Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Photo Sharing' section > Weddings and Other Family Events
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 20th of May 2008 (Tue)   #1
Fingertip

Default Christmas day, No Pay!

I am a wannabe photographer looking for experience and took a job a friend of mine set up for me. It was Christmas day, so I figured no other photographer was going to want to do this wedding. I was also informed that they were not going to hire a professional photographer.
I did it for free and gave them a CD with a note saying they could order pictures from me or print them themselves.
So far I have not recieved an order , a thank you, a little gas money ( it was over an hour away) Nothing! I have never met these people, so it wasn't like a wedding gift or something.
Are these pictures so bad that I should not even recieve a thank you?
I was hoping that I had done at least a little better than some random relative with a compact camera.
Is it possible I ruined thier wedding with such visual trash?

btw I have improved greatly since these pics were taken.

Mark G
Attached Images
File Type: jpg christmas wedding 1.jpg (93.4 KB, 642 views)
File Type: jpg christmas wedding 2.jpg (73.9 KB, 640 views)
Fingertip is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of May 2008 (Tue)   #2
Fingertip

Default Re: Christmas day, No Pay!

Wow, am I embarassed! I just checked out another thread from a photographer who did not get paid, and his pics are REALLY good.

After posting the pics I realized they are not very good, but I do want to improve. So if any one could help out a real novice, I would appreciate it!

I think part of the problem is that I have been a videographer for 10 years and have never had to manage a flash. I had just bought a sunpak flash and this was my first attempt at using it.

Mark G
Old 20th of May 2008 (Tue)   #3
elader
Goldmember