Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd of July 2008 (Wed)   #31
Bobster
Goldmember
 
Bobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 4,768
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

there are too many steps in that..

start recording
1. The first border --- Image>Canvas Size -- click the Relative box and put 2px in for height and width, you'll see at the bottom of the dialogue box there's a box at the bottom for Canvas Extension Color, Select Black, hit ok

2. The second border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 6px in both boxes and choose White for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok

3. The third border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 50px in both boxes and choose Black for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok


Additional - before you do the above

1. resize image from high res -- File>Automate>Fit Image.. put 742 in both height and width (742, as alot of sites prefer 800px as the largest pixel size, if you choose 800, then the time you've added the border you'll be @ 850px)

2. Sharpening -- Filter>Sharpen>Sharpen, then

3. Edit>Fade Sharpen (60%, mode luminosity)
__________________
Robert Whetton Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru

DIY Monitor Hood | Gear | Tweet | Google+ | Get your focus spot on

Last edited by Bobster : 2nd of July 2008 (Wed) at 04:33.
Bobster is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 2nd of July 2008 (Wed)   #32
coalcliff
Goldmember
 
coalcliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: On the coast, near Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,515
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Thanks Bob... much easier for me but where is your music? lol.
__________________
My Gear
Damian More you learn the more you can forget.
coalcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of July 2008 (Sun)   #33
barosborough
Member
 
barosborough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milwaukie, OR
Posts: 546
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Bob, I agree that your way is quicker if you are just using black and white. But if you want full control over color then the op is nice. Canvas Size only allows you to use Black, White, or Grey. Just something to think about if you are going to record more actions in different colors.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobster View Post
there are too many steps in that..

start recording
1. The first border --- Image>Canvas Size -- click the Relative box and put 2px in for height and width, you'll see at the bottom of the dialogue box there's a box at the bottom for Canvas Extension Color, Select Black, hit ok

2. The second border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 6px in both boxes and choose White for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok

3. The third border --- Image>Canvas Size -- put 50px in both boxes and choose Black for the Canvas Extension Colour, hit ok


Additional - before you do the above

1. resize image from high res -- File>Automate>Fit Image.. put 742 in both height and width (742, as alot of sites prefer 800px as the largest pixel size, if you choose 800, then the time you've added the border you'll be @ 850px)

2. Sharpening -- Filter>Sharpen>Sharpen, then

3. Edit>Fade Sharpen (60%, mode luminosity)
__________________
Aaron
Rosborough Photography Portland, OR Portrait Photographer
Portland Senior Portraits Senior Portrait Photographer
Portland Portrait Photographer Family Portrait Photographer, Portland Oregon
barosborough is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of July 2008 (Sun)   #34
Bobster
Goldmember
 
Bobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 4,768
Exclamation Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Quote:
Originally Posted by barosborough View Post
Bob, I agree that your way is quicker if you are just using black and white. But if you want full control over color then the op is nice. Canvas Size only allows you to use Black, White, or Grey. Just something to think about if you are going to record more actions in different colors.
i guess you're using a different version of Photoshop to me then, because i can select any colour i like
__________________
Robert Whetton Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru

DIY Monitor Hood | Gear | Tweet | Google+ | Get your focus spot on
Bobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of July 2008 (Mon)   #35
coalcliff
Goldmember
 
coalcliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: On the coast, near Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,515
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

I made this using Bobster's "borders for dummies" technique it is very easy.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Shoe Shopping Poster i.jpg (142.5 KB, 808 views)
__________________
My Gear
Damian More you learn the more you can forget.
coalcliff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of July 2008 (Mon)   #36
TheReal7
Goldmember
 
TheReal7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: S.E. Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 3,574
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Awesome Bobster. Another quick easy way to make borders. Although limited if you wanted to add beveled edges and stuff like that but still great. Thanks for adding.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook: Natural Light Magic
Listen to my music: Fata Morgana
TheReal7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of July 2008 (Mon)   #37
Bobster
Goldmember
 
Bobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 4,768
Talking Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheReal7 View Post
Although limited if you wanted to add beveled edges and stuff like that but still great. Thanks for adding.
hey, the title says Quick and Easy
__________________
Robert Whetton Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru

