Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #1
stephen_g
Member
 
stephen_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 595
Default Overpowered flash.

I was using my sunpak auto 4205g thyristor flash (pistol grip, very similar to a 544) just fine for a few weeks via the PC sync cord, I assumed that it was okay to use with my 20d (not over 6v) after seeing a picture of another user on here using one with their 30d http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f6...p/100_1116.jpg
Teenage stupidity I guess.
I was shooting some macro with it a few weeks ago, and then it just stopped working all of a sudden, I just tested it with my dads old Olympus film camera and it went fine.

Could I have blown the flash trigger inside the camera?
I don't really know what the name for it is.
If I have broken it, is it fixable?
stephen_g is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #2
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 48,792
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

Hard to say, but probably. Try a speedlite on it, in a camera store if you need to, or are there are lots of POTN users in Auckland (look at the GKPE thread in the general chat forum). It'll have to be sent to Canon to be looked at either way.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #3
CliveyBoy
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tauranga, NZ
Posts: 2,751
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

It is worth trying a different PC-Synch cable, too. Or, just squeeze the two half-round blades on the plug a little.
CliveyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #4
stephen_g
Member
 
stephen_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 595
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

Alright then, I can't really afford a speedlight of my own at the moment, maybe I'll try pick one up in the holidays.

Is the hotshoe on the same wire/whatever it is as the pc plug?
I used another ultra old flash on the hotshoe and it went just fine, maybe it is just the cord, i'll try squeezing it now.

edit: well, squeezing the cord didn't help.

Last edited by stephen_g : 17th of September 2008 (Wed) at 02:26.
stephen_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #5
Moppie
iKirst
 
Moppie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
Posts: 14,343
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

Where abouts in Auckland are you?

I have a couple of spare flashes with PC Sync cords you can use to test your camera with.

The hot shoe is theoretically on the same circuit, but I wouldn't take it working as being a good indication the PC Sync socket on the camera is working.
__________________

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?
Moppie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #6
stephen_g
Member
 
stephen_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 595
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

Remuera.
I'm somewhat busy with school exams untill friday next week though.

Hmm, I hope I havn't totally fried it, does anyone have any idea of what it would cost to fix it if it is fried?
stephen_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #7
Moppie
iKirst
 
Moppie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
Posts: 14,343
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

College or Uni?
I have to pop into the city one evening this week or next week, I can swing past on my way there. It would only take a minute to put the flash on the camera and test it.
__________________

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?
Moppie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th of September 2008 (Wed)   #8
PacAce
Moderator
 
PacAce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: ABE, PA USA
Posts: 26,801
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

The 20D can handle up to 250V of trigger voltage so I doubt you've fried the sync circuit of your camera (unless your flash is defective and surged at more than 250V while connected to the camera). Probably just a bad PC cable as othes here have already suggested.
__________________
...Leo
PacAce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of September 2008 (Thu)   #9
stephen_g
Member
 
stephen_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 595
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

College.

I thought it may have been a bad pc cord too, but it seemed to work when I tried it with my dads film camera.
Hmm, maybe I'll just buy a new one.
stephen_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of September 2008 (Thu)   #10
Moppie
iKirst
 
Moppie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Akarana, Aotearoa. (Kiwiland)
Posts: 14,343
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen_g View Post
College.

I thought it may have been a bad pc cord too, but it seemed to work when I tried it with my dads film camera.
Hmm, maybe I'll just buy a new one.

There are heads of cheap flashes on Trademe
I have 4 that I picked up for about $5 each.
__________________

Have you Calibrated your Monkey lately?
Moppie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of September 2008 (Thu)   #11
stephen_g
Member
 
stephen_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 595
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

I got one for 15 the other day, but it has gnarly looking hotshoe contacts, really sharp pointy ones, that I don't really want to wreck my shoe with.
__________________
Flickr 1D classic
stephen_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of September 2008 (Fri)   #12
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,850
Default Re: Overpowered flash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen_g View Post
I got one for 15 the other day, but it has gnarly looking hotshoe contacts, really sharp pointy ones, that I don't really want to wreck my shoe with.
The contacts are "spring loaded"
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kind of unusual shooting situation and flash question for the flash 'gurus' dawnron1 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 33 1st of July 2008 (Tue) 22:07
Photogenic Powerlight - how to disable your flash from point & shoot camera flash shoot_a_star Small Flash and Studio Lighting 4 15th of June 2005 (Wed) 12:57
Sigma EF 500 DG Super Flash & 300D: Flash Exposure Compensation? Vita Rara Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 4th of January 2005 (Tue) 15:31


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.