Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
Thread started 16 Jun 2008 (Monday) 21:21
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help with exposing

 
thaking
Goldmember
Avatar
1,358 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Lex-vegas
     
Jun 16, 2008 21:21 |  #1

Long time reader, first time poster...

I have read about using multiple images so that you can combine them into one image, like hdr...in many of these discussions they talk about exposing the sky properly in one image and exposing for the rest in another...I had borrowed a friends 16-35L and went to a going away party that was outside, under a shelter...of course there were shadows all over their faces...I could not figure out how to expose for the shadows...all the images seem to be exposed for the sunlight...

How would I properly expose for the shadowed areas?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
kniteshade
Member
45 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Jun 16, 2008 22:02 |  #2

If the rest of the image looked correct (exposure-wise), but you just had shadows on the faces, then what you probably want is fill-flash.

If the entire image was too-dark, then try the different metering modes. Spot meter on a face if the camera supports it, or try partial metering. The * button on the camera (by default) is the AE-Lock button, so you point the camera at what you want exposed correctly then lock the exposure, recompose, then take the photo.

Another solution is to use exposure-bracketing to take 3 shots, and hope one of them is correct.


400D+grip / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / 50 f1.4 / 18-55 Kit / 75-300 Kit

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Souwalker
Goldmember
1,128 posts
Joined Dec 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
     
Jun 16, 2008 22:08 |  #3

kniteshade wrote in post #5734751 (external link)
The * button on the camera (by default) is the AE-Lock button, so you point the camera at what you want exposed correctly then lock the exposure, recompose, then take the photo.

.

Even the 40D?
Pat




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
kniteshade
Member
45 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Jun 17, 2008 03:10 as a reply to  @ Souwalker's post |  #4

Im pretty sure that what the * icon represents on the canons (AE lock)

From the 40D review on dpreview:

* AE / FE Lock
Press to trigger automatic exposure and lock the exposure for the next shot. Hold the button to lock the exposure for more than one shot.


400D+grip / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / 50 f1.4 / 18-55 Kit / 75-300 Kit

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,180 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2034
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Jun 17, 2008 08:28 |  #5

Posting an image for us to see would help a lot. It's also hard to give an answer as I don't know how much you're willing to learn.

..all the images seem to be exposed for the sunlight...

Here's why: Post #47

My solution: Try manual in those tough conditions. First set the f-stop & shutter speed you need. Then adjust the ISO. Need an exposure crutch?

Other results: Angeline outdoors


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thaking
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,358 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Lex-vegas
     
Jun 17, 2008 14:05 as a reply to  @ PhotosGuy's post |  #6

I knew I should've posted a sample :-)

I took the photos off the card last night and only got a glance at them, posted my question and went to bed. I'll definitely post a sample later as this is something I've struggled with for a while...thanks for the assistance...




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
lilpacheco
Member
66 posts
Joined Aug 2007
     
Jun 17, 2008 14:40 |  #7

Are you working in the auto mode? That might explain it because you don't have much control with that. I suggest shooting in AV or manual (if don't know how to use these I suggest buying a book or research on the internet) and turning on your flash for fill flash. If you are still getting shadows on faces, pump up the flash for more light to fill in the shadows. Also shoot in RAW and that can add some light to faces after the fact as well (in PP).


Robyn :)
Canon 5D, 70-200 mm f/2.8L, 24-105 mm f/4L, 580EXII
www.robynpacheco.blogs​pot.com (external link)
http://img.photobucket​.com …o/yogurthead2_r​educed.jpg (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
OdiN1701
Goldmember
Avatar
2,523 posts
Joined Jul 2005
     
Jun 17, 2008 15:34 |  #8
bannedPermanent ban

Heh....just imagine reading the thread title on any forum other than a photography forum :P


SAY NO TO SPEC WORK! (external link)
_______________
40D w/ Grip |
20D w/ Grip | 10D
10-22mm|17-40f/4L|24-105f/4LIS|70-200f/2.8LIS|50f/1.4|100f/2.8Macro

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
chauncey
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,696 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 460
Joined Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
     
Jun 17, 2008 17:09 as a reply to  @ OdiN1701's post |  #9

Andrew is a very bad boy. :lol:


The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/c​hauncey43 (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thaking
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,358 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Lex-vegas
     
Jun 17, 2008 20:55 |  #10

ok, here is a quick photo sample...no PP, just resized....shot RAW Av, used center AF, AWB, ISO 100....i focused the subject and i assumed that since i was focusing on a subject in the shaded area, the WB would be adjusted as so, but maybe i'm not correct....i know i need a flash, planning on getting one but don't have one at the moment...

