Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 16 Jan 2005 (Sunday) 04:07
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Flash slow synchro

 
pehabe
Senior Member
Avatar
396 posts
Joined Jul 2003
Location: BW - Germany
     
Jan 16, 2005 04:07 |  #1

With my G3 I could use the flash (internal or external - 420EX) as a slow synchro mode, that is the camera will take the surrounding light and fill it a bit with flash.

How could I do it with 20D and 420EX?

Sorry I do search the forum for this topic but no luck. Maybe my search string didnt hit the right one.

Could someone help me?
Thanks


Peter (external link)
Gallery (external link) Shop (external link)
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
robertwgross
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
9,462 posts
Likes: 1
Joined Nov 2002
Location: California
     
Jan 16, 2005 08:44 |  #2

You might want to read the EOS Flash Sticky at the top of this forum, and then re-phrase your question.

---Bob Gross---




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
PacAce
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
26,853 posts
Likes: 20
Joined Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
     
Jan 16, 2005 09:24 |  #3

pehabe wrote:
With my G3 I could use the flash (internal or external - 420EX) as a slow synchro mode, that is the camera will take the surrounding light and fill it a bit with flash.

How could I do it with 20D and 420EX?

Sorry I do search the forum for this topic but no luck. Maybe my search string didnt hit the right one.

Could someone help me?
Thanks

Have you tried setting the 20D the same way as you would set the G3?


...Leo

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pehabe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
396 posts
Joined Jul 2003
Location: BW - Germany
     
Jan 16, 2005 10:08 as a reply to  @ PacAce's post |  #4

yeah... sticky. thanks for the help.

In G3 there is a menu Slow Sync and the camera will set the speed and opening itself.
Reading from the sticky (very helpful) it seems there in no automatic or easy way to do it, am I wrong?

I thought I could some special features in 20D for this.


Peter (external link)
Gallery (external link) Shop (external link)
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Andy_T
Compensating for his small ... sensor
9,860 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Jan 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
     
Jan 16, 2005 10:24 as a reply to  @ pehabe's post |  #5

If I read that you have a 20D and would like to have slow sync with flash photos (which you don't have at the moment) ... maybe you've set custom function #3 to '1' ... then every flash photo in AV mode is set to 1/250.

I had the reverse problem, my 20D with Tamron 28-75/2.8 would always suggest ridiculously long shutter speeds (1/15 ... 1/50 at full zoom, even at 2.8 and using ISO 400-800) even with the built-in flash activated if I did not set this custom function ...
Obviously my 20D never heard about the 1/focal length rule of thumb ... or it just decided not to apply it, as it clearly does not have a thumb of its own :lol:

Best regards,
Andy


some cameras, some lenses,
and still a lot of things to learn...
(so post processing examples on my images are welcome :D)
If you like the forum, vote for it where it really counts!
CLICK here for the EOS FAQ
CLICK here for the Post Processing FAQ
CLICK here to understand a bit more about BOKEH

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pehabe
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
396 posts
Joined Jul 2003
Location: BW - Germany
     
Jan 17, 2005 14:04 as a reply to  @ Andy_T's post |  #6

last night i made some experiment with my 20D and 420X. The result confirms the sticky way (thanks bob ;))

In Tv no matter you set the speed, 20D sent command to 420EX to emit enough light to achieve good result. I noticed it from the power 420EX needed to flash. To my amaze when I compare the histogram they were almost identical (almost...). Then to achieve the same effect like my G3, I learned to use the FEC.

In Av it depends the CFn#3 though... I set it 1/60.

Or in full manual. sigh... Never stop learning.

Andy:
with G3 in slow sync, the camera usualy goes to slow speed to catch the ambient light and send small amount of light from the flash... I think this is the situation you have with your Tamron ;)


Peter (external link)
Gallery (external link) Shop (external link)
Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,678 views & 0 likes for this thread
Flash slow synchro
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is fishesman
788 guests, 394 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.