How do you get RAW images off camera?

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 27 Aug 2008 (Wednesday) 18:15   
LIST NEARBY THREADS

zebelkinton
Joined Aug 2008
30 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Topic pretty much sums it up. I'm new to the digital world and I need someone to tell me how to get the pictures into RAW format. On the camera XSI I have it on Large RAW for selection yet when I download them the computer it puts them in JPEG format. The kicker is my camera did come with a CD but I have lost it in the recent move. So is there a website or link somewhere where I can get the software. I tried Canon's website but the stuff they have put on their website is not what was on the cd. Sorry for pestering this section of the forums. I'm a newbie :confused: Any help is great help I have spent countless hours trying to figure it out before I posted.

Thanks

Post #1, Aug 27, 2008 18:15:02

sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
zebelkinton
THREAD ­ STARTER
Joined Aug 2008
30 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Anybody?

Post #2, Aug 27, 2008 21:43:06

tim
Light Bringer
Joined Nov 2004
49,517 posts
Wellington, New Zealand
[MORE/SHARE]

Your understanding isn't quite right. It will never convert automatically from RAW to JPG, you have to use DPP, Photoshop, or something similar. It's user error of some kind, the trick is working out exactly what you're doing wrong. How are you downloading the images at the moment?

Copy the CR2 images from the card to the PC using a card reader, then process them and save them to whatever format you need.

Post #3, Aug 27, 2008 21:52:22

NZIPP Qualified Professional wedding photographer.
Wellington Wedding Photographerexternal link ~ Camera and Lens Reviewsexternal link ~ Photographers Tech Supportexternal link
Read all my FAQs (wedding, printing, lighting, books, etc)

bohdank
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jan 2008
14,060 posts
Montreal, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]