@OdiN1701: i thought the same thing about my title after i searched for it today to see what responses i've received...couldn't i come up with a better title? :oops:


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,180 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2034
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Jun 18, 2008 09:06 |  #11

but maybe i'm not correct...

The WB looks OK. It's the metering that did you in & the links I gave you should help.

just resized....shot RAW

You should be able to pull better detail out of a RAW file.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thaking
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,358 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Lex-vegas
     
Jun 18, 2008 20:12 |  #12

PhotosGuy wrote in post #5744761 (external link)
The WB looks OK. It's the metering that did you in & the links I gave you should help. You should be able to pull better detail out of a RAW file.

that's why i shoot raw, but i was hoping to do take better shots, thus reducing PP...after reading post #47 (linked above) let me see if i understand this correctly...it says "where you point the camera influences the meter reading"...when i focused the shot i focused on the female looking towards the camera laughing...then i repositioned the camera (raised it higher, thus bringing in more light)...do you think this is what caused my issue? meaning, even though i initially took my reading on her, because i recentered the camera allowing more light, the camera adjusted and thus they are darker...

if that is true, then i will go back to my original question - if i want to combine 2 images where one is exposed for the sky and one for the foreground, then what is the correct way to do this? take my sample image for example...if i could do it over (2 shots, 1 for the sky and 1 for their faces) how should i do it?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
SkipD
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
20,471 posts
Likes: 151
Joined Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern WI, USA
     
Jun 18, 2008 20:17 |  #13

thaking wrote in post #5741646 (external link)
ok, here is a quick photo sample...no PP, just resized....shot RAW Av, used center AF, AWB, ISO 100....i focused the subject and i assumed that since i was focusing on a subject in the shaded area, the WB would be adjusted as so, but maybe i'm not correct....i know i need a flash, planning on getting one but don't have one at the moment...

@OdiN1701: i thought the same thing about my title after i searched for it today to see what responses i've received...couldn't i come up with a better title? :oops:

You could probably not use HDR in a situation like the shot you posted. It's quite likely that there would be too much subject motion between shots to be able to properly overlay the images.

A good flash unit (NOT a flash built into a camera) would go a long way toward making that sort of shot much better.


Skip Douglas
A few cameras and over 50 years behind them .....
..... but still learning all the time.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
thaking
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
Avatar
1,358 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Location: Lex-vegas
     
Jun 18, 2008 21:19 |  #14

thanks SkipD...yeah i am planning on buying a 430 ex soon, just don't have one yet...also, i was not wanting to use the posted pic as an HDR, all i was saying was to use this as an example - top portion (sky) is bright, bottom portion (foreground) is darker...how to properly expose for both...some have suggested taking 2 shots and combining them...to do that, i would need to properly expose for the sky and properly expose for the foreground...if i understood how to do that, then i would understand how to retake the photo above and expose it properly...

hopefully that makes sense....




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PhotosGuy
Moderator
Avatar
75,180 posts
Gallery: 8 photos
Likes: 2034
Joined Feb 2004
Location: Middle of Michigan
     
Jun 19, 2008 09:45 |  #15

then i repositioned the camera (raised it higher, thus bringing in more light)...do you think this is what caused my issue?

Yes.

if i want to combine 2 images where one is exposed for the sky and one for the foreground, then what is the correct way to do this?

Tripod, BUT you can't expect that she won't move, so I'd make two different conversions in RAW & blend them.
Easier for you would be to use the mask in an Adjustment Layer if you have PS.

Post #9:
Airport runway shoot

Simplest, would be to expose for her & let the sky blow out, or find an angle where you don't see the sky at all.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1600 pixels on any side.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,678 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help with exposing
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Nidge
705 guests, 392 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.