Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 10 Jun 2008 (Tuesday) 00:17
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

photoshop cs3 resize when open

 
booja
Goldmember
1,629 posts
Joined Jan 2008
houston, tx
Jun 10, 2008 00:17 |  #1

this may be a retarded question and i searched and tried to look to see if there was a setting

i am using cs3 on my mac and when i open a photo that was imported from my camera the photo is significantly smaller than what it should be.

i shoot with a canon 30d so the image files are 3504x2336. and with i click file open in CS3 and look at the image size it then becomes 1752x1168... why does it do that automatically. i feel like if i blow it up back to the original size i loose quality.

is there a setting i am missing. i usually use aperture2 but i thought i try CS3




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Damo77
Goldmember
Damo77's Avatar
4,549 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Brisbane, Australia
Jun 10, 2008 00:24 |  #2

Are these Raw files? Perhaps you've got your Adobe Camera Raw set to process your files at a smaller-than-native size?


Damien
Website (external link) | Facebook (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
booja
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,629 posts
Joined Jan 2008
houston, tx
Jun 10, 2008 00:49 |  #3

seems kinda confusing when reading what i wrote. here it is put simple.

pics were shot in jpeg large fine
loaded them on to my macbook pro.
pic files are the size they are suppose to be when viewed or opened in iphoto or aperture2

but when opened in photoshop cs3, its smaller than normal... before any adjustments

Damo77 wrote in post #5693728external link
Are these Raw files? Perhaps you've got your Adobe Camera Raw set to process your files at a smaller-than-native size?

the ones ive tested and tried adjusting were jpegs




LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
39,856 posts
Joined Feb 2005
enschede, netherlands
Jun 10, 2008 04:55 |  #4

There's no way for photoshop to resize an image while opening. So something else must be going on. Are you opening in PS proper or ACR?


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
souporman
UK SE Photographer of the Year 2011
souporman's Avatar
5,462 posts
Joined Sep 2006
London, UK
Jun 10, 2008 10:20 |  #5

Sorry if this is obvious, but are you sure it's not just zoomed out?

[edit] - sorry, just reread your OP and realized you were looking at the actual image size. Not sure what would cause that...


http://www.evilkitchen​.caexternal link (365external link) .
500pxexternal link
Twitterexternal linkhttp://365.evilkitchen​.caexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
booja
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,629 posts
Joined Jan 2008
houston, tx
Jun 10, 2008 11:36 |  #6

i just figured it out... one of my friends is a trainer at apple so he told me what it was doing.

all my photos are automatically imported into my aperture2 library for editing and viewing. aperture generates previews for every picture in the library. and when i go into photoshop->file->open-> and select an image from the aperture library, photoshop is grabbing the preview instead of the master image....

now hes trying to figure out how to grab the master image instead of the preview




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

682 views & 0 likes for this thread
photoshop cs3 resize when open
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00159 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Cbroughton photo
972 guests, 521 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017