Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 17 Jul 2008 (Thursday) 08:49
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

 
Plant ­ McCloud
Member
85 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Jul 17, 2008 08:49 |  #1

(Mods: the only lens forum is for Canon lenses. I guessed this should be posted here).

I have large, visible dust specs inside my tamron zoom lens. I searched here and learned that dust on the inside of the front element will not show in pictures. But this dust is located on the next element down - the element that moves in and out when the zoom ring is turned.

Should this dust be removed?




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
PhotosGuy
Moderator
PhotosGuy's Avatar
71,619 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Joined Feb 2004
Middle of Michigan
Jul 17, 2008 10:40 |  #2

No, it won't hurt anything. You've probably got more problems from crud on your sensor to think about. ;)
Some personal views on Sensor cleaning.


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.

LOG IN TO REPLY
andrepaul
Goldmember
andrepaul's Avatar
1,225 posts
Joined May 2008
NYC
Jul 17, 2008 10:41 |  #3

Seems you have a link for every situation, I'm amazed.


andre|paul design + photography
external link
Websiteexternal link | Facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Plant ­ McCloud
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
85 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Jul 17, 2008 20:01 |  #4

I guess the best thing to do would be to shoot some pics of the blue sky and see if the spots show up.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Tee ­ Why
"Monkey's uncle"
Tee Why's Avatar
10,596 posts
Joined Feb 2006
Pasadena, CA
Jul 18, 2008 00:47 |  #5

It shouldn't affect the image.


Gallery: http://tomyi.smugmug.c​om/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sexyyoyi
Member
138 posts
Joined Feb 2008
Jul 18, 2008 02:25 |  #6

Removing dust out of lens is not part of the warranty scheme... so I guess Tamron expects its lenses has a tendency of being a vacuum cleaner.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

3,549 views & 0 likes for this thread
Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00164 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is ian joicey
942 guests, 776 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015