 350D,,so it doesn't matter now,,,but

I really love my G3


Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that's no matter - tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms further...And one fine morning -

So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past......

LOG IN TO REPLY
DizzyDevil
Hatchling
3 posts
Joined May 2005
May 17, 2005 17:13 as a reply to dedalus-6's post |  #9

Check out this post I made last night.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=74073




LOG IN TO REPLY
Pamela107
Senior Member
Pamela107's Avatar
320 posts
Joined Nov 2003
S.East , Michigan
May 19, 2005 05:21 as a reply to DizzyDevil's post |  #10

If you go to this thread
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=47102
Hopefully it will help you, I was able to fix this myself,
Thankyou

Pamela


Canon Rebel XT
Canon 50 1.4
Canon 70-200 4L
Mamiya 645 Pro
www.exposedimages.netexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
ropo
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jun 2005
Los Angeles
Jul 02, 2005 03:11 as a reply to Pamela107's post |  #11

Pamela's suggestion worked! Again, thanks to everyone for your help! I'm so gosh-darn excited over here that I didn't have to pay a bundle to get this fixed! I promise to be a little less rough with my LCD screen from now on, too.

:D <--- me




LOG IN TO REPLY
Pamela107
Senior Member
Pamela107's Avatar
320 posts
Joined Nov 2003
S.East , Michigan
Jul 02, 2005 14:40 as a reply to ropo's post |  #12

Ropo

Im very happy to pass the info on, since, I did learn about it on this forum somewhere along the way, around when mine did the same thing.

Pamela


Canon Rebel XT
Canon 50 1.4
Canon 70-200 4L
Mamiya 645 Pro
www.exposedimages.netexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
payman
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Oct 2003
Jul 28, 2005 16:22 as a reply to Pamela107's post |  #13

The same problem happend to my G3. I opened the LCD display and saw that the blue/yellow plug wires were all in place and secure. What was wrong was with a flexcircuit (ribbon) attached to the circuit board: both contacts had snapped off. A friend of mine who is extremely good with electronics managed to solder the contacts back in place, and now all is well. However it was a very very delicate operation, requiring expertise, patience, and the right equipment ...




LOG IN TO REPLY
AeroE
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Dec 2005
Dec 09, 2005 20:46 |  #14

The LCD on my G3 stopped working too. I opened up the LCD panel and saw almost the same problem as posted by payman. One of the two connections from the orange ribbon flexcircuit had broken off of the circuit board. This seems to be a weak connection that is easily broken. The strange thing is that I haven't used my G3 for a couple of months and it worked the last time I used it.

To fix the problem I had someone else hold the two halves of the connection in place and touched the old solder with a hot soldering iron. This melted the solder enough to reform the connection and get the display working again. No new solder was necessary. It's a very simple procedure requiring a $10 Radio Shack soldering iron. This does require a steady hand and I'd recommend a getting a little practice if you've never soldered before. A scrap circuit board would be ideal.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

3,515 views & 0 likes for this thread
G3 LCD trouble
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00136 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Edmo4717
1044 guests, 660 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016