Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 25th of September 2002 (Wed)   #1
gordon davis

Default Best screen resolution for viewing/editing images

I have a chance to choose a new laptop and assumed that I would benefit by choosing a SXGA screen option with 1,400 x 1,050 resolution instead of the usual 1,024 x 768. By benefit I mean I would see more of or even 'more deeply' into my images.

But I was checking one out and although text was definitely sharper I couldn't see any difference in the sample images. Then I realised my I view my desktop monitor on the default setting of 800 x 600 pixels and I still see images which seem clear enough to be able to edit them (sharpen them for instance) or just enjoy the pictures.

I'm still fairly new to all this digital malarkey. It seems there is something I don't fully understand here. Can anybody tell me what is it ?

Gordon
gordon davis is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 25th of September 2002 (Wed)   #2
Roger_Cavanagh

Default Re: Best screen resolution for viewing/editing images

Gordon,

I don't think that laptops screens will be as good as CRT's for viewing/editing images, but as well as resolution pay attention to the number of colour bits. A colour depth of only 16-bit will not look all that great. You want 32 bit. Last time I looked that was the highest, but things are changing so fast, more would be better. Higher settings will give more colours at the expense of display speed.

You should also pay attention to "native resolution" rather than the highest resolution a screen can display. Display quality will always be best at native res.

Some manufacturers seem to have better display for images than others. For example, I've always found Sony Vaio good.

Regards,