DIY Monitor Hood | Gear | Tweet | Google+ | Get your focus spot on
Bobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of July 2008 (Thu)   #38
offtheroad
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 211
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Very nice image.
I'm looking for a nice action for white museum quality beveled mats. Nothing colored They could have a black trim but of the quality you would see in a museum as opposed to arts & crafts.I'm using a Mac pro Intel, 5GB RAM Leopard 10.5.4 Photoshop CS3. Photographing with a Canon 5D and saving into Apple Aperture 2.1 Thank You.
jbechdel@comcast.net
__________________
"You don't know how far you can go, untill you've gone too far."
offtheroad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of July 2008 (Fri)   #39
barosborough
Member
 
barosborough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milwaukie, OR
Posts: 546
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobster View Post
i guess you're using a different version of Photoshop to me then, because i can select any colour i like

I guess your right . Thanks for setting me straight.
__________________
Aaron
Rosborough Photography Portland, OR Portrait Photographer
Portland Senior Portraits Senior Portrait Photographer
Portland Portrait Photographer Family Portrait Photographer, Portland Oregon
barosborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2008 (Fri)   #40
Bobster
Goldmember
 
Bobster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dorset, England
Posts: 4,768
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

we learn something new every day
__________________
Robert Whetton Dorset Portrait & Events Photographer | Photoshop Guru

DIY Monitor Hood | Gear | Tweet | Google+ | Get your focus spot on
Bobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of October 2008 (Tue)   #41
newatthis
Member
 
newatthis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: where the piece pipe is a part of the flag....
Posts: 500
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Thanks for sharing!! So much easier when you say it then when I try to figure it out alone! lol Okay, heres my go. New to PS (CS2) and was playing with this pic before I ran into this!!...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6143-121.jpg (131.7 KB, 652 views)
__________________
Christa
With enough courage, you can do without a reputation. CG

newatthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of October 2008 (Wed)   #42
shilophoto
Member
 
shilophoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NB Canada
Posts: 225
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

wow ! that was easy ,, thank's
shilophoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #43
flaneur
Junior Member
 
flaneur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 20
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Thanks for this tutorial. I am officially an action junkie now.


flaneur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #44
flaneur
Junior Member
 
flaneur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 20
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvt01 View Post
Probably this is an easy to answer question but I just don't get how do you keep the proportions of an image with this border. I mean if I have a 6x4 image and I add the border to it with the technique described it will throw the proportions out since you adding the same amount of pixels to both the height and the width of the image. It wont be a 6x4 image anymore so it wont print nicely on a 6x4 paper...
Depends on whether you want the border to print on the 6x4. If you do, then for a border 25px on each side, subtract 50px from each dimension in image resize, then add 50px to each dimension (from the center) in canvas resize.

If you don't want the border on the 6x4, then you'd need to save multiple copies with and without the border. The action I set up (based off this thread) saves my original size as a PSD, a borderless copy as a JPG, and a framed copy as another JPG. All with a single button press
flaneur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of November 2008 (Mon)   #45
flaneur
Junior Member
 
flaneur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 20
Default Re: Quick and easy border action/tutorial for PS

Quote:
Originally Posted by MG30D View Post
^how is this done....does any one know? I understand it's probably just a simple white layer over the photo, but how do you create the cut outs?

(I'm referring to the attached image from above)
Forgive the delayed response, but nobody else has answered this. It is probably indeed a white layer above the photo. To create the cut outs, use the selection tool at a fixed ratio. Then hit the delete key or edit > cut to show part of the layer beneath. It helps to reduce transparency of the white layer on the layers palette, so you can see the layer underneath as you cut.

Incidentally, this is the same way you matte pictures to oval shapes, etc, but that would probably be a topic for another thread.
flaneur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for sloppy border action? LeesaB Weddings and Other Family Events 3 19th of August 2007 (Sun) 08:48
CS3 Border action with EXIF forno RAW, Post Processing and Printing 11 31st of July 2007 (Tue) 03:40
Border Collie Action herderdog Wildlife 10 26th of June 2005 (Sun) 17:20
Anyone have a good border action? BrandonSi RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 18th of May 2005 (Wed) 09:25


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.