Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd of July 2008 (Wed)   #1
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
 
mattograph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 7,670
Default Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

Learning Lightroom, and for some reason, I cannot get the stacks to work. I select a number of photos, hit command G, and nothing happens........

Any thoughts?
__________________
This space for rent.
mattograph is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of July 2008 (Wed)   #2
In2Photos
Archive Keeper
 
In2Photos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Near Charlotte, NC.
Posts: 19,808
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattograph View Post
Learning Lightroom, and for some reason, I cannot get the stacks to work. I select a number of photos, hit command G, and nothing happens........

Any thoughts?
Are you trying to stack images across folders? You can only stack images within one folder.
__________________
Mike, The Keeper of the Archive

In2Photos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of July 2008 (Wed)   #3
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
 
mattograph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 7,670
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

They are all in the same collection... should that work?
__________________
This space for rent.
mattograph is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of July 2008 (Wed)   #4
eddarr
There's Moderators under there....
 
eddarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 8,907
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

You can't be in a collection. You have to be in the folder.
__________________
Eric

eddarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of July 2008 (Wed)   #5
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
 
mattograph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 7,670
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

Bingo!

So, if I set the stacks in the folders, will they also be applied to the appropriate collection?
__________________
This space for rent.
mattograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of July 2008 (Wed)   #6
eddarr
There's Moderators under there....
 
eddarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 8,907
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

I believe that where ever the top photo in the stack is you will be able to expand the stack.
__________________
Eric

eddarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of July 2008 (Wed)   #7
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
 
mattograph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 7,670
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by eddarr View Post
I believe that where ever the top photo in the stack is you will be able to expand the stack.

I will give it a shot. Thanks!
__________________
This space for rent.
mattograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of July 2008 (Thu)   #8
Irreverent
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 393
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

This is one of the most confusing things I found about Lightroom, and I feel there's definitely room for improvement in their implementation. I understand *why* stacks only work across folders, but my own workflow finds me in collections so often that I become frustrated when I hit S and nothing happens. Even if they only allowed the stacking and unstacking of images from the folder, it would still be nice to hide and show any photos in a collection that reside within the same folder and are stacked. Maybe in a future update......
Irreverent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of July 2008 (Thu)   #9
mattograph
"God bless the new meds"
 
mattograph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 7,670
Default Re: Lightroom 1.4 -- Stacks not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Irreverent View Post
This is one of the most confusing things I found about Lightroom, and I feel there's definitely room for improvement in their implementation. I understand *why* stacks only work across folders, but my own workflow finds me in collections so often that I become frustrated when I hit S and nothing happens. Even if they only allowed the stacking and unstacking of images from the folder, it would still be nice to hide and show any photos in a collection that reside within the same folder and are stacked. Maybe in a future update......
I wholeheartedly agree.
__________________
This space for rent.
mattograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with lightroom stacks eddarr RAW, Post Processing and Printing 4 25th of April 2008 (Fri) 22:40
Working with jpeg in lightroom and cs3 mdm RAW, Post Processing and Printing 8 4th of February 2008 (Mon) 12:44
Lightroom Filters: Not working Sageg RAW, Post Processing and Printing 5 12th of August 2007 (Sun) 19:06
Lightroom will have a stacks feature in v1.0 col4bin RAW, Post Processing and Printing 14 2nd of February 2007 (Fri) 05:27
Lightroom working with 400D files dave_bass5 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 1 25th of September 2006 (Mon) 12:00


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.