Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 04 Aug 2008 (Monday) 10:57
PREV/NEXT

LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF

 
mezorn26
Senior Member
mezorn26's Avatar
526 posts

Joined Oct 2007
MORE INFO
banned

I have it set properly in preferences. Just as 1.xxx fucntioned, when I click edit in CS3 and then a popup comes up that asks if you want to edit a copy with lightroom adjustments and you can also select what type of file format you want to edit in, so should 2.0 according to adobe.

But when I click EDIT IN CS3 using 2.0, I do not get a popup, it just opens the RAW (Cr2) file in CS3

anyone?

Aug 04, 2008 10:57

My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
1,365 posts

Joined May 2007

Southampton, UK
MORE INFO

Correct, that's how it's meant to work now. It uses the ACR pipeline to convert, and then you get to choose the file format when you save - so those who prefer to go straight to jpeg can do. If you don't want it to work like that, set CS3 as the secondary editor and it'll create your Tiff/PSD.

Aug 04, 2008 11:27

Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mezorn26's Avatar
526 posts

Joined Oct 2007
MORE INFO
banned

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6044223external link
Correct, that's how it's meant to work now. It uses the ACR pipeline to convert, and then you get to choose the file format when you save - so those who prefer to go straight to jpeg can do. If you don't want it to work like that, set CS3 as the secondary editor and it'll create your Tiff/PSD.


Thanks for the reply...I'm not sure I follow that last part.

Aug 04, 2008 11:28

My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
1,365 posts

Joined May 2007

Southampton, UK
MORE INFO

If you set CS3 as the 'Additional External Editor' in Preferences, it'll create a Tiff/PDF like v1 used to work.

Aug 04, 2008 12:08

Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mezorn26's Avatar
526 posts

Joined Oct 2007
MORE INFO
banned

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6044400external link
If you set CS3 as the 'Additional External Editor' in Preferences, it'll create a Tiff/PDF like v1 used to work.


ahh, got ya. I guess the only reason to do that would be to NOT edit the original? no?

Aug 04, 2008 12:09

My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
TheHoff's Avatar
8,804 posts

Joined Jan 2008

Vancouver, BC
MORE INFO

And until they fix the bug where it is creating duplicate folders in my catalog when you use the ACR tunnel...

Aug 04, 2008 12:18

••Vancouver Wedding Photographer external link••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image lossexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mezorn26's Avatar
526 posts

Joined Oct 2007
MORE INFO
banned

TheHoff wrote in post #6044452external link
And until they fix the bug where it is creating duplicate folders in my catalog when you use the ACR tunnel...


what exactly is ACR tunneling?

Aug 04, 2008 12:19

My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
TheHoff
Don't Hassle....
TheHoff's Avatar
8,804 posts

Joined Jan 2008

Vancouver, BC
MORE INFO

I'm sure VB will explain it better but when you use the first option (as you tried in your original post) Lightroom does the conversion to PSD -- when you do it the second way with PS as the external editor, PS does the conversion. I'm not sure if there is any difference in the resulting file but with the first way, there is a bug where when the file goes back in to LR from PS, it will create a dupe folder in your catalog.

Aug 04, 2008 12:22

••Vancouver Wedding Photographer external link••| [gear list] | Latest blog: 5 steps to stopping image lossexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
1,365 posts

Joined May 2007

Southampton, UK
MORE INFO

Other way round, but yeah.

Primary external editor sends the raw data through the ACR pipeline and opens directly into PS. When you then save that file, some people with upgraded catalogs are seeing a bug in the volume browser as PS is sending back the file with a slightly differently formatted path.

Secondary external editor makes LR create the Tiff/PSD as it assumes that the other program knows nothing about raw data.

Aug 04, 2008 12:28

Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
aram535
Goldmember
aram535's Avatar
1,915 posts

Joined Sep 2007

Long Island, NY
MORE INFO

Hmmm I actually use the TIFF option in LR2, CS3 just because I don't want the original CR2 edited. I guess I'm doing this wrong?

Aug 04, 2008 18:58 as a reply to Victoria Bampton's post 6 hours earlier.

Gear List * www.tranquilphotos.comexternal link * My Blogexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
1,365 posts

Joined May 2007

Southampton, UK
MORE INFO

Whatever you do, you will never touch the original CR2 aram535. If you open the CR2 directly into PS, you'll have to save as something, it just means you have a choice at that stage (jpeg/tiff/psd)

Aug 05, 2008 00:23

Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mezorn26's Avatar
526 posts

Joined Oct 2007
MORE INFO
banned

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6048292external link
Whatever you do, you will never touch the original CR2 aram535. If you open the CR2 directly into PS, you'll have to save as something, it just means you have a choice at that stage (jpeg/tiff/psd)


Not here...It opens as a Cr2 and then saves as a CR2

Aug 05, 2008 09:29

My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
Victoria ­ Bampton
Goldmember
Victoria Bampton's Avatar
1,365 posts

Joined May 2007

Southampton, UK
MORE INFO

It shouldn't be able to save to CR2 mezorn - Mac or PC?

Aug 05, 2008 11:46

Victoria :D
Lightroom Queen websiteexternal link
Lightroom 3 Book available now!
Free List of Lightroom Shortcutsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
René ­ Damkot
Cream of the Crop
René Damkot's Avatar
39,854 posts

Joined Feb 2005

enschede, netherlands
MORE INFO

mezorn26 wrote in post #6049970external link
Not here...It opens as a Cr2 and then saves as a CR2

Don't think so.
If you "open" in ACR, and *not* PS proper, you might "save" an xmp sidecar, but you *cannot* save a file as a Raw file out of PS.

(you could save a tiff file with the wrong (CR2) extension probably :p)

Aug 05, 2008 12:13

"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams
Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.
MySpaceexternal link
Get Colormanagedexternal link
Twitterexternal link
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mezorn26
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
mezorn26's Avatar
526 posts

Joined Oct 2007
MORE INFO
banned

Victoria Bampton wrote in post #6050779external link
It shouldn't be able to save to CR2 mezorn - Mac or PC?


PC...


To better explain what I am looking for. I very much liked that in Lightroom v 1.xx, when I chose to to edit in CS3, it would automatically create a new TIFF file in the lightroom catalog and after editing in CS3 I could remove the cr2 from the lightroom catalog and just the final tiff remained..

I am looking for the same or similar functionality, but I don't see how that can happen...

Aug 05, 2008 13:09

My Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY

1,061 views & 0 likes for this thread
LIGHTROOM 2, edit in CS3 not exporting in to TIFF
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00087 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is sanyam.sdsu
673 guests, 555 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014