Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23rd of January 2005 (Sun)   #1
Tdragone
Goldmember
 
Tdragone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,186
Default How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Hi All;

I have a Canon printer which I loved; but used knockoff ink cartridges and one leaked; took printer in for service; canon paid an auth repair shop to clean the printer (yay)

While in the shop; my folks heard 'printer is not working' and bought me an HP printer...

I LOVE the quality of the HP unit; BUT...

With the canon; there was an app called Easy Photo Print that would allow you to put the 'crop' rectangle on the picture to show what area of the full size picture you wanted to print. If you enlarged it vertically; the horizontal would also grow-thus retaining the L by W ratio.

Problem is; it only works when printing to the Canon printer.

Is there a free or cheap (< $20) application for windows that will let me do the same thing?

As seen here:

Thanks in advance..

-ToM D.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AspectCrop.jpg (89.2 KB, 206 views)
Tdragone is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of January 2005 (Sun)   #2
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,359
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

In Photoshop CS use the select tool, and in the options bar choose 'fixed aspect ratio'. Enter 6 wide and 4 high, and the correct ration will always be selected. Choose Image | Crop to crop it.

I don't know if PS elements does it or not., but it's worth a go. Photoshop's invaluable to me, well worth it's price, especially if you can get an upgrade price.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of January 2005 (Sun)   #3
Tdragone
Goldmember
 
Tdragone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,186
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Will this let me 'drag' or re-size the cropped selection until I get what I like?


The outer frame in the pic shown above can be resized until I find a framing I like + I can slide it around until I get it exactly how I want it.

Sorry If I'm not explaining this better..

-Tom D.
Tdragone is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 23rd of January 2005 (Sun)   #4
Dante King
"Cream of Corn" BurgerMeister
 
Dante King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Anselmo, California
Posts: 9,134
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

yes it will. quite nicly too.
Dante King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of January 2005 (Sun)   #5
mrsmac
Junior Member
 
mrsmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 24
Smile Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim
In Photoshop CS use the select tool, and in the options bar choose 'fixed aspect ratio'. Enter 6 wide and 4 high, and the correct ration will always be selected. Choose Image | Crop to crop it.

I don't know if PS elements does it or not., but it's worth a go. Photoshop's invaluable to me, well worth it's price, especially if you can get an upgrade price.
PS Elements does it!
mrsmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of January 2005 (Mon)   #6
FlashGordon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK where the sun is an occasional event
Posts: 15
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

As mrsmac says PSE will do this too. After selecting the crop tool, type in the width and height dimensions you want and the aspect ratio will be maintained when you click and drag. Once you let go of the mouse you can subsequently click on the cropped area and move the selection while keeping the left click of the mouse depressed.....very easy and I use it a lot.

Just a note, however, PSE will 'remember' your selection for the next time you use the crop tool so you will either need to reset it for more random dimensions or re-type your new crop width and height dimensions for an alternative print size.

Gordon
FlashGordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th of January 2005 (Mon)   #7
Tdragone
Goldmember
 
Tdragone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 2,186
Thumbs up Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Thanks all!

I can't believe I didn't notice the size bar on the top of the screen (The default in my PS 7.0 was pixels; when I changed measurements to inches it became too obvious).

Again; thanks

-Tom D
Tdragone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2005 (Wed)   #8
Kostyanych
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 449
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dante King
yes it will. quite nicly too.
I am not sure.

I founded that I can use Select tool to select (and then Crop) the picture just with requred aspect ration.

But I can't use Crop tool to crop the picture with preselected aspect ratio without resampling.

You can easy move and resize "crop tool selection".
But I can just move (no resize) my "select tool selection".

Or may be I am just missing something....
Kostyanych is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2005 (Wed)   #9
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,807
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostyanych
I am not sure.

I founded that I can use Select tool to select (and then Crop) the picture just with requred aspect ration.

But I can't use Crop tool to crop the picture with preselected aspect ratio without resampling.

You can easy move and resize "crop tool selection".
But I can just move (no resize) my "select tool selection".

Or may be I am just missing something....
If you don't want to resample when cropping, make sure that the "resolution" field is blank. If it's not, the cropping tool will resample the image to comply with the resolution specified.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2005 (Wed)   #10
mdmedicgod
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Salisbury, MD
Posts: 498
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

If you wanted the whole image. Not just a cropped section. Couldn't u just change the image size to desired print size?
__________________
Canon 1D Mark II
Canon 20D
Canon 300D
Canon 70-200 F2.8L IS
Canon 24-70 F2.8 L
Canon 50mm F 1.8
Sigma 70-200mm F2.8 EX DG
2 kit lenses MKI and MKII
http://www.fithp.com
mdmedicgod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2005 (Wed)   #11
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,807
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdmedicgod
If you wanted the whole image. Not just a cropped section. Couldn't u just change the image size to desired print size?
Yes you can but that's not what was asked.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2005 (Wed)   #12
Kostyanych
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 449
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Or, I have just founded the solution.

I have tried to clean resolution box before. But!!!

If you put just number into width and height for the crop tool (in the toolbar on the top) PS will put px in these windows.
And in this case you will get resample anyway.

But if you put 8 in into the width and 10 in into the height, and clear resolution window you will get the crop wihtout resampling. Also you will get funny resolution (like 5.6 px/inch)
But it is very easy to fix.

Before I have tried just first way. And I was getting resample every time.

Well, now everything is clear for me.
Kostyanych is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2005 (Wed)   #13
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,807
Default Re: How to crop pictures with correct print aspect e.g. 4x6..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostyanych
Or, I have just founded the solution.

I have tried to clean resolution box before. But!!!

If you put just number into width and height for the crop tool (in the toolbar on the top) PS will put px in these windows.
And in this case you will get resample anyway.

But if you put 8 in into the width and 10 in into the height, and clear resolution window you will get the crop wihtout resampling. Also you will get funny resolution (like 5.6 px/inch)
But it is very easy to fix.

Before I have tried just first way. And I was getting resample every time.

Well, now everything is clear for me.
Yes, you're right about the Pixels unit. I always use the Inches unit so it never occurred to me that your resampling problem may have been related to the unit (Pixels in your case) you were using.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aspect Ratios are Correct, yet Developers Still Crop? sumptimwong RAW, Post Processing and Printing 7 1st of March 2007 (Thu) 16:59
Fixed aspect ratio crop in Photoshop puttick RAW, Post Processing and Printing 5 27th of May 2005 (Fri) 16:05
4x6 Crop with ArcSoft?? msquared Small Compact Digitals by Canon 0 2nd of September 2003 (Tue) 22:52
PS-7 Crop w/ fixed aspect ratio sstinman RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 6th of July 2003 (Sun) 22:11
How to crop/specify aspect ration without diminshing file si dougsturgess RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 24th of September 2002 (Tue) 12:26


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.