LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


viewing 40D images on tv

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 26 May 2008 (Monday) 00:34   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
BARBIE
Senior Member
BARBIE's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
147 posts
COSTA MESA
[MORE/SHARE]

I tried viewing images on a hd tv pictures look funny to over saturated, I think this function is totally useless.:rolleyes:

Post #1, May 26, 2008 00:34:05


40D Finally
Canon 75-300mm usm is
tamron 75-28mm xr di

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Hermeto
Cream of the Crop
Hermeto's Avatar
Joined Oct 2005
6,674 posts
Toronto, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]
banned

TV sets generally have horrible resolution, much worse than most of computer monitors.

Post #2, May 26, 2008 00:37:33


What we see depends mainly on what we look for.

LOG IN TO REPLY
BARBIE
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
BARBIE's Avatar
Joined Jun 2005
147 posts
COSTA MESA
[MORE/SHARE]

YA I FOUND THAT OUT.

Post #3, May 26, 2008 00:42:18 as a reply to Hermeto's post 4 minutes earlier.


40D Finally
Canon 75-300mm usm is
tamron 75-28mm xr di

LOG IN TO REPLY
nubu
Senior Member
nubu's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
122 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

The problem normally is NOT your HD-TV but the way you connect your Camera. The 40D unfortunatelly has only this ancient chinch connector whereas hdmi should be standard for such high res devices (the new gen Nikons have it...). I am quite happy to use my Sony PS3 as a slideshower. Its is fantastic to look at 40D pics downloaded to the PS3 and being able to dynamically zoom in, move arround on my 52" panasonic plasma. People like it much more than my old analogue slides...

Good luck and USE your HD-TV!!!

nubu

Post #4, May 26, 2008 03:45:37


5DII/III,7D,m
EF14/2.8LII|EF24/1.4LI​I|EF35/1.4L|S35/1.4A|EF40/2.8|S50/1.4A|MPE6​5/2.8|EF85/1.2L|EF100/​2.8LIS|EF135/2L|EF300/​2.8LIS|EF500/4LIS|Zeis​s500/8|EF1.4xIII|EF2xI​II|EF8-15/4L|EF24-105/4LIS|EF70-200/2.8LISII

LOG IN TO REPLY
John_B
Cream of the Crop
John_B's Avatar
Joined Sep 2006
6,753 posts
Hawaii
[MORE/SHARE]

BARBIE,
Well it is probably your TV video settings or your photos.

I have a 40" LCD HDTV and just tried displaying photos on it via my 40D's rca cable and the photos looked fine. Not oversaturated.

I have already calibrated my TV as I use it occasionally for computer display. I suggest you try to do the same ;)

Post #5, May 26, 2008 07:43:36


60D, 40D, Lenses and Accessories & DMC-ZS40 <-- click to seeexternal link
JohnBdigital.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
nubu
Senior Member
nubu's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
122 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

... yes it should not be oversaturated, but nevertheless to use a rca cable (or chinch as I called it) is a shame for both the camera as well as the HD TV. You will only have low video resolution. A hdmi input (via e.g. PS3) or a monitor conection from a pc should show your photos much better on your HD TV...

Cheers
nubu

PS: John_B, compare your image display with your PC on the HDTV with that from the rca cable from the camera...

Post #6, May 26, 2008 07:52:10


5DII/III,7D,m
EF14/2.8LII|EF24/1.4LI​I|EF35/1.4L|S35/1.4A|EF40/2.8|S50/1.4A|MPE6​5/2.8|EF85/1.2L|EF100/​2.8LIS|EF135/2L|EF300/​2.8LIS|EF500/4LIS|Zeis​s500/8|EF1.4xIII|EF2xI​II|EF8-15/4L|EF24-105/4LIS|EF70-200/2.8LISII

LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Wilt is an old fart who has extensive experience with many brands and many formats of cameras, and extensive lighting knowledge of both studio lighting and speedlights
Wilt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
33,480 posts
SF Bay area, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

The RCA video connector provides the lowest possible quality, composite video feed, to be found. How about burning photos onto CD and sticking them into a DVD player which handles JPEG file display? That works wonderfully.

Post #7, May 26, 2008 08:49:10


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost!
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention
Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp

LOG IN TO REPLY
Elton ­ Balch
Senior Member
Elton Balch's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
832 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Wilt wrote in post #5597789external link
The RCA video connector provides the lowest possible quality, composite video feed, to be found. How about burning photos onto CD and sticking them into a DVD player which handles JPEG file display? That works wonderfully.

EXACTLY!!!

Post #8, May 26, 2008 09:06:58


Elton Balch
5D Mark III, 24 mm f/1.4 L, 35 mm f/1.4 L, 50 mm f/1.2 L, 85 mm f/1.2 L, 100 mm f/2.8 macro, 135 mm f/2 L, 300 mm f/4 L, 16-35 f/4 L IS, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 580 EX Flash, Speedlight 600 EX RT, 1.4 extender, extension tubes and other stuff.

LOG IN TO REPLY
tbsteph
Member
Joined Feb 2005
93 posts
Arizona
[MORE/SHARE]

There are many options other than directly connecting the camera to your tv. Other posters have made several alternatives already. Personally I use the AppleTV to view photos on my HDTV. Excellent results.

