Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Presentation
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 26th of August 2008 (Tue)   #1
tammi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Default How to put logo on pictures ?

How do i make a signature / logo for my pics?
I tried to make one on Printmaster but there are not many font choices and
it does not print bright enough. Any suggestions on sites or fonts?

How do i put my signature / logo on my pics?
Thanks!!!
tammi is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 26th of August 2008 (Tue)   #2
Mark1
Cream of the Crop
 
Mark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,696
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

search "watermark". you will find several ways to do it.
__________________
Keep in mind "Its not the camera, its the photographer" works just as well for bad pictures as it does for good ones.

www.the6by6frame.wordpress.com
Mark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of August 2008 (Tue)   #3
Jeff
Senior Member
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42 34' N 87 55' W Kenosha, WI
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Pretty easy if you have Photoshop or something similar.
Open the image
Add a new layer
Type, format, etc what you want on the new layer
Save it, which will flatten the layers.

Those steps can be saved in an "action" that can be used over and over again on any picture(s) at the click of a button.
__________________
Jeff
70D | Tokina 12-24 | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 | Canon 28-135 IS| 430EX
Astrophotograpy: Meade 10" SCT, AT8IN, Celstron 80mm f/6.25, Coronado PST, Atlas EQ-G to keep it all off the ground.
MY AIRPLANE PICS | MY ASTRO PICS
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 26th of August 2008 (Tue)   #4
simplified24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 85
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jseivert View Post
Pretty easy if you have Photoshop or something similar.
Open the image
Add a new layer
Type, format, etc what you want on the new layer
Save it, which will flatten the layers.

Those steps can be saved in an "action" that can be used over and over again on any picture(s) at the click of a button.
YEAH I HAVE ONE, BUT.. HOW DO I APPLY TO A LOT OF PHOTOS. ESPECIALLY PHOTOS WITH DIFFERENT SIZES. IS THERE A WAY TO DO THIS AUTOMATICALLY TO A BUNCH OF FOLDERS IN ONE FOLDER/
__________________
__________
Canon 50D | Rebel XTi | 1.8 | 2.8 |3.5. 6.5 | Lens babies 2.0 | Canon Vertical Battery Grip | Wired & Wireless Remote | external flash | PhotoShop CS3

simplified24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of August 2008 (Wed)   #5
Jeff
Senior Member
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42 34' N 87 55' W Kenosha, WI
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Once the action is created, (In Photoshop) File -> Automate -> Batch then select the action and set the other things like all open files, or point at a folder & destination folder and click go. It'll save and close each one if you set it to do so.

Sit back and enjoy the show.
__________________
Jeff
70D | Tokina 12-24 | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 | Canon 28-135 IS| 430EX
Astrophotograpy: Meade 10" SCT, AT8IN, Celstron 80mm f/6.25, Coronado PST, Atlas EQ-G to keep it all off the ground.
MY AIRPLANE PICS | MY ASTRO PICS
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of August 2008 (Wed)   #6
Patrick
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: WV
Posts: 596
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

The watermark size and placement is effected when the image size changes.

I made several watermarks to get proper placement every time; vertwater, horzwater, webwater, etc.

Granted, you have to sort the images accordingly.
__________________
Bodies, Lenses, Lights, Stands, Transmitters, Receivers, Tripods, Meters, etc...
Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of August 2008 (Wed)   #7
EOS MAN1
Member
 
EOS MAN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 647
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

The best way to do it is to make a brush with your logo. Open the logo you want as a watermark in photoshop. Flatten the image if it is not already done.

Goto Edit>Define Brush Preset.

Name it whatever you like and press> OK

Now Open your image that you want watermarked.

Select the Brush Tool

Choose the brush that looks like your logo

Select the Brush Size

Select the foreground color to that of which you want to stamped logo to be. I would suggest white or black.

Change the Opacity of the brush until it is the transluceny you like.

