Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 28 Mar 2008 (Friday) 14:35
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

 
Bobster
Goldmember
Bobster's Avatar
4,963 posts
Joined May 2006
Dorset, England
Jul 02, 2008 04:28 |  #31

there are too many steps in that..

start recording
1. The first border --- Image>Canvas Size -- click the Relative box and put 2px in for height and width, you'll see at the bottom of the dialogue box there's a box at the bottom for Canvas Extension Color, Select Black, hit ok

2. The second border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 6px in both boxes and choose White for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok

3. The third border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 50px in both boxes and choose Black for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok


Additional - before you do the above

1. resize image from high res -- File>Automate>Fit Image.. put 742 in both height and width (742, as alot of sites prefer 800px as the largest pixel size, if you choose 800, then the time you've added the border you'll be @ 850px)

2. Sharpening -- Filter>Sharpen>Sharpen, then

3. Edit>Fade Sharpen (60%, mode luminosity)


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hood (external link) | Gear | Tweet (external link) | Google+ (external link) | FoCal 2 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
coalcliff
Goldmember
coalcliff's Avatar
3,520 posts
Joined Sep 2007
On the coast, near Sydney, Australia
Jul 02, 2008 17:48 |  #32

Thanks Bob... much easier for me but where is your music? lol.


My Gear
[SIZE=2]Damian:cool::shock::grin: More you learn the more you can forget.

LOG IN TO REPLY
barosborough
Senior Member
barosborough's Avatar
546 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Milwaukie, OR
Jul 06, 2008 14:41 |  #33

Bob, I agree that your way is quicker if you are just using black and white. But if you want full control over color then the op is nice. Canvas Size only allows you to use Black, White, or Grey. Just something to think about if you are going to record more actions in different colors.

Bobster wrote in post #5833067external link
there are too many steps in that..

start recording
1. The first border --- Image>Canvas Size -- click the Relative box and put 2px in for height and width, you'll see at the bottom of the dialogue box there's a box at the bottom for Canvas Extension Color, Select Black, hit ok

2. The second border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 6px in both boxes and choose White for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok

3. The third border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 50px in both boxes and choose Black for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok


Additional - before you do the above

1. resize image from high res -- File>Automate>Fit Image.. put 742 in both height and width (742, as alot of sites prefer 800px as the largest pixel size, if you choose 800, then the time you've added the border you'll be @ 850px)

2. Sharpening -- Filter>Sharpen>Sharpen, then

3. Edit>Fade Sharpen (60%, mode luminosity)


Aaron
Rosborough Photography Portland, OR Portrait Photographerexternal link
Portland Senior Portraits Senior Portrait Photographerexternal link
Portland Portrait Photographer Family Portrait Photographer, Portland Oregonexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Goldmember
Bobster's Avatar
4,963 posts
Joined May 2006
Dorset, England
Jul 06, 2008 17:17 |  #34

barosborough wrote in post #5859925external link
Bob, I agree that your way is quicker if you are just using black and white. But if you want full control over color then the op is nice. Canvas Size only allows you to use Black, White, or Grey. Just something to think about if you are going to record more actions in different colors.

i guess you're using a different version of Photoshop to me then, because i can select any colour i like :)


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hood (external link) | Gear | Tweet (external link) | Google+ (external link) | FoCal 2 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
coalcliff
Goldmember
coalcliff's Avatar
3,520 posts
Joined Sep 2007
On the coast, near Sydney, Australia
Jul 07, 2008 08:07 |  #35

I made this using Bobster's "borders for dummies" technique it is very easy.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

My Gear
[SIZE=2]Damian:cool::shock::grin: More you learn the more you can forget.

LOG IN TO REPLY
TheReal7
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
TheReal7's Avatar
3,574 posts
Joined Nov 2007
S.E. Manitoba, Canada
Jul 07, 2008 15:07 |  #36

Awesome Bobster. Another quick easy way to make borders. Although limited if you wanted to add beveled edges and stuff like that but still great. Thanks for adding.


