Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 13 Jun 2008 (Friday) 13:30
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Help an idiot make a 4x6 print from Lightroom

 
sdipirro
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
2,205 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Jun 13, 2008 13:30 |  #1

I'm sure I'm missing something really stupid here, but this is my story. For whatever reason, I've been processing my camera RAW files in Lightroom, creating JPEGs, and then printing the JPEGs on my Canon i9900 using the Canon-supplied software that came with the printer. I'm fairly new to Lightroom and recently decided to change my workflow a bit. I got the color space thing mostly figured out such that when I print from Lightroom directly, the colors pretty closely match what I see on the screen. I've been printing large 8.5x11 glossy prints. The other day, I wanted to make some 4x6 prints to send to someone in the mail. I have the Canon borderless pro 4x6 paper. I cropped the image using the 4x6 aspect ratio to make sure it would look right when printed. I used the 8.5x11 aspect ratio when I made the larger prints, and they came out just as I expected. I made sure to tell the printer in printer properties that I'm using 4x6 paper. What I get for a print is the 4x6 "corner" of a much larger picture. I'm confused why the 8.5x11 prints didn't do something similar, but for the time being, I'd settle with just knowing how to tell Lightroom to resize the image for a 4x6 print. What am I doing wrong? Thanks.


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
19,808 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Near Charlotte, NC.
Jun 13, 2008 13:38 |  #2

See if my post (#4) in this thread will help you.

http://photography-on-the.net ...highlight=Lightroom​+print


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
CanadianKitKat
Senior Member
CanadianKitKat's Avatar
920 posts
Joined Mar 2008
Jun 13, 2008 13:45 |  #3

I've never used lightroom, but aspect ratios and sizes are two different things. Aspect ratios are only in relation to each other and could mean 4 apples to 6 apples, it is simply a ratio and does not mean you are telling it 4" by 6". a 4x6 ratio is basically the same as an 8x12 ratio or a 16x24 ratio. What you need to do is change the "image size". Like I said, I don't use lightroom so I can't tell you where to find it, but that's what you're looking for. Hope that helps!


www.ktklassen.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
Goldmember
Shooting's Avatar
1,547 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Jun 13, 2008 14:07 as a reply to CanadianKitKat's post |  #4

Best thing is to trash Lightroom and get Photoshop CS3...no more exporting..just make the size you want, SAVE AS and you are done.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Tony-S
Cream of the Crop
Tony-S's Avatar
9,821 posts
Joined Jan 2006
Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Jun 13, 2008 14:12 |  #5

In2Photos wrote in post #5716322external link
See if my post (#4) in this thread will help you.

Mike - Didn't you teach a Lightroom course this semester? How'd it go?


Gear list
"Raw" is not an acronym, abbreviation, nor a proper noun; thus, it should not be in capital letters.
Zeiss 35/2 for sale.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Ryan ­ W
Senior Member
287 posts
Joined Jun 2007
Newport South Wales
Jun 13, 2008 14:24 |  #6

No, don't ditch Lightroom it's pretty awesome ... and saves so much time ;)

What you need to do is go into 'page setup' and change the paper size to 4x6. Then choose Maximum size in the Template browser ...

That should be it ... What you can then do is check the size by going into 'layout' and checking the 'image size' is 6x4 or thereabout :)

Don't forget that when you print the image to tell the printer your priting n 6x4 paper :)

That should be find :)


Canon 400D (XTi), Sigma 24-70 2.8 (LOVE IT!), 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 kit lens, 50mm f/1.8 Nifty 50, 90-300 mm cheapo! And a new Metz AF-4C Flashgun Woooo.
And a passion for photography.
www.rtwphotography.wor​dpress.comexternal link http://www.flickr.com/​photographs-by-ryanexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
19,808 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Near Charlotte, NC.
Jun 13, 2008 14:31 |  #7

Shooting wrote in post #5716471external link
Best thing is to trash Lightroom and get Photoshop CS3...no more exporting..just make the size you want, SAVE AS and you are done.

That is the dumbest thing I have ever read. This has nothing to do with exporting. And oh, BTW what do you think happens in CS3 when you take a RAW file, edit it in ACR, open it in PS, and click SAVE AS? Duh, you are exporting a JPEG! :rolleyes:

Tony-S wrote in post #5716504external link
Mike - Didn't you teach a Lightroom course this semester? How'd it go?

