Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 Apr 2008 (Thursday) 23:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

flash sync - Optex remote

 
masx
Mostly Lurking
15 posts
Joined Apr 2008
     
Apr 10, 2008 23:14 |  #1

Hi,
I have a new S5 IS. So far I like it a lot and have many had Canon products for years.
I have two older flash units and I want to make them work as slaves to the in-camera flash. I bought a tiny Optex Remote Eye (B152) flash slave and the camera triggers my external flash perfectly ... BUT, I am not getting syncronization with them. I think.
The Optex senses the camera flash light and triggers the remote eye, the external flash then works but the pictures are dark. I have tried 1st curtain and 2nd curtain on the camera to no avail. Yet.
Anyone got an idea how to make my remote flash work so I can use it for side lighting on portraits etc. I think the Optex senses the light flash from the camera before triggering the external flash, that's why I am thinking it comes on late.
I am hoping to get this to work. I think it is a sync problem and as I am not using it for action, I just need the camera aperture to stay open long enough for the flash to light my subject while the shutter is open.
Thanks
Masx




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
masx
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
15 posts
Joined Apr 2008
     
Apr 11, 2008 12:14 |  #2

Hi again, I finally got one of my flashes syncro'd with the S5. It is a small but powerful Canon Canolite ED that I bought in Hong Kong in 1974! lol Still haven't got the 177A Speedlite working with it yet.
Thanks for the reply Daryl, I hadn't got around to trying the fill-in flash yet.
masx




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

2,001 views & 0 likes for this thread
flash sync - Optex remote
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Formentor75
605 guests, 387 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.