Follow me on Facebook: Natural Light Magicexternal link
Listen to my music: Fata Morganaexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Goldmember
Bobster's Avatar
4,963 posts
Joined May 2006
Dorset, England
Jul 07, 2008 15:49 |  #37

TheReal7 wrote in post #5866733external link
Although limited if you wanted to add beveled edges and stuff like that but still great. Thanks for adding.

hey, the title says Quick and Easy ;)


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hood (external link) | Gear | Tweet (external link) | Google+ (external link) | FoCal 2 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
offtheroad
Senior Member
259 posts
Joined Jul 2006
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Jul 10, 2008 18:07 |  #38

Very nice image.
I'm looking for a nice action for white museum quality beveled mats. Nothing colored They could have a black trim but of the quality you would see in a museum as opposed to arts & crafts.I'm using a Mac pro Intel, 5GB RAM Leopard 10.5.4 Photoshop CS3. Photographing with a Canon 5D and saving into Apple Aperture 2.1 Thank You.
jbechdel@comcast.net


"You don't know how far you can go, untill you've gone too far."

LOG IN TO REPLY
barosborough
Senior Member
barosborough's Avatar
546 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Milwaukie, OR
Jul 11, 2008 17:24 |  #39

Bobster wrote in post #5860673external link
i guess you're using a different version of Photoshop to me then, because i can select any colour i like :)


I guess your right :oops:. Thanks for setting me straight.


Aaron
Rosborough Photography Portland, OR Portrait Photographerexternal link
Portland Senior Portraits Senior Portrait Photographerexternal link
Portland Portrait Photographer Family Portrait Photographer, Portland Oregonexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bobster
Goldmember
Bobster's Avatar
4,963 posts
Joined May 2006
Dorset, England
Jul 18, 2008 19:27 |  #40

we learn something new every day ;)


Robert Whetton (external link) Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru
DIY Monitor Hood (external link) | Gear | Tweet (external link) | Google+ (external link) | FoCal 2 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
newatthis
Senior Member
newatthis's Avatar
500 posts
Joined Sep 2008
where the piece pipe is a part of the flag....
Oct 14, 2008 23:42 |  #41

Thanks for sharing!! So much easier when you say it then when I try to figure it out alone! lol Okay, heres my go. New to PS (CS2) and was playing with this pic before I ran into this!!...

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Christa :)
With enough courage, you can do without a reputation. CG

LOG IN TO REPLY
shilophoto
Member
shilophoto's Avatar
225 posts
Joined Jun 2006
NB Canada
Oct 15, 2008 00:28 |  #42

wow ! that was easy ,, thank's :)




LOG IN TO REPLY
flaneur
Junior Member
flaneur's Avatar
20 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Indiana
Nov 03, 2008 11:48 |  #43

Thanks for this tutorial. I am officially an action junkie now.


IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://farm4.static.fl​ickr.com ...81865391_1031b32027​_o.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/gif' | Redirected to error image by FLICKR



LOG IN TO REPLY
flaneur
Junior Member
flaneur's Avatar
20 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Indiana
Nov 03, 2008 12:01 |  #44

cvt01 wrote in post #5314235external link
Probably this is an easy to answer question but I just don't get how do you keep the proportions of an image with this border. I mean if I have a 6x4 image and I add the border to it with the technique described it will throw the proportions out since you adding the same amount of pixels to both the height and the width of the image. It wont be a 6x4 image anymore so it wont print nicely on a 6x4 paper...

Depends on whether you want the border to print on the 6x4. If you do, then for a border 25px on each side, subtract 50px from each dimension in image resize, then add 50px to each dimension (from the center) in canvas resize.

If you don't want the border on the 6x4, then you'd need to save multiple copies with and without the border. The action I set up (based off this thread) saves my original size as a PSD, a borderless copy as a JPG, and a framed copy as another JPG. All with a single button press :cool:




LOG IN TO REPLY
flaneur
Junior Member
flaneur's Avatar
20 posts
Joined Sep 2008
Indiana
Nov 03, 2008 12:14 |  #45

MG30D wrote in post #5831965external link
^how is this done....does any one know? I understand it's probably just a simple white layer over the photo, but how do you create the cut outs?

(I'm referring to the attached image from above)

Forgive the delayed response, but nobody else has answered this. It is probably indeed a white layer above the photo. To create the cut outs, use the selection tool at a fixed ratio. Then hit the delete key or edit > cut to show part of the layer beneath. It helps to reduce transparency of the white layer on the layers palette, so you can see the layer underneath as you cut.

Incidentally, this is the same way you matte pictures to oval shapes, etc, but that would probably be a topic for another thread.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

43,948 views & 0 likes for this thread
Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00193 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Master Lease
840 guests, 532 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016