Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
Thread started 04 Aug 2008 (Monday) 10:57
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

 
mezorn26
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Aug 04, 2008 10:57 |  #1
bannedPermanent ban

I have it set properly in preferences. Just as 1.xxx fucntioned, when I click edit in CS3 and then a popup comes up that asks if you want to edit a copy with lightroom adjustments and you can also select what type of file format you want to edit in, so should 2.0 according to adobe.

But when I click EDIT IN CS3 using 2.0, I do not get a popup, it just opens the RAW (Cr2) file in CS3

anyone?


My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Aug 04, 2008 11:27 |  #2

Correct, that's how it's meant to work now. It uses the ACR pipeline to convert, and then you get to choose the file format when you save - so those who prefer to go straight to jpeg can do. If you don't want it to work like that, set CS3 as the secondary editor and it'll create your Tiff/PSD.


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Aug 04, 2008 11:28 |  #3
bannedPermanent ban

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6044223 (external link)
Correct, that's how it's meant to work now. It uses the ACR pipeline to convert, and then you get to choose the file format when you save - so those who prefer to go straight to jpeg can do. If you don't want it to work like that, set CS3 as the secondary editor and it'll create your Tiff/PSD.


Thanks for the reply...I'm not sure I follow that last part.


My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Aug 04, 2008 12:08 |  #4

If you set CS3 as the 'Additional External Editor' in Preferences, it'll create a Tiff/PDF like v1 used to work.


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Aug 04, 2008 12:09 |  #5
bannedPermanent ban

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6044400 (external link)
If you set CS3 as the 'Additional External Editor' in Preferences, it'll create a Tiff/PDF like v1 used to work.


ahh, got ya. I guess the only reason to do that would be to NOT edit the original? no?


My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
Avatar
8,804 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Aug 04, 2008 12:18 |  #6

And until they fix the bug where it is creating duplicate folders in my catalog when you use the ACR tunnel...


••Vancouver Wedding Photographer  (external link)••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image loss (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Aug 04, 2008 12:19 |  #7
bannedPermanent ban

TheHoff wrote in post #6044452 (external link)
And until they fix the bug where it is creating duplicate folders in my catalog when you use the ACR tunnel...


what exactly is ACR tunneling?


My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
Avatar
8,804 posts
Likes: 10
Joined Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
     
Aug 04, 2008 12:22 |  #8

I'm sure VB will explain it better but when you use the first option (as you tried in your original post) Lightroom does the conversion to PSD -- when you do it the second way with PS as the external editor, PS does the conversion. I'm not sure if there is any difference in the resulting file but with the first way, there is a bug where when the file goes back in to LR from PS, it will create a dupe folder in your catalog.


••Vancouver Wedding Photographer  (external link)••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image loss (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Aug 04, 2008 12:28 |  #9

Other way round, but yeah.

Primary external editor sends the raw data through the ACR pipeline and opens directly into PS. When you then save that file, some people with upgraded catalogs are seeing a bug in the volume browser as PS is sending back the file with a slightly differently formatted path.

Secondary external editor makes LR create the Tiff/PSD as it assumes that the other program knows nothing about raw data.


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aram535
Goldmember
Avatar
1,915 posts
Joined Sep 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
     
Aug 04, 2008 18:58 as a reply to  @ Victoria Bampton's post |  #10

Hmmm I actually use the TIFF option in LR2, CS3 just because I don't want the original CR2 edited. I guess I'm doing this wrong?


Gear List * www.tranquilphotos.com (external link) * My Blog (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Aug 05, 2008 00:23 |  #11

Whatever you do, you will never touch the original CR2 aram535. If you open the CR2 directly into PS, you'll have to save as something, it just means you have a choice at that stage (jpeg/tiff/psd)


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Aug 05, 2008 09:29 |  #12
bannedPermanent ban

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6048292 (external link)
Whatever you do, you will never touch the original CR2 aram535. If you open the CR2 directly into PS, you'll have to save as something, it just means you have a choice at that stage (jpeg/tiff/psd)


Not here...It opens as a Cr2 and then saves as a CR2


My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Avatar
1,367 posts
Likes: 7
Joined May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
     
Aug 05, 2008 11:46 |  #13

It shouldn't be able to save to CR2 mezorn - Mac or PC?


Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen website (external link)
Free & Comprehensive Lightroom Books (external link)
Free List of Lightroom Keyboard Shortcuts (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
39,856 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
     
Aug 05, 2008 12:13 |  #14

mezorn26 wrote in post #6049970 (external link)
Not here...It opens as a Cr2 and then saves as a CR2

Don't think so.
If you "open" in ACR, and *not* PS proper, you might "save" an xmp sidecar, but you *cannot* save a file as a Raw file out of PS.

(you could save a tiff file with the wrong (CR2) extension probably :p)


"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpace (external link)
Get Colormanaged (external link)
Twitter (external link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Avatar
526 posts
Joined Oct 2007
     
Aug 05, 2008 13:09 |  #15
bannedPermanent ban

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6050779 (external link)
It shouldn't be able to save to CR2 mezorn - Mac or PC?


PC...


To better explain what I am looking for. I very much liked that in Lightroom v 1.xx, when I chose to to edit in CS3, it would automatically create a new TIFF file in the lightroom catalog and after editing in CS3 I could remove the cr2 from the lightroom catalog and just the final tiff remained..

I am looking for the same or similar functionality, but I don't see how that can happen...


My Gear List

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1,764 views & 0 likes for this thread
LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is CanucksFan
562 guests, 288 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.