Stamp away with your watermark.
__________________
BERNARD BRZEZINSKI
- Photography & Consulting Services
- http://www.bernardbrzezinski.com | contact: info@bernardbrzezinski.com

EOS MAN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2008 (Thu)   #8
kenwood33
Goldmember
 
kenwood33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Is there an easy way to control where to apply the logo to based on image size and orientation in a batch mode? I don't think making different logos for different sized/oriented images is a feasible.
__________________
Gearlist
kenwood33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2008 (Thu)   #9
Jeff
Senior Member
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 42 34' N 87 55' W Kenosha, WI
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenwood33 View Post
Is there an easy way to control where to apply the logo to based on image size and orientation in a batch mode? I don't think making different logos for different sized/oriented images is a feasible.
Good question, as in, always place it up xx pixels from the bottom and in xx pixels from the right edge.

I don't know but I'd love to know the answer too.
__________________
Jeff
70D | Tokina 12-24 | Canon 50mm f/1.4 | Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 | Canon 28-135 IS| 430EX
Astrophotograpy: Meade 10" SCT, AT8IN, Celstron 80mm f/6.25, Coronado PST, Atlas EQ-G to keep it all off the ground.
MY AIRPLANE PICS | MY ASTRO PICS
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2008 (Thu)   #10
AdrianeCale
Member
 
AdrianeCale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: East Central Illinois
Posts: 193
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

There are some programs you can buy that will do the batch watermark for you. I don't have the right version of Photoshop to do it that way, but I've been looking for a program that will do it for me. Does anyone here use something like that, or do you all just use Photoshop?
__________________
It's not the camera you use, it's how you use it!
www.TTLGPhotography.com

Canon Powershot G7 & it's various attachments, Canon Rebel XSi,
18-55mm lens, Canon Speedlite EX430
AdrianeCale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2008 (Thu)   #11
SlowBlink
"I like dog butts"
 
SlowBlink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver B.C.
Posts: 1,926
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

I have the same type of action for applying the sigs to my images with PS. I use a separate action for landscape and portrait and it repeats the positioning identically each time.
__________________
Rob
Anatidaephobia - The Fear That You are Being Watched by a Duck.
SlowBlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2008 (Thu)   #12
narlus
Cream of the Crop
 
narlus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Andover, MA
Posts: 7,526
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenwood33 View Post
Is there an easy way to control where to apply the logo to based on image size and orientation in a batch mode? I don't think making different logos for different sized/oriented images is a feasible.


there's a Russell Brown tutorial on how to do this, and make it into an action.
narlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th of August 2008 (Thu)   #13
kenwood33
Goldmember
 
kenwood33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,250
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by narlus View Post
there's a Russell Brown tutorial on how to do this, and make it into an action.
you are correct, i just finished watching the tutorial and it talks about creating an action that works for both image orientations. One thing I m not quite sure is to automatically resize the logo so that it will work on images of all size.

the tutorial can be found here: http://www.russellbrown.com/tips_tech.html
__________________
Gearlist
kenwood33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of September 2008 (Tue)   #14
AndreaBFS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

I know this is days old, but it seems an outstanding question... so in case anyone is still interested, I can share how my action is set up. A caveat... the DPI on your batch needs to be consistent for my method. I always save everything at 300dpi, so it works for me.

If anyone is still interested in some details, let me know. It's a lot of stuff to type out so I don't want to do it unless people are interested.
AndreaBFS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd of September 2008 (Tue)   #15
Nortelbert
Senior Member
 
Nortelbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 1,299
Default Re: How to put logo on pictures ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreaBFS View Post
I know this is days old, but it seems an outstanding question... so in case anyone is still interested, I can share how my action is set up. A caveat... the DPI on your batch needs to be consistent for my method. I always save everything at 300dpi, so it works for me.

If anyone is still interested in some details, let me know. It's a lot of stuff to type out so I don't want to do it unless people are interested.
Yes please
Nortelbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to put up pictures Papa Lazarou Forum Talk 2 10th of July 2008 (Thu) 16:39
Where do you put your pictures? Moniphoto General Photography Talk 7 3rd of March 2008 (Mon) 18:01
HOW TO make the copywrite logo in pictures? SLED-WERX Racing RAW, Post Processing and Printing 22 2nd of April 2007 (Mon) 21:31


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.