Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories
Thread started 05 Jul 2008 (Saturday) 08:27
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5D remote release puzzle

 
TheGaffer
Member
203 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Jul 05, 2008 08:27 |  #1

I want to do photography by radio control with my 5D, so I bought a Dunecam ( http://www.dunehaven.c​om/dunecam.htmexternal link )

This has four different ways to release the shutter, so I wasn't expecting difficulty.

First choice would be CHDK I've got a suitable USB connector and the Dunecam can raise a +5v signal down it for this purpose. But CHDK is not available for the 5D: http://grandag.nm.ru/h​dk/autobuild/download.​htmexternal link

Or did I overlook something?

Second choice would be IR (I've got a suitable IR LED). But it seems that the 5D doesn't have IR release, without spending $$$ in an LC5

Or did I overlook something here?

Third choice is a switch (the Dunecam has a relay and can close a circuit), but I would have to construct a custom cable for that...

The fourth choice is to rig a servo to press the shutter button. I would rather avoid that if I can...

Any help would be appreciated.

Andrew


http://www.tug.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
fxk
Senior Member
578 posts
Joined Jun 2008
The vast wilderness of the Mid-Atlantic states
Jul 08, 2008 07:50 |  #2

The Dune Cam looks like a control for servos to control the motion of a tripod head. IR is not native to the 5d like it is on the Rebel Series.

The third choice would work - the custom cable is a bit of a problem, as Canon has a patent on the "N3" connector, and is not licensing it (as far as I know) The Canon remotes work by closing a circuit for autofocus only, and a separate circuit for shutter. Power is from camera. The "N3" is 3 conductors - 1 ground and two switching leads.

The idea of a servo to manually trip the shutter is probably not the way you want to go.

Search on e-bay for "wireless remote control canon" and you will find various units that should do the job - make sure they have the "N3" connector - that will work with any non-rebel series Canon DSLRs. I did not see the one I have, but some of them work reasonably well. Also search B&H - I think they carry a generic. Canon is absurdly expensive.

Also check this discussion - same same.
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=530784
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthre​ad.php?t=532379




LOG IN TO REPLY
TheGaffer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
203 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Jul 10, 2008 05:08 |  #3

fxk wrote in post #5871199external link
The Dune Cam looks like a control for servos to control the motion of a tripod head.

Yep. I am building a rig to suspend the camera from a kite line.

fxk wrote in post #5871199external link
The third choice would work - the custom cable is a bit of a problem, as Canon has a patent on the "N3" connector, and is not licensing it

Yes, but I have found a way round it. Buy a cheap, wired remote from Hong Kong for the princely sum of £2.99 on the 'bay, then cut off the switch, leaving you with an N3 connector, ready wired, to connect into the DuneCam.

All I have to do is wait for the postman to deliver it.

Andrew


http://www.tug.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
fxk
Senior Member
578 posts
Joined Jun 2008
The vast wilderness of the Mid-Atlantic states
Jul 11, 2008 09:16 |  #4

WooHoo! "Up, up and away in my beautiful, my beautiful baloon!"




LOG IN TO REPLY
TheGaffer
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
203 posts
Joined Oct 2007
Jul 11, 2008 13:24 |  #5

fxk wrote in post #5891743external link
WooHoo! "Up, up and away in my beautiful, my beautiful baloon!"

You are thinking of BAP. Balloon Aerial Photography.

I want to do KAP. Kite Aerial Photography.

There is also PAP, where you stick the camera on top of a pole, such as this 15 METER tripod:

http://www.kapshop.com ...?cPath=36&products_​id=114external link

Andrew


http://www.tug.com/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY

716 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D remote release puzzle
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00103 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is tdickey
1125 guests, 554 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016