Well, they haven't setup the course yet. I am still waiting to hear back about a schedule. They have added some new courses but nothing on Lightroom yet. Turns out that might not be a bad thing. Between moving and the new little one on the way my time has been rather limited lately.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
2,205 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Jun 13, 2008 14:50 |  #8

Thanks Mike and Ryan. I'll try this when I get home. Mike, your other note was very helpful. I wonder why I didn't find it when I was searching the other night. Oh well!


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
19,808 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Near Charlotte, NC.
Jun 13, 2008 14:53 |  #9

sdipirro wrote in post #5716736external link
Thanks Mike and Ryan. I'll try this when I get home. Mike, your other note was very helpful. I wonder why I didn't find it when I was searching the other night. Oh well!

No problem. I think there is a link in the LR sticky, but since I remember the post it only took me two searches to find it. :)


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
2,205 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Jun 13, 2008 14:56 |  #10

And it's off-topic, but seeing as Mike is a Lightroom expert, I have another question. To create this portrait image that I was trying to print, I'm using a relatively new Lastolie Hilite background with white train attached for the floor. When I create a full-body portrait, the white of the train doesn't match the white of the illuminated background. Someone demonstrated how they used levels in CS to match the train color to the background and the history brush to restore the subject to the picture. I'm guessing there's no way to do this kind of manipulation in LR, but I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Thanks.


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
19,808 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Near Charlotte, NC.
Jun 13, 2008 15:00 |  #11

sdipirro wrote in post #5716766external link
And it's off-topic, but seeing as Mike is a Lightroom expert, I have another question. To create this portrait image that I was trying to print, I'm using a relatively new Lastolie Hilite background with white train attached for the floor. When I create a full-body portrait, the white of the train doesn't match the white of the illuminated background. Someone demonstrated how they used levels in CS to match the train color to the background and the history brush to restore the subject to the picture. I'm guessing there's no way to do this kind of manipulation in LR, but I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Thanks.

In CS was this a local edit, meaning a layer mask was used? If so only LR 2.0 BETA offers the ability to do this task. I am still playing with the new BETA version so I can't say for sure, but I think it would be possible.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
2,205 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Jun 13, 2008 15:05 |  #12

The description from user Borderfox only said:

The way lastolite suggest is to open in PS and select levels and choose the white point picker and select the dark area of the train and then use the history brush to paint back in the person. Its usually easy enough to select the person from the background and paint them back in quite quickly.


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
In2Photos
Cream of the Crop
In2Photos's Avatar
19,808 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Near Charlotte, NC.
Jun 13, 2008 15:08 |  #13

sdipirro wrote in post #5716835external link
The description from user Borderfox only said:

The way lastolite suggest is to open in PS and select levels and choose the white point picker and select the dark area of the train and then use the history brush to paint back in the person. Its usually easy enough to select the person from the background and paint them back in quite quickly.

So it is a localized edit, it just doesn't use a layer mask. So you "should" be able to do something similar in LR 2.0 BETA. Have you downloaded it yet to try it out? It is free for all LR licenses. Might be worth a play. If you need help let us know.


Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

Current Gear and Feedback| My Pbase Galleryexternal link | mdsportsphoto.comexternal linkhttp://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=835433

LOG IN TO REPLY
sdipirro
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
sdipirro's Avatar
2,205 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Jun 13, 2008 15:15 |  #14

I haven't tried LR 2.0 BETA yet. I'll look into that. Thanks again.


Cameras: 1DX, 1D4, 20D, 10D, S90, G2
Lenses: Canon 10-22mm, 16-35mm f2.8L II, 24-70mm f2.8L, 70-200mm f2.8L IS, 300mm f2.8L IS, 200mm f2L IS, 50mm f1.4, 50mm f1.2L, 85mm f1.2L, 1.4x TC, 2x TC, 500D macro, Zeiss 21mm
Lighting: 580EX, Elinchrom 600 RX's, D-Lite 4's, ABR800, 74" Eli Octa, 100cm/70cm DOs, Photoflex Medium Octa and reflectors, PW's, Lastolite Hilite, Newton Di400CR bracket

LOG IN TO REPLY
Shooting
Goldmember
Shooting's Avatar
1,547 posts
Joined Jan 2008
Jun 13, 2008 21:46 as a reply to sdipirro's post |  #15

Excuse me Mike, first I shoot jpeg..I prefer letting my camera do it..2nd. you don't have to be so insulting. Click on FILE and you see nothing that says export..you see save and save as...LR has an export..PS says SAVE AS......you do things your way I do them mine..neither way is dumb...typical of this board....I can tell right now it won't be long until I leave it.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

12,902 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help an idiot make a 4x6 print from Lightroom
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00099 for 5 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Ziatriguy
613 guests, 545 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016