Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #1
mezorn26
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 526
Default LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

I have it set properly in preferences. Just as 1.xxx fucntioned, when I click edit in CS3 and then a popup comes up that asks if you want to edit a copy with lightroom adjustments and you can also select what type of file format you want to edit in, so should 2.0 according to adobe.

But when I click EDIT IN CS3 using 2.0, I do not get a popup, it just opens the RAW (Cr2) file in CS3

anyone?
mezorn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #2
Victoria Bampton
Senior Member
 
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Correct, that's how it's meant to work now. It uses the ACR pipeline to convert, and then you get to choose the file format when you save - so those who prefer to go straight to jpeg can do. If you don't want it to work like that, set CS3 as the secondary editor and it'll create your Tiff/PSD.
Victoria Bampton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #3
mezorn26
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 526
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victoria Bampton View Post
Correct, that's how it's meant to work now. It uses the ACR pipeline to convert, and then you get to choose the file format when you save - so those who prefer to go straight to jpeg can do. If you don't want it to work like that, set CS3 as the secondary editor and it'll create your Tiff/PSD.

Thanks for the reply...I'm not sure I follow that last part.
mezorn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #4
Victoria Bampton
Senior Member
 
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

If you set CS3 as the 'Additional External Editor' in Preferences, it'll create a Tiff/PDF like v1 used to work.
Victoria Bampton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #5
mezorn26
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 526
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victoria Bampton View Post
If you set CS3 as the 'Additional External Editor' in Preferences, it'll create a Tiff/PDF like v1 used to work.

ahh, got ya. I guess the only reason to do that would be to NOT edit the original? no?
mezorn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #6
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
 
TheHoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 8,804
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

And until they fix the bug where it is creating duplicate folders in my catalog when you use the ACR tunnel...
__________________
••Vancouver Wedding Photographer ••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image loss
TheHoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #7
mezorn26
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 526
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHoff View Post
And until they fix the bug where it is creating duplicate folders in my catalog when you use the ACR tunnel...

what exactly is ACR tunneling?
mezorn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #8
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
 
TheHoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 8,804
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

I'm sure VB will explain it better but when you use the first option (as you tried in your original post) Lightroom does the conversion to PSD -- when you do it the second way with PS as the external editor, PS does the conversion. I'm not sure if there is any difference in the resulting file but with the first way, there is a bug where when the file goes back in to LR from PS, it will create a dupe folder in your catalog.
__________________
••Vancouver Wedding Photographer ••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image loss
TheHoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #9
Victoria Bampton
Senior Member
 
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Other way round, but yeah.

Primary external editor sends the raw data through the ACR pipeline and opens directly into PS. When you then save that file, some people with upgraded catalogs are seeing a bug in the volume browser as PS is sending back the file with a slightly differently formatted path.

Secondary external editor makes LR create the Tiff/PSD as it assumes that the other program knows nothing about raw data.
Victoria Bampton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of August 2008 (Mon)   #10
aram535
Senior Member
 
aram535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,915
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Hmmm I actually use the TIFF option in LR2, CS3 just because I don't want the original CR2 edited. I guess I'm doing this wrong?
__________________
Gear List * www.tranquilphotos.com * My Blog
aram535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of August 2008 (Tue)   #11
Victoria Bampton
Senior Member
 
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Whatever you do, you will never touch the original CR2 aram535. If you open the CR2 directly into PS, you'll have to save as something, it just means you have a choice at that stage (jpeg/tiff/psd)
Victoria Bampton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of August 2008 (Tue)   #12
mezorn26
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 526
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victoria Bampton View Post
Whatever you do, you will never touch the original CR2 aram535. If you open the CR2 directly into PS, you'll have to save as something, it just means you have a choice at that stage (jpeg/tiff/psd)

Not here...It opens as a Cr2 and then saves as a CR2
mezorn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of August 2008 (Tue)   #13
Victoria Bampton
Senior Member
 
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 1,365
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

It shouldn't be able to save to CR2 mezorn - Mac or PC?
Victoria Bampton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of August 2008 (Tue)   #14
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,854
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Quote:
Originally Posted by mezorn26 View Post
Not here...It opens as a Cr2 and then saves as a CR2
Don't think so.
If you "open" in ACR, and *not* PS proper, you might "save" an xmp sidecar, but you *cannot* save a file as a Raw file out of PS.

(you could save a tiff file with the wrong (CR2) extension probably )
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of August 2008 (Tue)   #15
mezorn26
User is banned from forums
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 526
Default Re: LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victoria Bampton View Post
It shouldn't be able to save to CR2 mezorn - Mac or PC?

PC...


To better explain what I am looking for. I very much liked that in Lightroom v 1.xx, when I chose to to edit in CS3, it would automatically create a new TIFF file in the lightroom catalog and after editing in CS3 I could remove the cr2 from the lightroom catalog and just the final tiff remained..

I am looking for the same or similar functionality, but I don't see how that can happen...
mezorn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exporting from ligthroom to CS3 hgsfrmme2u RAW, Post Processing and Printing 7 10th of July 2008 (Thu) 10:23
Help with Lightroom exporting JayCee Images RAW, Post Processing and Printing 1 21st of June 2008 (Sat) 08:19
Exporting with Lightroom into CS3? jnick RAW, Post Processing and Printing 14 26th of May 2008 (Mon) 10:36
Exporting a JPEG as a TIFF .... minimizes loss? danpass RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 1st of March 2008 (Sat) 17:02
exporting in lightroom mchivers RAW, Post Processing and Printing 1 30th of July 2007 (Mon) 03:22


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.