Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Photo Sharing' section > Performing Arts
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12th of June 2008 (Thu)   #1
bens109

Default Getting started in gig photography

Hi all,

I've been reading a lot on this site and getting some great tips. As I'm just starting out doing gig photography I thought I would post some shots up, any C&C would be appreciated - don't hold back! I have done nightclub shooting in the past but I've only lately had a chance to shoot bands through thanks to a music website here in Australia. It's unpaid but I guess I can't complain!

The main problem I'm having is with the lighting. I have fast glass but I'm not sure how to approach the white balance. Should I try and adjust in post for the stage lights or is it acceptable to have red/blue/green skin? The best shots I am getting are when there is a white light on the singer but that doesn't happen very often. The shots I see here and on the web that I like best have spot on WB but I'm not sure if that is due good stage lighting or post processing. Also does having the exposure correct affect the white balance? I find it hard to tell if a blue/red/green face is correctly exposed.

The other problem I'm finding is that a lot of my shots are very soft. I'm not sure if it is to do with noise as Im shoot a 800-1600iso or not. I'm shooting with a 30D plus 30 1.4, 50 1.4 and 10-22 3.5-4.5

Any C&C or tips on how to get sharp, bright shots would be great,

Thanks!

more shot on Flickr

bens109 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 12th of June 2008 (Thu)   #2
johnstoy
Cream of the Crop

Default Re: Getting started in gig photography

I like the colors of these shots...

In some of these ,the mike is really too close to the face... I always try to post those pics that show more face and less mike... My feeling is that it's all about the face.