Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th of July 2008 (Thu)   #1
Plant McCloud
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 85
Default Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

(Mods: the only lens forum is for Canon lenses. I guessed this should be posted here).

I have large, visible dust specs inside my tamron zoom lens. I searched here and learned that dust on the inside of the front element will not show in pictures. But this dust is located on the next element down - the element that moves in and out when the zoom ring is turned.

Should this dust be removed?
Plant McCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of July 2008 (Thu)   #2
PhotosGuy
Moderator
 
PhotosGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: S. E. Michigan
Posts: 68,976
Default Re: Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

No, it won't hurt anything. You've probably got more problems from crud on your sensor to think about.
Some personal views on Sensor cleaning.
__________________
FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
www.FrankCizek.com

Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?

New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.
PhotosGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of July 2008 (Thu)   #3
andrepaul
Senior Member
 
andrepaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,225
Default Re: Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

Seems you have a link for every situation, I'm amazed.
andrepaul is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of July 2008 (Thu)   #4
Plant McCloud
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 85
Default Re: Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

I guess the best thing to do would be to shoot some pics of the blue sky and see if the spots show up.
Plant McCloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2008 (Fri)   #5
Tee Why
"Monkey's uncle"
 
Tee Why's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 10,595
Default Re: Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

It shouldn't affect the image.
__________________
Gallery: http://tomyi.smugmug.com/


Tee Why is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2008 (Fri)   #6
sexyyoyi
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 132
Default Re: Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

Removing dust out of lens is not part of the warranty scheme... so I guess Tamron expects its lenses has a tendency of being a vacuum cleaner.
sexyyoyi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dust inside the lens slimsurf Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 2 2nd of April 2008 (Wed) 17:48
Dust inside of the lens, need help. bad karma Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 3 7th of February 2008 (Thu) 12:29
Dust *inside* lens Vincent Vega Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 3 21st of August 2007 (Tue) 16:18
Tamron Lense with dust inside! burge Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 3 12th of June 2007 (Tue) 17:03
Dust INSIDE lens? mackenzie.m Canon EOS Digital Cameras 8 12th of February 2007 (Mon) 21:31


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.