Post #9, May 26, 2008 09:17:43


SL1; All Canon - 60 Macro USM; 18-55 IS STM; 55-250 IS;

LOG IN TO REPLY
smorter
Goldmember
smorter's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
4,466 posts
Melbourne, Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

40D JPGs are way too saturated imo

Post #10, May 26, 2008 09:51:20


Wedding Photography Melbourneexternal link
Reviews: 85LII

LOG IN TO REPLY
BobOh
Goldmember
BobOh's Avatar
Joined May 2006
1,157 posts
Central Wisconsin
[MORE/SHARE]

Isn't there an adjustment available to turn down the saturation?

Post #11, May 26, 2008 11:54:19


Regards,
Bob
Gear: 40D, 7D, EF 100-400L, EF 28-135, Speedlight 580EX and other stuff.
Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/​photos/bobbolew/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

nubu wrote in post #5596942external link
The problem normally is NOT your HD-TV but the way you connect your Camera. The 40D unfortunatelly has only this ancient chinch connector whereas hdmi should be standard for such high res devices (the new gen Nikons have it...). I am quite happy to use my Sony PS3 as a slideshower. Its is fantastic to look at 40D pics downloaded to the PS3 and being able to dynamically zoom in, move arround on my 52" panasonic plasma. People like it much more than my old analogue slides...

Good luck and USE your HD-TV!!!

nubu

What good will an HDMI connector give you if you shoot RAW? The embedded JPEG file still has a very low resolution. Certainly not worth the added expense. Instead I prefer to have the images on my PC and view them on my monitor. If I want a large display I can use the DVI out of my PC converted to HDMI to run images to my HDTV.

Post #12, May 26, 2008 12:10:46


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
nubu
Senior Member
nubu's Avatar
Joined Oct 2007
122 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

@In2Photos, I dont get your point: the RESOLUTION of jpgs and raws are exactly the same...

There is no extra expense for a hdmi connector with nowadays fabrication costs. hdmi is THE standard now and (as I said already available in the new Nikons). I love Canon as you see in my gear list but I saw the perfect implementation of hdmi output in the studio of my friend (Nikon) during a fashion shoot. A hdmi live view is very nice and much better than the usb live view available for the 40D that I regularely use.

Concerning the use of burned DVDs (@Wilt): sorry the resloution is then again normally a low one, only the conection to the TV is better. Somehing like a PC or a media server or AppleTV or PS3 are the best solutions for using HD TVs or Beamers as modern "Slide projectors" (until the Canons have hdmi outputs)..

nubu

Post #13, May 26, 2008 12:21:40


5DII/III,7D,m
EF14/2.8LII|EF24/1.4LI​I|EF35/1.4L|S35/1.4A|EF40/2.8|S50/1.4A|MPE6​5/2.8|EF85/1.2L|EF100/​2.8LIS|EF135/2L|EF300/​2.8LIS|EF500/4LIS|Zeis​s500/8|EF1.4xIII|EF2xI​II|EF8-15/4L|EF24-105/4LIS|EF70-200/2.8LISII

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

nubu wrote in post #5598947external link
@In2Photos, I dont get your point: the RESOLUTION of jpgs and raws are exactly the same...

There is no extra expense for a hdmi connector with nowadays fabrication costs. hdmi is THE standard now and (as I said already available in the new Nikons). I love Canon as you see in my gear list but I saw the perfect implementation of hdmi output in the studio of my friend (Nikon) during a fashion shoot. A hdmi live view is very nice and much better than the usb live view available for the 40D that I regularely use.

Concerning the use of burned DVDs (@Wilt): sorry the resloution is then again normally a low one, only the conection to the TV is better. Somehing like a PC or a media server or AppleTV or PS3 are the best solutions for using HD TVs or Beamers as modern "Slide projectors" (until the Canons have hdmi outputs)..

nubu

Your camera does not contain a RAW processor for images. So how would you be able to display RAW images from the camera? You can't! The embedded JPEG is used for both the camera preview as well as the TV out. I don't recall the exact resolution for the embedded JPEG but it is somewhere in the neighborhood of 640x480. So again, why would you need a high resolution output format for viewing with so many using RAW?As to the expense, while the connector may not be costly ask Canon how much difference in price there is for their current RCA cable and an HDMI cable. Their costs would soar in cables alone since they privide the cable for viewing. Now if they didn't provide the cable thene there may be no increase on cost for them, but how many complaints would they receive?

Post #14, May 26, 2008 12:27:21


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
Rafromak
Goldmember
Joined Dec 2005
1,967 posts
Alaska
[MORE/SHARE]

I agree with others that the best connection at the present is HDMI, and Canon will eventually switch to it. But CD's and DVD's work well. I just burn a DVD of the images I want to watch on TV, something that's very simple to do with a Mac, and nearly as simple (DVD's) with a PC. Also, you can do the same with the Apple TV device mentioned above, wirelessly or not. I believe that there are non-Apple products such as this, too.

Post #15, May 26, 2008 14:56:27


7D, 5DII

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
2,606 views & 0 likes for this thread
viewing 40D images on tv
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00098 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
975 guests, 740 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is HeatherW

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.