LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Help an idiot make a 4x6 print from Lightroom

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 13 Jun 2008 (Friday) 13:30   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
sdipirro
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
2,170 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm sure I'm missing something really stupid here, but this is my story. For whatever reason, I've been processing my camera RAW files in Lightroom, creating JPEGs, and then printing the JPEGs on my Canon i9900 using the Canon-supplied software that came with the printer. I'm fairly new to Lightroom and recently decided to change my workflow a bit. I got the color space thing mostly figured out such that when I print from Lightroom directly, the colors pretty closely match what I see on the screen. I've been printing large 8.5x11 glossy prints. The other day, I wanted to make some 4x6 prints to send to someone in the mail. I have the Canon borderless pro 4x6 paper. I cropped the image using the 4x6 aspect ratio to make sure it would look right when printed. I used the 8.5x11 aspect ratio when I made the larger prints, and they came out just as I expected. I made sure to tell the printer in printer properties that I'm using 4x6 paper. What I get for a print is the 4x6 "corner" of a much larger picture. I'm confused why the 8.5x11 prints didn't do something similar, but for the time being, I'd settle with just knowing how to tell Lightroom to resize the image for a 4x6 print. What am I doing wrong? Thanks.

Post #1, Jun 13, 2008 13:30:24


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

See if my post (#4) in this thread will help you.

http://photography-on-the.net ...highlight=Lightroom​+print

Post #2, Jun 13, 2008 13:38:17


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
CanadianKitKat
Senior Member
CanadianKitKat's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
920 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I've never used lightroom, but aspect ratios and sizes are two different things. Aspect ratios are only in relation to each other and could mean 4 apples to 6 apples, it is simply a ratio and does not mean you are telling it 4" by 6". a 4x6 ratio is basically the same as an 8x12 ratio or a 16x24 ratio. What you need to do is change the "image size". Like I said, I don't use lightroom so I can't tell you where to find it, but that's what you're looking for. Hope that helps!

Post #3, Jun 13, 2008 13:45:01


www.ktklassen.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
Goldmember
Shooting's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
1,469 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Best thing is to trash Lightroom and get Photoshop CS3...no more exporting..just make the size you want, SAVE AS and you are done.

Post #4, Jun 13, 2008 14:07:34 as a reply to CanadianKitKat's post 22 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Tony-S's Avatar
Joined Jan 2006
9,745 posts
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

In2Photos wrote in post #5716322external link
See if my post (#4) in this thread will help you.

Mike - Didn't you teach a Lightroom course this semester? How'd it go?

Post #5, Jun 13, 2008 14:12:30


Gear list
"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.
Zeiss 35/2 for sale.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Ryan ­ W
Senior Member
Joined Jun 2007
287 posts
Newport South Wales
[MORE/SHARE]

No, don't ditch Lightroom it's pretty awesome ... and saves so much time ;)

What you need to do is go into 'page setup' and change the paper size to 4x6. Then choose Maximum size in the Template browser ...

That should be it ... What you can then do is check the size by going into 'layout' and checking the 'image size' is 6x4 or thereabout :)

Don't forget that when you print the image to tell the printer your priting n 6x4 paper :)

That should be find :)

Post #6, Jun 13, 2008 14:24:46


Canon 400D (XTi), Sigma 24-70 2.8 (LOVE IT!), 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens, 50mm f/1.8 Nifty 50, 90-300 mm cheapo! And a new Metz AF-4C Flashgun Woooo.
And a passion for photography.
www.rtwphotography.wor​dpress.comexternal link http://www.flickr.com/​photographs-by-ryanexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

Shooting wrote in post #5716471external link
Best thing is to trash Lightroom and get Photoshop CS3...no more exporting..just make the size you want, SAVE AS and you are done.

That is the dumbest thing I have ever read. This has nothing to do with exporting. And oh, BTW what do you think happens in CS3 when you take a RAW file, edit it in ACR, open it in PS, and click SAVE AS? Duh, you are exporting a JPEG! :rolleyes:

Tony-S wrote in post #5716504external link
Mike - Didn't you teach a Lightroom course this semester? How'd it go?

