LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 17 Jul 2008 (Thursday) 08:49   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
Plant ­ McCloud
Member
Joined Jun 2008
85 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

(Mods: the only lens forum is for Canon lenses. I guessed this should be posted here).

I have large, visible dust specs inside my tamron zoom lens. I searched here and learned that dust on the inside of the front element will not show in pictures. But this dust is located on the next element down - the element that moves in and out when the zoom ring is turned.

Should this dust be removed?

Post #1, Jul 17, 2008 08:49:09




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
PhotosGuy
Moderator
PhotosGuy's Avatar
Joined Feb 2004
69,108 posts
S. E. Michigan
[MORE/SHARE]

No, it won't hurt anything. You've probably got more problems from crud on your sensor to think about. ;)
Some personal views on Sensor cleaning.

Post #2, Jul 17, 2008 10:40:21


FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...
Classic Carz, Racing, Air Show, Flowers.
Find the light... A few Car Lighting Tips, and MOVE YOUR FEET!
Have you thought about making your own book? // Need an exposure crutch?
New Image Size Limits: Image must not exceed 1280 pixels on any side.

LOG IN TO REPLY
andrepaul
Goldmember
andrepaul's Avatar
Joined May 2008
1,225 posts
NYC
[MORE/SHARE]

Seems you have a link for every situation, I'm amazed.

Post #3, Jul 17, 2008 10:41:54


andre|paul design + photography
external link
Websiteexternal link | Facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Plant ­ McCloud
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
Joined Jun 2008
85 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I guess the best thing to do would be to shoot some pics of the blue sky and see if the spots show up.

Post #4, Jul 17, 2008 20:01:26




LOG IN TO REPLY
Tee ­ Why
"Monkey's uncle"
Tee Why's Avatar
Joined Feb 2006
10,595 posts
Pasadena, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

It shouldn't affect the image.

Post #5, Jul 18, 2008 00:47:01


Gallery: http://tomyi.smugmug.c​om/external link

http://groups.yahoo.co​m/group/LAShooters/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
sexyyoyi
Senior Member
Joined Feb 2008
132 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Removing dust out of lens is not part of the warranty scheme... so I guess Tamron expects its lenses has a tendency of being a vacuum cleaner.

Post #6, Jul 18, 2008 02:25:17




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
3,173 views & 0 likes for this thread
Dust inside Tamron lens - remove it?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00107 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
1043 guests, 755 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Lumoava

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.