Well, they haven't setup the course yet. I am still waiting to hear back about a schedule. They have added some new courses but nothing on Lightroom yet. Turns out that might not be a bad thing. Between moving and the new little one on the way my time has been rather limited lately.

Post #7, Jun 13, 2008 14:31:38


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
2,170 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks Mike and Ryan. I'll try this when I get home. Mike, your other note was very helpful. I wonder why I didn't find it when I was searching the other night. Oh well!

Post #8, Jun 13, 2008 14:50:51


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

sdipirro wrote in post #5716736external link
Thanks Mike and Ryan. I'll try this when I get home. Mike, your other note was very helpful. I wonder why I didn't find it when I was searching the other night. Oh well!

No problem. I think there is a link in the LR sticky, but since I remember the post it only took me two searches to find it. :)

Post #9, Jun 13, 2008 14:53:52


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
2,170 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

And it's off-topic, but seeing as Mike is a Lightroom expert, I have another question. To create this portrait image that I was trying to print, I'm using a relatively new Lastolie Hilite background with white train attached for the floor. When I create a full-body portrait, the white of the train doesn't match the white of the illuminated background. Someone demonstrated how they used levels in CS to match the train color to the background and the history brush to restore the subject to the picture. I'm guessing there's no way to do this kind of manipulation in LR, but I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Thanks.

Post #10, Jun 13, 2008 14:56:26


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

sdipirro wrote in post #5716766external link
And it's off-topic, but seeing as Mike is a Lightroom expert, I have another question. To create this portrait image that I was trying to print, I'm using a relatively new Lastolie Hilite background with white train attached for the floor. When I create a full-body portrait, the white of the train doesn't match the white of the illuminated background. Someone demonstrated how they used levels in CS to match the train color to the background and the history brush to restore the subject to the picture. I'm guessing there's no way to do this kind of manipulation in LR, but I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Thanks.

In CS was this a local edit, meaning a layer mask was used? If so only LR 2.0 BETA offers the ability to do this task. I am still playing with the new BETA version so I can't say for sure, but I think it would be possible.

Post #11, Jun 13, 2008 15:00:55


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
2,170 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

The description from user Borderfox only said:

The way lastolite suggest is to open in PS and select levels and choose the white point picker and select the dark area of the train and then use the history brush to paint back in the person. Its usually easy enough to select the person from the background and paint them back in quite quickly.

Post #12, Jun 13, 2008 15:05:56


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
19,808 posts
Near Charlotte, NC.
[MORE/SHARE]

sdipirro wrote in post #5716835external link
The description from user Borderfox only said:

The way lastolite suggest is to open in PS and select levels and choose the white point picker and select the dark area of the train and then use the history brush to paint back in the person. Its usually easy enough to select the person from the background and paint them back in quite quickly.

So it is a localized edit, it just doesn't use a layer mask. So you "should" be able to do something similar in LR 2.0 BETA. Have you downloaded it yet to try it out? It is free for all LR licenses. Might be worth a play. If you need help let us know.

Post #13, Jun 13, 2008 15:08:02


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
2,170 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I haven't tried LR 2.0 BETA yet. I'll look into that. Thanks again.

Post #14, Jun 13, 2008 15:15:42


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
Goldmember
Shooting's Avatar
Joined Jan 2008
1,469 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Excuse me Mike, first I shoot jpeg..I prefer letting my camera do it..2nd. you don't have to be so insulting. Click on FILE and you see nothing that says export..you see save and save as...LR has an export..PS says SAVE AS......you do things your way I do them mine..neither way is dumb...typical of this board....I can tell right now it won't be long until I leave it.

Post #15, Jun 13, 2008 21:46:38 as a reply to sdipirro's post 6 hours earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
8,535 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help an idiot make a 4x6 print from Lightroom
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00086 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
761 guests, 532 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is LudeMurph

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.